Customer Reviews for

Haunted (Dreaming Anastasia Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Wow!

    Excellent second book. Can not wait for the next one...
    Great writing superb story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    So Good! Can't Wait for Book 3!

    Great book for young adults, and adults who are young at heart. Haunted is a great follow up to Dreaming Anastasia. The boy/girl relationship is portrayed realistically - teenagers driven by their emotions and insecurities, not prone to calmly/rationally discuss how they honestly feel about each other or tell each other the full truth of what is really going on in their lives. Hence, a majority of the book may be painful for those who wanted to see an immediate "happily ever after" to Anne and Ethan's budding relationship in Dreaming Anastasia, but it is an important part of the character development - no cliched weakling women and superman men here. The legend of the rusalkas is interesting and unexpected, and it made me interested in Slavic folklore. It was also nice to see the development of Anne's relationship with her mother. I can't wait for the third book, Again and Again! Spring 2012 can't come soon enough!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I think I being a little generous with the 4 rating, but I know I enjoyed more that those books I give a 3. It was really the ending that I had issues with.

    I've noticed lots of reviews that stated the reader was surprise/upset that Ethan and Anne are not together at the beginning of this book. I fully expected it and it didn't bother me. I think they were both trying to process and deny what happened during book 1. Ethan was coming to terms with being mortal and trying to avoid the girl who made him that way. Anne was doing the same. Sometimes being together isn't the best idea no matter how much you care for one another.

    I really enjoyed the story of the rulaska. I don't know a lot about Russian folklore and this series had definitely changed that. I liked how she could be seen in very little amounts of water. It's no wonder Anne that she was going crazy. I liked how all the pieces fall together in this installment. Everyone is connected somehow from the jewelry shop owner to the rulaska herself. It's not something I even suspected at the start of the story.

    The ending is the only thing that bothered me a little. First, I still have no idea what Baba Yaga really wants from Anne. Anne made a deal with her, but I don't think she even knows what she really has to do. I'm guessing there will be another book to explain it all. If not, I have no idea how the story really ended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    Anne Michaelson's only dream is to be a normal girl. No magic, no immortal boyfriend, no crazy mythical Russian mermaids chasing her about. Unfortunately, she's not about to get her wishes granted anytime soon. Trying to recover from the trials of the previous year, she finds herself knee-deep in the middle of it all again.

    In all fairness, Anne does her best at appearing as normal as she can. She resists the magic and the weirdness until it overtakes her and everyone around her, leaving her no choice but to fight back. However, in spite of all that weirdness, she remains oddly grounded for a seventeen-year-old. I was highly impressed with her relative lack of attitude towards her parents and the usual teenage angst that you find in novels like this. That's not to say that she and her mom didn't have their moments, or that she didn't have her own, dark thoughts, because she did. The difference here is that those moments all helped the story move forward instead of just painting Anne as a selfish, spoiled child.

    Ethan, on the other hand, is a one-time immortal learning to deal with being mortal again for the first time in decades. In between his moments of indecision, once the weirdness of the year before finds Anne again, he never once hesitates to do what he believes is right - and that is to protect Anne at all costs. He is my idea of a real hero. Ethan is considerate, conscientious, and one hundred percent dedicated to Anne and only Anne. When they're together, they're completely and utterly happy, no matter how bizarre the circumstances.

    Even without having read the preceding book in this series, Dreaming Anastasia, I was able to not just follow along, but thoroughly enjoy Haunted. Ms. Preble has a masterful way of weaving a story that is not just romantic, but exciting and magical. You'll be loath to leave Anne and Ethan behind when the book closes. Haunted is a wonderful and imaginative story for both older teens and adults alike. Entertaining and magical to the very last page.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    BookWhisperer Review: Haunted

    I had the pleasure of participating in the blog tour for this incredible read. Haunted is the sequel to Dreaming Anastasia. Preble has created a very interesting and twisted tale about a young girl that is unknowingly a Romanov descendant. This magical and mysterious world is a very confusing and pondering tale that leaves characters and readers with question after question. ?This journey for Anne is an intrigueing story; that I find myself reflecting to a childs movie for understanding. For years my children have enjoyed watching Anastasia and Bartok the Maginificant. Many character of this Russian story are parellel with this story. While the story is more adult oriented, and gruesome for an adult undestanding. The first novel seems to have a very slow and unsteady pace, but this was completely restored in the Haunted. This sequel was action packed and gripping from the start. Upon conclusion it is obvious that there is more to come from this intense story. I look forward to seeing if there is more to come from this journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Pinkamena

    "Fine," she growled, handing over a battered, three-legged, dead Sweetie Belle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Rainbow Dash

    *Takes off her mask to reveal her cyan blue face. Takes Sweetie Belle to the sixth res.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    love it and i lovehow theres show not tell in this book just loving it

    breanna

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2