BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Haunted by Your Touch

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    Great anthology, especially sharie Kohler's novella!

    My favortie of these stories was Sharie Kohler's DARKEST TEMPTATION. Lily was infected by lycans when they slaughtered her friend in a nightclub massacre. Now she must kill the pack Alpha to release herself from the curse which will turn her into a monster at the next full moon. The hunter has brought her to a mansion and pointed her toward her target. Unfortunately a frightened human woman is no match for Luc, a centuries old Dovenatu-a human lycan hybrid--who lives behind the tall walls. Even as he chains her to a mattress in the room that will be her prison for the next weeks, Lily's vulnerability and humanity crack the shell of isolation Luc's created for himself. As she begins turning, he takes pity on her agony even as he fights the desire consuming him, a desire Lily returns. Soon their shared passion turns to something more-forcing them both to face the deadly choices they will have to make before the next full moon. Fan's of Sharie Kohler's Moonchaser series will recognize that world in this beautifully crafted novella. In fact, we met Luc and Lily as a couple in TO CRAVE A BLOOD MOON and now we learn their history. Luc is the ultimate damaged hero who just wants to be left alone until Lilly arrives and brings out the nobility and goodness he believes he's lost. Lily's a fighter who has buried herself in the responsibility of caring for her mother until Luc awakens the love and passion she's denied herself. The romance is both sizzling and tender, with a looming inevitability that keeps the reader on the edge of her seat and turning pages to the very end. This story is a marvelous bonus for all of us who love the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Great read.

    I really loved this book. I am a major fan of Jeaniene Frost and Shay Black. I even enjoyed the other author. I plan to start reading her books too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend...a definately must check out

    Some of the best writers of this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Outstanding!!!

    This book was awesome. I highly recommend this book for all who enjoy erotic and thrilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I wish each short story was a whole book. Each short story was full and complete. I fell in love with each character that I wanted more. I hope you will try it. It was a wonderful read and worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It has only been recently that I have been able to really apprec

    It has only been recently that I have been able to really appreciate anthologies. In the past they have been an irksome expense endured to possess a missing story from a beloved author to fill-in gaps in an ongoing series. I did not truly appreciate them until I began to have crossovers; new series I found and loved that happened to have shorts in anthologies I already owned. It was like finding gold buried on my shelves. All new stories by authors I loved in series I was hooked on that I already had—just waiting to be read. It was a kind of a eureka moment. And I finally realized what I am sure both authors and publishers expect to be apparent at the start—indeed a partial reason behind anthologies—that if you like one author’s writing in them, odds are you might like some of the others. Stupid simple, but hey, I’m a simple kinda gal…sometimes it takes me a while to grasp seemingly obvious ideas. It is with this in mind that I read through Haunted by Your Touch, and while one of the stories did leave me flat I also found an author I’ve never read before and enjoyed their work. So, fair trade.
    “Night’s Darkest Embrace” by Jeaniene Frost
    When I bought this anthology I did so mainly for Ms. Frost’s contribution to it; tho I have to admit I was under the impression that this story was set in her Night Huntress series. When I read “Night’s Darkest Embrace” and discovered it was in a new and different world I was somewhat surprised, surprised but overjoyed because—just as most of Ms. Frost’s works that I have read thus far—it is a wonderful story. Set in a reality where Fallen Angels, Demons and Partials (those who only have a percent of demon blood) can travel to different dimensions this short novella had me love the characters from the moment I met them. The world building was immersive, and the plot moved so that you were never quite sure where it would take you next, but were eager for the ride. This story also had Ms. Frost’s scorch-marks very much in evidence; the passion was explosive and like in any good romance novel love made sure of a happy ending. I lapped up all 156 pages of this story and would be thrilled to pieces if Ms. Frost ever chose to return to this world and write another dose of wonderful.
    I give this story five stars.

    “Mated” by Shayla Black
    This story was my first taste of Ms. Black’s writing, and I have to say that I would go back for seconds. Set in the “Doomsday Brethren” series, “Mated” was a fun mage-type story that despite being thrown into a universe that I was unfamiliar with managed to stand on its own. In this evocative tale Ms. Black let me feel the measure of the world she had created and care for not just the central characters but have a relationship with several more that I gather already had their own stories told. While this particular world may not be one I will seek out again, as I am not much for the evil-wizard-taking-over-the-world bit I was still impressed by the feel that was created. Ms. Black’s characterization was the redeeming factor for me, the intimacy and feeling she was able to induce with her characters, even when they were being obstinate in realizing it touched a chord with me. She managed to capture me in her 121 pages, and for that I will keep my eye out for other possible works she may create.
    I give this story three stars.

    “Darkest Temptation” by Sharie Kohler
    In the hit and miss world of the anthology this story was a miss for me. I’ll admit it, I couldn’t even read it all the way through. I’m sure that Ms. Kohler is wonderful in her craft, but this story and writing just rubbed me the wrong way. Full of werewolves and hunters and an attacked heroine I just couldn’t hack it long enough to experience the story. Hopefully if you give it a try your mileage will vary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Love it love it

    I discovered two great authors beside Jeanine Frost in this book. Highly rec this book n these three authors n all their books :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A bit of a disappointment

    I received this book as an ARC.

    Haunted by Your Touch is a collection of three stories from sizzling paranormal romance authors.

    The first is Night's Darkest Embrace by Jeaniene Frost. Set in a world of dimension jumping demons it's rife with emotion, mainly of the tragic and vengeance kind. Mara is a quarter demon, strong enough to cross over to Nocturna, a wild west/Victorian era feeling dimension of demons. When she was a teen she and her cousin ran afoul of some Full Blood demons, who feed on Parials like herself. Since then she's dedicated her life to finding her cousin's killer.

    The world is neat and intriguing except for the repeated reminder that even simple machines like watches don't work in Nocturna, yet somehow guns do. The plot is certainly not terrible, but it depends on a misunderstanding that's plain as day. Overall the story is interesting, vivid and clips along nicely, but the misunderstanding twist adds a sheen of cliché to it that's disappointing.

    Next up is Mated by Shayla Black, the weakest of the three (which isn't saying much). This tale of wizards caught up in a dangerous battle against an evil wizard back from the dead who wants to take over the world features at least one powerful, headstrong lead, Raiden, an unabashed womanizer who discovers the home of the woman he knocked up has been attacked and the family is believed to be dead.

    The emotion is sizzling in this tale, but it reads like an adult, sexed up version of Harry Potter (imagine Harry Potter meets True Blood). In addition Raiden is an utter jerk and his love Tabby mostly spends her time being rescued and hoping that Raiden will admit he loves her. Which leads to either an abusive feel (at worst), or a jerk of a hero and a weak heroine who can barely do a spell to save herself. While well written, and emotionally powerful I also found it disappointing.

    Finally is Darkest Temptation by Sharie Kohler. This one is a complete score, hitting on the old wolfman legend by pitting a newly bitten woman, set up by a hunter to kill someone she thinks is the werewolf whose death can return her soul, with a nearly inhuman man who is neither werewolf or man, but something else.

    This one I enjoyed a lot, both the tension between the characters and the doomed feel of Lilly's life (even before she was bitten by a lycan). It's only real flaw is that after a great start there's a hiccup as it rushes to finish the story in a short form.

    Despite some disappointment I'd give this book a solid three stars, because the writing is there, I think the stories just didn't strike the right chord with this reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good! A Must-Read!

    Jeaniene Frost is my Favorite author, and "Night's Darkest Embrace" is very different from her usual Cat and Bones series I am used to from her, but this one was still very good and detailed. I love how she describes everything so that you feel like you are there or watching a movie.
    I also enjoyed Shayla Black's "Mated" and Sharie Kohler's "Darkest Temptation", and am thinking about picking up some of their other books from these good short stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Keeper

    This one of the very very few times I get a book like this and like all stories. It starts off great with Jeaniene Frost's story Nights Darkest Embrace. The story follows Mara, a quarter demon, whose cousin was killed during a trip they took to a demon realm. Since her survival she has set out to find the ones responsible for her cousins death only to find that her once savior, Raphael, maybe in on the murder. I love the world Frost made in this story she gives the perfect amount of information so that one has a full grasp of the land without overwhelming the reader. I hope we see more of this story in future in one of Frost books. The next one in line is Shayla Blacks Mated. This story is from Raiden's point of view, a Doomsday Brethren whose ex-lover and soon to be baby's mama, Tabitha, has gone missing and family slaughtered by a powerful foe. Raiden has to face his feelings and ask himself if he has made the right decision by leaving her. Personally I liked this story, but of the three it's my least favorite. Mostly because I've heard this story too many times...guy likes girl...girl likes guy...girl gets pregnant guy leaves girl...guy realizes made big mistake. The only difference is this time there are witches and wizards and that in itself is pretty cool. Last but not least in theses tells of love and war is Sharie Kohler's Darkest Temptation. Lily was recently attacked by a werewolf and is under the impression that if she kills Luc, the supposed Alpha of the pack, then she will be free from the curse. I really liked this one it follows both main characters in the story. Which I liked since it gives the reader a little more inside info. I was even interested enough to check out her other books since I was not familiar with her work. I got to say all and all this book had just enough action and romance to stay on my bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Loved It!!! a must read

    Night's Darkest Embrace. Jeanine Frost.
    Being a half demon gives Mara the ability to see the veil between the demon realm and the human one. Now with her parents away on vacation it's the perfect time to return to Nocturna.
    Ever since she reached adulthood Mara has returned to Nacturna to exact revenge on the pureblood demon that took and killed her cousin when they were teens. If it hadn't been for Rafel she would have been dragged into the purebloods realm also, never to be seen again.
    Knowing Rafel's attraction for her is strong she decides that she can use that to seduce him into giving her the information she seeks. She knows he is hiding something and is determined to find out what. But what she does find is an attraction she cannot deny, and secretes that will change everything.
    I loved this story. Jeanine frost rock, as always. Rafel is hot, powerful, sexy and ruler of the underworld what more could you want? There was just enough background story to get you going, without going into so much detail and overwhelming the story. The story is exciting from start to finish. As always Jeanine's bedroom Scene was amazing. This story alone is worth the price of the whole book.
    Favorite quote

    " " Rafael ," a clear voice demanded "what do you think you're doing with that female ?" "taking her to my room to ravish her , mother," he replied shortly

    Mated by Shayla black

    Raiden was never the mating type, his family was cursed to never be able to sense there one true mate. So as a rule he lived his life with one night stands. But when he met Tabitha she intrigued him in ways he couldn't explain. But knowing the danger in his life, as a Doomsday Brethren, would either get her hurt or him killed. He knew he would not make a good enough mate for her, even if she is carrying his youngling.

    But once her family was attacked and killed and she came up missing from the house, every protective instinct in him came alive . But can he save her, protect her from harm and still hand her over to mate another in his place ?

    This was a great story I really liked Raiden he battled his love for Tabby for what he thought was her benefit. I got a great glimpse into the Doomsday Brethren world, without having to be told to much background story that would take away from the story at hand. The story was nonstop action from start to finish, always keeping you on your feet. I enjoyed this story so much I have to get the rest of the books in this series to get to know more about the warriors in this series.
    Darkest Temptation by Sharie Kohler

    After being attacked by a lycan, Lilly is left with one month before the transformation will happen , leaving her a monster like the one that attacked her. Her only hope is the kill the lycan alpha. With the help of a hunter she find the home of who they believe to be the alpha. But what she finds instead is an irresistible lycan hybrid. Fighting her feelings for him is just as useless as fighting the change. She has thirty days to find the cure and return to her normal life "without him" can she go through with it?

    The story was very good it had a beauty and the best feel to it which I enjoyed. The story moved very quickly. I'm not sure if this story is part of a series or not, but it left room for more at the end without leavening you high and dry.
    I thought the whole book was very good. Three very sexy and fast paced, all arou

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    These three romantic fantasy novellas are well written entertaining tales

    Night's Darkest Embrace" by Jeaniene Frost. In Nocturna, Raphael rules over the lawless demons, the even deadlier angels and others. He protects a female while helping her search for her kidnapped cousin.---------------

    "Mated" by Shayla Black. Doomsday Brethen warrior Raiden knows what he must do, but loathes doing it. He must safely escort the woman he loves who is the mother of his child to hand her over to another male.---------------------

    "Darkest Temptation" by Sharie Kohler. Lily has one month left as a human. Her hope to extend her time as a human leads her to stalk half-breed Luc, knowing that to save him she must kill him, her soul mate.-----------

    These three romantic fantasy novellas are well written entertaining tales. The atmospheres are extremely dark especially Jeaniene Frost's introduction to Nocturna. Additionally fans of Shayla Black's Doomsday Brethren saga and Sharie Kohler's Moonchaser tales will enjoy entering these respective universes.
    ----------------------
    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4