Customer Reviews for

The Haunted Bookshop

Average Rating 3.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great fun.

Morley brings the bookshop to life with vivid sensory descriptions. The reader, if a frequenter of used book shops, will feel as though he has been here before. Although the plot is a bit contrived the characters play their roles well and the story moves with a sense ...
Morley brings the bookshop to life with vivid sensory descriptions. The reader, if a frequenter of used book shops, will feel as though he has been here before. Although the plot is a bit contrived the characters play their roles well and the story moves with a sense of urgency. I found it completely entertaining and felt as though I was sitting captivated in front of a warm fire as the narrator's tale unfolded.

posted by pooder on December 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Haunted Bookshop

Perhaps one of the earliest literary thrillers, Christopher Morley's 'The Haunted Bookshop' is a sort of ode to books, love and America (yes...America). It's a mystery wrapped in a spy thriller with a small dash of unrequited love and a very large helping of bibliomania...
Perhaps one of the earliest literary thrillers, Christopher Morley's 'The Haunted Bookshop' is a sort of ode to books, love and America (yes...America). It's a mystery wrapped in a spy thriller with a small dash of unrequited love and a very large helping of bibliomania mixed in. The problem lies in the dryness of the story as a whole. Though all of the elements (i.e. thriller, love story, bibliomania, etc.) are interconnected, it feels as though they are not. The mystery itself is really quite bland, even for the time period this was written. The owner of the bookshop, one Roger Mifflin, is a lovable bibliomaniac. The rest of the characters are somewhat dry and uninteresting. Basically, if you fancy yourself a bibliophile, then you will enjoy this novel, if you're just looking for a good story and have no interest in the fever of book frenzy, then you should probably skip 'The Haunted Bookshop'.

posted by Janus on February 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Haunted Bookshop

    Perhaps one of the earliest literary thrillers, Christopher Morley's 'The Haunted Bookshop' is a sort of ode to books, love and America (yes...America). It's a mystery wrapped in a spy thriller with a small dash of unrequited love and a very large helping of bibliomania mixed in. The problem lies in the dryness of the story as a whole. Though all of the elements (i.e. thriller, love story, bibliomania, etc.) are interconnected, it feels as though they are not. The mystery itself is really quite bland, even for the time period this was written. The owner of the bookshop, one Roger Mifflin, is a lovable bibliomaniac. The rest of the characters are somewhat dry and uninteresting. Basically, if you fancy yourself a bibliophile, then you will enjoy this novel, if you're just looking for a good story and have no interest in the fever of book frenzy, then you should probably skip 'The Haunted Bookshop'.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great fun.

    Morley brings the bookshop to life with vivid sensory descriptions. The reader, if a frequenter of used book shops, will feel as though he has been here before. Although the plot is a bit contrived the characters play their roles well and the story moves with a sense of urgency. I found it completely entertaining and felt as though I was sitting captivated in front of a warm fire as the narrator's tale unfolded.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Wonderful classic to add to a collection.

    The characters were wonderful. The story continued to move throughout the book. The book also provided a picture of what it was like in America shortly after WWI.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Book For Book Lovers!

    A rare treat for booksellers or any other bibliomaniac! The tale centers around a German conspiracy that an ad agency rep. stumbles upon after visiting the Haunted Bookshop and falling in love with the new sales girl. Mr. Mifflin is the owner of the bookshop, and conveys the authors love of books throughout the story with his views on literature, war, & life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    It is a well written, and intriguing book. Could not put it down. A must read for any book lover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    This is a book i would like to read but this version is too diff

    This is a book i would like to read but this version is too difficult to read because of all the typos. I reserved it at my local library. Seems like there should be a better way to transfer a book to nook correctly with all the technology at our fingertips.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Too many typos in this version

    This version of the book has so many typos that it is very difficult to read. Sounds like it may be an interesting story, so I will download a different version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Ok read

    Ok read. The spelling was bad. The author had jumbled up spots in the book. You were not sure who was talking to whom. Overall had ok story line. Not what I thought it would be in haunted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Too many typos, too annoyed to continue

    I decided to read this ebook because the reviews were positive, but there are too many typos and it makes it hard to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    One of the best books I have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    All that it seems!

    When I downloaded this book, being that it was free, I had a bad first impression. I aways say that not everything for free is a good thing. i was wrong about this one. It is a short story but one that has potential. I really wished it could have been longer, but it is a great read in your spare time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    Hi

    What is this book about?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Liked very much

    This is the sequel to Parnassus on Wheels. They each stand alone
    as very enjoyable reads. I found I did want a little more information
    or continued story at the end of this book, but loved it all the same.
    I can see why it is on the Essential reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Must Read for Book Lovers

    This is a Book-Lovers' Book: a thriller, a mystery, a romance, and a book about books all in one. There are several books talked about in this book that I've not read but have since ordered. It will be hard to pass by a used bookstore after reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    old but still great

    i read parnassus on wheels first, then this book. written years ago but still a wonderful read....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    A good afternoon read

    A very intertaining book. I enjoyed the details of Brooklyn in that era. I could almost smell the tobacco smoke in the book shop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4