Customer Reviews for

Haunting Jordan (Port Chatham Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!

    Wonderful book. I feel like know the characters. Mystery kept me guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    A good read to make the mind think!

    Good start to a new series.Started off slow,but with any new book series,you have to set characters and background.Once I got into it,I found I could not put it down.Once I got to the middle of the book,I stay up till 1am to finish it.It had drama,and it was funny.It keeps you guessing who did it,which is hard to do lately. Most of the time I know who by the middle of the book.I look forward to the next installment in the series.I highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Full of Surprises

    Alderman combines a modern day psychologist turned sleuth cozy mystery with a historic murder. Talk about cold case files! I loved the way the story shifted back and forth between the present day investigation (in a cool town in the Pacific Northwest that has me ready to move) and the events that led to a century-old murder. Compelling characters, surprises, a sexy piano-playing club owner, a woman trying to rebuild her life, a big ol' dog, and ghosts. Oh, did I forget to mention the ghosts? I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    A Must Read

    Haunting Jordan is a great book! I can't wait for the next one.

    Love ya PJ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Haunting Jordan

    This is one of the best books I've read in a very long time.
    The mystery, suspense, and of course the ghosts kept me reading until the wee hours of the night.
    I'm awaiting the next book in this series, and hope it is released soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Solid, light hearted reading

    I really enjoyed this book. It wasn't overly dramatic romantic or creepy, unbelievable spooky. I truly loved the characters and can't wait to see what mischief and mayhem will come to them in future books. The supernatural content of the book is handled sensitively and lightly. The author really leaves that up to the reader to believe or not. The characters and how they interact really carry the story. Definitely recommend for a quiet afternoon snuggled under a blanket with coco or lying in the sun. Bravo on this series (yet to come hopefully).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Ghost Whisperer meets Sixth Sense

    Very well written. Century old murder mixed with modern day murder complete with flashbacks. The characters are very believable and can be somewhat annoying but to me that makes them even more believable because they have real human characteristics and are well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Good rainy day book.

    Cute and quirky, with ghosts and and old murder mystery and a new murder mystery and a dash of romance.. I thought that the writing style was engaging and the characters were the type that you want to get to know better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    loved the book from the first paragraph!

    from the very beginning, i was hooked. i found the characters interesting and loved the way pj alderman artfully bounced between the centuries. i especially like the fact the author included the ghosts. would love to see this as a series. hurry with a sequel, i can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fun paranormal amateur sleuth

    Jordan Marsh's husband died in a car cash because someone cut the brake lines of his vehicle. LAPD Detective Drake believes she killed her spouse but has no evidence to prove his theory. Sick of Drake's harassment, Jordan moves to Port Chatham, Washington; where she purchases a fixer upper Victorian, Longren House. To her surprise her new abode comes with two ghostly residents Hattie her teenage sister Charlotte.

    When Hattie's husband died, she took over his shipping business and inherited his enemies especially amidst his allies when she decides to clean up his dirty dealings. This includes resentful Mike Seavey who is a power on the docks, her late husband's manager, and Police Chief Greeley who wants to marry Charlotte. As Jordan tries to solve who murdered Hattie back in 1890, she also has to deal with Drake who has new evidence and has come to the Pacific Northwest to see her arrested. Jordan's lawyer refuses to allow her to be expedited back to California as the new proof would not hold up in court. Still someone wants Jordan in jail, but she has no idea who or why.

    Readers will thoroughly enjoy this paranormal amateur sleuth because of the ghost who tells Jordan what happened to her back in 1890 as she tries to persuade the mortal to investigate the homicide in 2009. Looking into a cold case as a total amateur seems easy when compared to being a present day suspect in her husband's death as Drake is like Inspector Girard of the Fugitive. P.J. Alderman writes a scintillating supernatural whodunit as the spirits connect the past with the present.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4