Customer Reviews for

Haunted

Average Rating 4
( 310 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

My 1st Palaniuk....

Good book, amazing characters. Very, very disturbing stories. I loved it!

I have my favorites of course and so will you, each character tells his/her story, with a few characters telling more then one story a piece.

Saint Gut-Free "Guts" - hilarious and probably...
Good book, amazing characters. Very, very disturbing stories. I loved it!

I have my favorites of course and so will you, each character tells his/her story, with a few characters telling more then one story a piece.

Saint Gut-Free "Guts" - hilarious and probably the most digusting story you'll ever read

Director Denial "Exodus" - brilliant, brilliant writing

Chef Assassin "Product Placement" - love this one

Tess Clark "Post-Production", "The Nightmare Box" - this story still haunts me

If you like, gruesome, graphic and sexually charged disturbing literature, you just found it!

posted by SavageBS on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Cube meets Saw. Gory, interesting, but not spectacular

This was my first Palahniuk. I had heard that this book was incredibly disturbing and was, of course, intrigued. The book was disturbing, I suppose, but I would not add the modifier "incredibly." The book is, however, graphic and detailed and delves into the more derang...
This was my first Palahniuk. I had heard that this book was incredibly disturbing and was, of course, intrigued. The book was disturbing, I suppose, but I would not add the modifier "incredibly." The book is, however, graphic and detailed and delves into the more deranged parts of the human mind. Although I had not read Palahniuk before, I have of course seen Fight Club, and I understand that Palahniuk takes extreme situations and explores human interactions and reactions within those situations. Haunted does this and takes it just one step beyond "the line."

The way I think of the book is as a warped reality tv show gone wrong. Imagine a group of people, psychologically messed up because of the realities inflicted upon them and because of the choices they have made. Lock them together in a building with no escape for three months and see what happens. It's like The Cube meets Saw. Palahniuk's characters are actually believable in their extreme behavior and those with weaker stomachs should refrain.

The format the book takes is relatively unique. The characters in the book are identified by nicknames that somehow represent how the author is warped. Each "chapter" includes a narrative, a poem, and a story. The narrative is told from the perspective of one of the individuals locked in the building -- though we are never quite sure which aspiring author is speaking. The narrative is followed by a poem "about" the aspiring author, which hints at something the author has experienced and sheds a little light on the nickname the author has received. The poem is then followed by a story written by the character that has been discussed in the preceding poem. The story explains the primary traumatic incident (or portion of that incident) that resulted in the author's warped personality and nickname.

I liked the format of the book and appreciated Palahniuk's timing. Some of the most intriguing (to me) characters' personalities and nicknames were revealed at the end of the book, which certainly kept me attached to the book -- even though it almost read more like a series of non-related short stories than a novel. In addition, although it was not immediate, I was eventually drawn into the narrative of the authors trapped in the building and felt invested in how it would all play out.

The writing was great, too. I suppose the reason I'm still rambling about this, somewhat incoherently, is because I recognize the good qualities of the book, cannot think of any particularly bad ones, but still was not blown away by the book. I expected to be more disturbed, more intrigued, more saddened, more anything... but mostly I was just reading without much emotion at all. It was certainly good enough to continue reading and good enough to casually recommend, but it made no strong lasting impressions on me.

Recommended for someone who likes gore and exploring the deranged ways in which humans can behave in extreme situations.

THREE AND A HALF out of five stars.

posted by avanders on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Taunting 'Haunted'

    Chuck Palahniuk's got an incredibly creative mind. That's why I love reading his work. He comes up with stories that titilate the mind while churning the stomach. Unfortunately, this latest 'novel' should have remained just a collection of intriguing -- yet disturbing -- short stories. In 'Haunted,' Palahniuk tries to weave them all together by creating a storyline between each short story that features the characters in each of the short stories. Unfortunately, it's this ongoing storyline that is the weakest part of the book, as it lost this reader's interest. In addition to this ongoing storyline, there are poems about each of the characters that I could have done without before each of the short stories. While the ongoing storyline of characters 'trapped' inside a house had a couple of interesting moments, it's the short stories that truly make this book worth having in your collection.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Disturbing, But Well Worth Reading

    This book was suggested to me by a friend who told me it was 'one of the most disturbing, profound, and peculiar' things he had ever read. Upon completing the book yesterday, I would have to agree. I am no expert on Mr. Palahniuk's novels, so I have very little to compare it to, as others have. I am an avid reader, however, which is probably why the book only earned four stars, not five, from me. While the plot was easy enough to follow, the stories overwhelmed the underlying plot line to such an extent that it came off as flimsy and under-developed. No where was this more evident than in the ending, where the flow of the novel is interrupted for a hasty attempt at a twist conclusion that left much to be desired. Oh - but the stories they were fantastic. I read each one experiencing the feeling you get during an intense thriller flick, knowing something horrible was about to happen, and knowing it was going to be worse than anything you could think up. Containing the type of descriptions that hit home and left you queasy without being overly verbose like other gory tales, the feeling generated by this book is beyond words. The psychological element was greater in these short little stories than in any other novel I've read in recent memory. I will say, on that note, that this book is not for those offended by books that are perverse, violent, or bleak, because Haunted is all three and then some. From its doomsdaying commentary on human nature, to its graphic descriptions of violence, to its sheer bluntess about fetishes and sexual perversion, it is bound to offend someone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    REVIEWED: Haunted: A Novel WRITTEN BY: Chuck Palahniuk PUBLISHED

    REVIEWED: Haunted: A Novel
    WRITTEN BY: Chuck Palahniuk
    PUBLISHED: 2006

    HAUNTED is a collection of short stories that, interrelated, compose the greater make-up of a full-size novel, as each story is the flashback of one of the characters. Chuck Palahniuk is best known as the author of “FIGHT CLUB” which became the Fincher masterpiece movie in 1999. HAUNTED is often lauded on the “best of” lists of modern horror literature. Coupled with the fact that I’m a Palahniuk fan, and I was excited to jump into this. Unfortunately, this book just didn’t work that well for me.

    The plot revolves around a group of writers who become locked inside an abandoned movie theatre by their mysterious benefactor. However, instead of trying to escape, they each decide that the more horrific they make their own circumstances, then the greater story they will have to tell (and, by proxy, notoriety) once they are rescued. Thus, they destroy their own food, sabotage the heating and plumbing, and invent villains amongst themselves, almost like a “Lord of the Flies” for adults.

    Each character’s flashback is a short story of itself, and Palahniuk doesn’t hold back when going through the gambit of the most perverse and horrific scenarios one would dare to imagine. Indeed, in the book’s afterword Palahniuk details how on a book tour, there was a rash of people who fainted after he read excerpts of the stories.

    Although the book is a satirical view of culture and human motivation, I feel the author sacrificed absorbing writing for shock and absurdity. It’s very intelligent, but also felt “preachy,” and though the characters represented all different backgrounds, they mostly were each cut from the same cloth: selfish, troubled, and redundant.

    What else can I say? Palahniuk is a master, and the critics adore this book. I just found it too self-serving and not the escape into imagination that I usually seek when reading fiction literature.

    Three-and-a-Half out of Five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Very entertaining. I enjoyed this book a lot.

    Very entertaining. I enjoyed this book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Cristena

    Wolf your here now we can go to were ever you want to go and talk!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    You make me sick!

    I absolutely loved this book! The stories were gross and I couldn't stop reading them! This would make an interesting movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Whoa...whoa...

    I just got done reading 'Haunted' about two minutes ago and let me tell you, I was quite shocked. This book had something to new to offer on every page, wheter it be gross out humor, drama, horror, it all worked together great. I just wish the book didn't have so many characters to keep track of, also I wish the ending could have been a bit more solid, but thouroughly enjoyable (if you can stomach through it) throughout!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    Well written

    I know a lot of people couldn't get past the third chapter. I was squirming reading the whole time, that story was very explicit. After that though it's not so bad. You need to not back down from a good book. Like all his books, they are somewhat graphic but always very well written. All of his books are wonderful. The one thing you should just remember is not to give up reading this book in the beginning. You'll want to, but trust me it gets much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Go Ahead And Try It

    I had never read any of Palahniuk's books before but I saw this in the store and bought it on a whim. It was weird, unusual, disturbing, and wonderful. I would tell anyone who's tried of the same old stuff (like me) they HAVE to read this. I can't wait to read more of his work. I love the little back stories of all the characters and I think the main story that ties them all together is hilarious. This really is a black comedy. If your looking for yet another Alex Cross novel or some other police crime novel...don't read this. But if you truly want to be entertained....this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Pretty Sweet!

    Although the number of characters starts things off in a confused state, once you stop trying to figure them all out you can continue reading. The short stories are the best part- I find myself thinking about them even when I'm not reading the book. GUTS is the greatest short story. I've given it to some family members who were disturbed by it though. The stories are always intriguing! I didn't find anything too disturbing myself. Outside the short stories, the blood kinda gets old, but so it goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Ending Was A Disappointment

    This book was average. The stories the character's told were better than the actual plot of the book. The short stories were what kept me reading and reading. I loved and hated every minute of it. Hated it because it was so true of our society. Read it for what it means for us. Forgive the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    Breathe

    This book is extremely well written. He steps outside of the box yet again with this book, and makes you think. At times I found myself closing this book just to take a breathe and to digest what I had just read. If you have a dark sense of humor and can handle gross, morbid senses then this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    A Darkly Humorous Read

    This is the first book by Chuck Palahniuck I have ever read and I was not disappointed. I really enjoyed the short stories the most. The actual plot, however, was kind of weak and predictable after a certain point. But I was surprised to find myself laughing at some of the most sickening things (perhaps more of a nervous, uneasy laughter than anything else), apparently the author has a gift for this. Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Bizarre!

    This was one of the most bizarre books I have ever read! I did enjoy it, especially the short stories (Espcially Saint Gut- Free's and Chef Assassin's!) and the poems that preceeded them, though the 'Sum' was not as good as the 'parts'. Dark, gross, funny, sick and perverse, are the adjectives I'd use to describe it. Try it for something truly unique!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4