BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Haunted (Women of the Otherworld Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it! Fans of Women of the Otherworld, get this one!!

    I have loved all of the 5 books in this series so far. This is probably one of my favorites, next to any with Elena and Clay.

    Contrary to what some reviewers have said, I like the familiarity with the characters and I also like the growth and development of the characters. It feels like more loose ends get tied up to a point with

    Eve and Kristof. I enjoyed it.
    Thanks to consistent and believable "rules" in the world of her work, Kelly wrote a very believable, and enjoyable book. I do not believe what some people say, that you can skip this one. No way,there is way to much info, and fun, and plot twist to miss out.
    Its a must read in my honest opinion.

    In HAUNTED, Kelly Armstrong has given us all a gift, a truly touching story about a woman who recognizes life's precious moments for the miracle they are and learns to cherish them as she reaches emotional maturity just-- a little too late - in an afterlife that is anything but restful and boring.

    So don't miss out

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Very Offbeat Angel...

    I'm a fan of Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series, supernatural urban fantasy usually told through a first person female point of view. I think all the books are good, entertaining reads, the kind you can devour in a sitting. I think how much you like any particular book depends on which characters you favor as well as which world you find most entrancing. Werewolves? Sorcerers and Witches? In this case, the point of view character is Eve Levine and we get a look at.well, heaven--she's kind of an angel--except that's pretty far from how you might describe Eve--which is part of what makes her story all the more an entertaining read and among my favorites in the series. I think Armstrong is good about making the books in the series stand alone, so you wouldn't have to get the earlier books before reading Haunted, but I'd recommend them. They're good reads and there are some spoilers here for those earlier books. The recently published Tales of the Otherworld btw has a novella prequel to Eve's story you'd want to hunt up if you like this novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A hauntingly, thrilling adventure that will keep you on the edge of your seat!

    Haunted
    I am a sophomore in high school and I'm writing this book review for a final project in English. I read Haunted because I have read other books in the Women of the Otherworld series and fell in love with them; Haunted is the fifth book in the series and is narrated by Eve Levine.

    In Haunted, by Kelley Armstrong, Eve lives in a supernatural afterlife and is called upon by the Fates to cash in a favor she promised them in the previous book. The Fates send her after a very dangerous demi-demon that has escaped a high security hell; teamed up with an angel, Trisel, she has to do whatever it takes to capture the demi-demon before it's too late, even if it means going to a dangerous hell demotion with supernatural killers. With help from her ex-boyfriend, also her daughter's father, Kristof Nast, she battles ghost pirates and lying werewolves, while trying to fix there somewhat broken relationship. She also gets help from a famous living necromancer, Jaime Vegas, to help interrogate the ghosts of murderers and serial killers in different afterlives. When the demi-demon finds out that Eve is after her she tries to hurt Eve in the most painful way possible, by going after her daughter. While Eve tries to stop the demi-demon she has to take over one of her daughter's guardians, and team up with the other one, all while trying not to raise any suspicions with her daughter. In her battle with the demi-demon she makes a very difficult decision that will changer her afterlife forever and may ruin her new found relationship with Kristof.

    This book explores the themes of heroism, good vs. evil, and love, but unlike most books about these themes they make the book very interesting and are not portrayed in a cheesy or cliché manor.

    If you like the Ghost Whisperer, supernatural books or shows, adventure books, Twilight, or Harry Potter, you will like this book a great deal. I give this book 5 stars because this book kept me on the edge of my seat almost the entire time, I laughed, cried, and even yelled at the book while reading this book simply because it is so easy to get engrossed in the story. I would recommend this book for anyone who likes book about adventure, ghosts, supernaturals, or any other Kelley Armstrong book. I would not recommend this book for children under 13 because of the sexual and gory moments, and some explicit language.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Not a big fan of this one in the series

    Okay the thing with this book it took me forever to get into it. The books before this and after this were like I couldn't put down. But this one not so much. YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK TO UNDERSTAND THE REST THOUGH! It a okay book. It wasn't like pulling teeth. I would read it again but maybe start in the middle this time. My sister LOVED this book more then the others so it all depends on what you like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Haunted is a Hit

    Kelley Armstrong new addition to her women of the otherworld series is a hit. The characters continue to develop and the book keeps you guessing. I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes the previous additons of this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Haunted

    In order to earn her wings, Eve has to stop a Nix, a demon that possesses her victims, then uses their body to commit murder. Eve at present is a ghost, a rather rebellious witch who was killed in Stolen, leaving her daughter, Savannah, with Paige (Dimestore Magic, Industrial Magic). Until she was offered this assignment, Eve was content to keep an eye on her child's very interesting life from afar. Now, things change, and to up the stakes, it looks as if the Nix might want to make Savannah, Paige, and Lucas her victims. There is nothing, not even Hell, that Eve won't face to save these three. Fortunately, she is not alone. With the help of a full blood angel with attitude and Savannah's father, Kristoff, Eve sets off on what seems like an impossible, at times, quest. ***** Through it, readers learn more about Eve and Kristoff; and trust me, Kris is much more than the bad guy he seemed to be when last we saw him. Ms. Armstrong is an excellent writer in all respects, but she does seem to have a special knack for creating memorable heroes. However, all her characters are three dimensional, with realistic, yet not fatal, flaws that don't mar their perfection, merely make them endearing. *****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Jeff the killer

    Slleps

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    You gotta read it!

    I love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kelley Puts Out Another Hit!

    I Love this series and the wicked Eve Levine makes an awesome leading lady! I love the angel/demon dynamics of this book. I love that Jamie Vegas is back. I love that there is a battle to save Savannah. There are so many great things about this book... It is a must read for me :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    Great Book!

    I loves this book! It gave the real story into Eve and her perspective on things. Great addition to the series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    another fun one!

    Another fun book in the Women of the Otherworld series. It took me about half the book to really get into this one though. The first half was kind of slow but the second half kicked butt!

    The heroine in Haunted is Eve Levine, a deceased witch/half demon and the mother of Savannah from the previous two books. Eve is sent on a mission, literally to hell and back, to hunt down a ghost, called the Nix, who is causing harm to humanity. This Nix thrives on murder and mayhem and gets a little too close to the loved ones of Eve. Haunted was a fun read but I just wasn't crazy about the ghost world scene. I preferred the other books that took place in the here and now and had living breathing human characters.

    Haunted has some very interesting and unique settings and characters. I had a hard time putting the book down once I got past the first half. And the climax was awesome!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    Good Series

    Referred to friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    awesome

    this book along with the rest of the series was interesting,fun,exciting, and even had a few tear jerking moments -- highly recommended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Kelley Armstrong's 'Haunted'

    This is the fifth book in the series 'Women of the Otherworld'. I think the lead in 'Haunted', Eve Levine, is her second best. Elena is her best lead, with Eve close behind. I just wish there was more Eve. She is a very funny character. Eve is a well written character. Many people would be able to relate to her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    Got me hooked on the series

    First of the 5 current books I read, came by it accidentally in a book shop. Loved the book, one of my favourite characters. Eve could have been darker, to match what the other books led us to believe about her, but she is a loving mother, after all. I highly recommend this book to anyone who hates flouncy heroines *****

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    Dont bother

    This book was the worst in the series. I was very disappointed. Too much meandering it took me a whole month to read because I couldnt get into it. In short, save your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    And starting at Power Wing Forward for the Writing Rangers...!!!

    This won't be long in the typing because I don't like saying the same thing over and over. So I'll try to put it in a nutshell. This book, Haunted,to put it plainly (short and to the point)is excellently written. I usually frown on the heroine with the multi-species thing(thanks for the bitter taste, Mrs.Hamilton) but all the aspects that were needed to overlook and mesh this particular characteristic into something entertaining was done with master level timing and consideration. The quest she (Eve) has to go on and the plethora of characters plus realms and rules she has to encounter and follow kept me turning pages well into the night. Most nights later than what was good for me. (lol) It was well worth it. And to make a confession Ms. Armstrong's approach to realism or limitations for her characters in Bitten and Stolen were not appealing for me. But I have to admit that it fit her human characters' mortality in this book and her other two books (Dimestore Magic & Industrial Magic) very well indeed. And I think in NO way should Ms. Armstrong or Ms. Charlaine Harris be compared to Mrs.Hamilton in the ways of writing or styles. Each of the two writers have definitely earned thier right to be set apart from the 'Has-beens' of Supernatural/Urban Fantasy writing. You're doing superbly Ms. Armstrong here's hoping you even more success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Refreshing, exciting, and a great work of urban fantasy

    In life, Aspico half-demon and witch master of the black arts Eve Levine ran away when she realizes she is pregnant with the heir of a cabal sorcerer. Three years after Eve¿s death, she haunts the home where her daughter Savannah lives, hoping to find a way to breakthrough into the mortal world. Savannah¿s father Kris who lives on the same ghostly plane as Eve believes the woman he loves most should get her own life preferably with him and forget about making contact with their daughter. He believes Eve needs something worthwhile to do so that she won¿t constantly looking in on Savannah....................... The fates have a very special job for Eve to perform. They need her to capture a Nix who escaped from a supposedly secure level of hell. A Nix is a very dangerous supernatural being because it provides the human it possesses the chance to act on her darkest desires. Some of the most notorious female killers were possessed by a Nix. While Eve is chasing after the supernatural creature, the Nix discovers who really matters to Eve and intends to destroy them unless Eve can find a way to send her back to Hell................... This romantic urban fantasy is absolutely incredible. It is innovatively original and the storyline is a magical creation. Eve learns that her tie is to Kris and she must stop visiting her daughter. She intends to succeed in her quest but she might have to give up her lover to save those she loves in the mortal realm. Kelley Armstrong¿s latest work is refreshing, exciting, and a great work of urban fantasy.................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14