Customer Reviews for

Haunted Waters (Red Rock Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

4 STARS This was a fun short adventure novel with a ending that

4 STARS
This was a fun short adventure novel with a ending that makes you want to get the next
book. I got this book from Amazon.
Love the characters. Seem real to me and kept my attention.
A mom and her three kids move to colorado. She is a writer and has a new husband...
4 STARS
This was a fun short adventure novel with a ending that makes you want to get the next
book. I got this book from Amazon.
Love the characters. Seem real to me and kept my attention.
A mom and her three kids move to colorado. She is a writer and has a new husband.
Her first husband was killed in a plane crash. She was pregnant with thier third child
at the time. The oldest are twins.Ashley and Bryce Timberline they are 13.
They now have a older step sister and a new stepfather.
Thier is a bully at school that is threatening them. He wants to take their 4 wheelers
that they ride to school each day.
They go with thier stepdad for a weekend getaway to see some of Colorado history and to bond. When a musuem gets robbed the day they are thier.
It gets dramatic but in a good way. I will read more books like this.
Good and clean book can be read by anyone
2005 PUB Tyndale House Publisher

posted by rhonda1111RL on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A

It was a really good book the only probelm I had was the skipping of pages like at the end did he explain or is there surppose to be a squel?

posted by 5809485 on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    4 STARS This was a fun short adventure novel with a ending that

    4 STARS
    This was a fun short adventure novel with a ending that makes you want to get the next
    book. I got this book from Amazon.
    Love the characters. Seem real to me and kept my attention.
    A mom and her three kids move to colorado. She is a writer and has a new husband.
    Her first husband was killed in a plane crash. She was pregnant with thier third child
    at the time. The oldest are twins.Ashley and Bryce Timberline they are 13.
    They now have a older step sister and a new stepfather.
    Thier is a bully at school that is threatening them. He wants to take their 4 wheelers
    that they ride to school each day.
    They go with thier stepdad for a weekend getaway to see some of Colorado history and to bond. When a musuem gets robbed the day they are thier.
    It gets dramatic but in a good way. I will read more books like this.
    Good and clean book can be read by anyone
    2005 PUB Tyndale House Publisher

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read!

    This book is full of excitement, adventure, and of course mystery. It is an interesting series that is best to read in order. It features twins( Bryce and Ashley) whose father was killed in a plane crash and who are now living with thier mom's new husband and his daughter. They seem to find trouble wherever they go. Each book holds an interesting and believable mystery that the kids try to solve. There are morals found in each book and the characters are easy to relate to. Some of these books may be a bit intense for younger readers. My brother, who is 11, had trouble sleeping when he read them at night time. I am not saying not to read them - just make sure that the person who is reading this series will be okay if they choose to read these books at night. The ending to this series is so unexpected that you will always be able to remember it! So keep reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    The first book in the Red Rock Mysteries series, 13 year old twi

    The first book in the Red Rock Mysteries series, 13 year old twins Ashley and Bryce are still missing their father, who died unexpectedly. Four years have passed, and in that time they've moved to Colorado from Illinois, and their mother has recently remarried. Although they like their stepfather Sam well enough, adjustments are still happening. When Sam plans a weekend trip to see a historic "vug," they are excited, until crazy things - including crime and danger!! - begin to happen. And you'll just have to read it to find out what happens next!

    An interesting book for your pre-teens and younger teens, Ashley and Bryce are real kids with real problems, handled in a healthy way. I especially liked how Ashley handled disobedience. An unusual premise, I am eager for my pre-teen to enjoy this series and look forward to getting the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    This book reminded me a little of the Nancy Drew mysteries I rea

    This book reminded me a little of the Nancy Drew mysteries I read ages ago. Bryce and Ashley, two tweens coping with typical and atypical problems, end up smack dab in the middle of a mystery and immersed in danger through no fault of their own. I think this book would appeal to younger readers for a variety of reasons. Bryce and Ashley have a lot of varied challenges, such as the death of a parent and growing up in a blended family, a believing mother and unbelieving stepfather, medical conditions, peer pressure, and bullying. It seems that because their problems are so varied, many different readers could identify with at least one aspect of their lives.

    This book is appealing to parents because of the lessons included within the pages. Things like encouraging readers to talk to their parents about difficult situations and supporting each other in a family are topics that children need to have repeated. There is so much action within the book that I think it would hold the attention of even the most resistant reader.

    Jenkins and Fabry can be counted on to provide interesting story lines interwoven with biblical truths, and that holds true in this book. I also thought the foreshadowing for the next book was very clever, because now I can't wait to read it!

    If you are looking for an action-packed book for readers 8 and up, look no further. I thought it was a very nice book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    Fun Story, Lots of Action. I think these two are excellent autho

    Fun Story, Lots of Action. I think these two are excellent authors. I enjoyed the story and the characters. The humor was gentle and the dialogue was polite, just the way I like it. It was an exciting adventure, albeit a touch frightening with the life-threatening scenarios. I would have had nightmares for life if I went through those, and I'm considerably older than 13. The authors have great imagination. I gave it four stars because of the cliffhanger ending, forcing the reader to buy the next book to conclude it. I prefer a book that is complete in itself. That said, this is a great series for young people, and people like me who enjoy a quick and easy read once in awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bryce and Ashley Timberline are thirteen-year-old twins. They ha

    Bryce and Ashley Timberline are thirteen-year-old twins. They haven’t lived in Colorado long, and they’re still getting to know their new stepfather, Sam. When Sam takes them on a vacation to see the biggest gold nugget, it seems like a chance to get to know him better. But when the gold nugget is stolen and someone starts following them around, their nice vacation weekend turns into a deadly chase.




    This was a fun read. The story was told from Bryce and Ashley’s points of view. The chapters are short, no longer than three pages, so it feels like you’re reading the book faster than you really are. The book had a huge cliffhanger that sort of came from out of nowhere that will make you want to go find the next book in the series. I read this to my kids and they both liked it a lot and demanded book two the moment I closed the book at the end. If you haven’t read these, girl them a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    COOL

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    I recommend

    Really good christan mystery.

    Has a cliffhanger ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    good

    good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1