Customer Reviews for

Haunted America

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Fantastic

    I have read both Haunted America & Historic Haunted America and I loved them both. They combine both a historical and paranormal take, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Fantastic books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazingly Scary Stories

    This book is by far the best book I have read about ghosts. Michael Norman and Beth Scott go in to the history of why they think the place is haunted. The cases are very well documented in this book and very interesting. When I got to Minnesota, I asked my father if he knew any Ghost Stories from his home town(which was the one in the book). He said word for word what he knew about Mary Anne Twentey and it match what the autors had put down. I was visiting my grandma who still lives in that area and actually got to see the site of it. Pretty scary. This is a must have for ghost books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    The Facts are Always True!

    Want to learn the truth behind all that is suspicious occurrences that happens around the world? Haunted America has all the haunted buildings known in every state in America. From downtown of Los Angeles to up town of New York City. But don¿t expect for this book to contain blood gushing, head spinning, chaotic revenge. It¿s mainly about all the places that are found to be haunted because of the strange occurrences. There are good and bad spirits out there. Have you ever seen one for yourself? There¿s a haunted place almost everywhere you go. You¿ll never truly know why most spirits don¿t move on and find the light. But you can try to understand. Just hope you have a strong stomach for most of the things that may come your way. Spirits may stay because there maybe something that they have not accomplished in life when they were living. Some may even say that god just didn¿t want to open the golden gates for there free spirits because he believed they were bad spirits and didn¿t deserve to go through his gates to heaven. So live life to the fullest, or live life as though it was your last to stay happy. Or so they say. Every spirit has its story. Some may not be pleasant but it¿s the truth. Believe it or not but ¿Truth hurts¿ that¿s life. I watched this series of events on television called Most Haunted on the Travel Channel and from what I¿ve seen the book Haunted America and the show Most Haunted have many things in common. The fact that in the book they talk about certain events that takes place, some places like the Queen Mary. They talk about how the spirits can¿t rest and can¿t find peace so instead they stay within the place that they¿ve lost their lives in and haunt the many that enter it. The writer talk about people¿s experiences with the ghost sightings of how they can¿t explain what happened to them to show proof of the sightings. For examples are like when they say that as they enter the Queen Mary they feel this type of unexplained energy that goes through their body and within hours they suddenly find bruises on their body. They also talk about the same things in the book. Some believe it to be true and some believe to be a hoax but we may never know, all we have to do is try and find out the truth behind it all. The book I¿ve read was alright at the point that it tells the truth behind the suspicious events at every place that was thought to be haunted. But other than that fact, it was not at all scary at anyway. Maybe from living it in real life it may be to some, but from just reading the story the author left out the suspense and the heart throbbing truth. I personally would recommend this book if you were a traveler that likes to learn the truth behind the places you may visit. But if you are looking for a book with heart throbbing, head spinning, blood gushing chaos this may not be the book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    Fear isn't good enought to describe this one!

    Haunted America is the scarriest book I have ever read. The tales are truly spin tingling. I was soooooooo scarred after reading this book. It is one of the best books ever written on the supernatural. This is a GREAT buy!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    chilling

    This book actually gave me chills down my spine, I could not put it down 'til the last page. Great book for camping or even parties,people even ask me where they can go get it. This book goes everywhere with me, I get bored and I pick up my book to find another chilling story that will keep me on the edge of my seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    hmmm,GOODZ

    seems pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1