Customer Reviews for

Haunting Jordan (Port Chatham Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    delightful read

    PJ Alderman has created a fun, textured, suspenseful tale in Haunting Jordan. The heroine thinks she has moved to a sleepy town to restart her life and restore her soul. She's had a long year, dead husband, suspicion of murder, and the purchase of a new house where the old inhabitants haven't quite left yet. Before Jordan can work on herself or her new house, she has other much more pressing work to do.

    A fun mix of past, present, ghosts, a therapist who thinks she might need therapy, and a hunky pub owner. Not to mention the seminars the spirits attend to develop their special skills.

    They say there is no rest for the wicked, the weary, or even the un-dead.

    A delightful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Fun romp

    Loved this, wish there were more than 2 in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    This was such an interesting book! It made you want to keep read

    This was such an interesting book! It made you want to keep reading to find out what happened next. It had it all. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    fun times

    ghosts, crazy architecture, murder old and new, what more can you ask for in a great summer read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    A Really Haunting Novel of Ghosts and Murder

    Haunting Jordan is an excellent novel of suspense with a twist of the past with Ghosts and murder plots in and Old Sea town setting. It is well written and will keep you attention throughout. P.J. Alderman's novel Ghost series combines suspense with the supernatural. Highly recommended reading.

    Carl Hardy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put this one down!

    A co-worker introduced me to the Alderman series. I breezed through Haunting Jordan (and Ghost Ship), and can’t wait for a next book. I love the way the author manages to blend humor, romance, mystery, ghosts, vivid descriptions and a Victorian seaside town setting—I felt as though I was roaming the contemporary streets as well as the 1800’s waterfront of Port Chatham, Washington.

    Alderman’s ability to combine all of these elements successfully into this page turner reminds me very much of the books by Antoinette Stockenberg that I have recently read (A Month at the Shore, Beloved, A Charmed Place) which take place on the New England coast. Both authors have the gift of stirring all of the elements into a book you can’t put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Totally enjoable!

    Fun and charming characters and a good story line. Good combo of suspence, humor, and romance. You have to be willing to suspend reality, but that's one of the best things about books. You aren't in your "real world." Let go & ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Great book. Would recommend for everyone to read.

    This book keeps you on the edge of your seat and it leaves you wanting more when you are finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    Fast moving & well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Great read!

    Really enjoyed the play between past and present. Perfect blend of mystery, history,and romantic tension. Had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Excellent!

    Romance, suspense and humor all in one. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    CANT PUT DOWN

    This was an easy read and kept you wanting to see what happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    LOVED IT! An excellent read!

    This book kept me up very, very late on a weeknight because I just couldn't put it down. What a fun, entertaining story with great characters and a wonderful plot. I love the interaction between Jordan and her visitors, her new dog, and the unique and interesting townsfolk of Port Chatham. I love how the author runs the modern day mystery alongside of the century old mystery. Not only did I have a great time reading the book, I also learned some interesting history lessons along the way. Bonus! If you like mystery, humor, paranormal, and suspense all wrapped up with a hint of romance, you'll love this book. I'm off to buy book 2 in the series now--Ghost Ship. But before I read it, I must sleep just a little...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Love this book!!!!!!!

    I love how it takes to the past and to the present. LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Awesome book!!! 5 STARS

    this was an awesome book. i will read everything by pj alderman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!

    Wonderful book. I feel like know the characters. Mystery kept me guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    A good read to make the mind think!

    Good start to a new series.Started off slow,but with any new book series,you have to set characters and background.Once I got into it,I found I could not put it down.Once I got to the middle of the book,I stay up till 1am to finish it.It had drama,and it was funny.It keeps you guessing who did it,which is hard to do lately. Most of the time I know who by the middle of the book.I look forward to the next installment in the series.I highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Full of Surprises

    Alderman combines a modern day psychologist turned sleuth cozy mystery with a historic murder. Talk about cold case files! I loved the way the story shifted back and forth between the present day investigation (in a cool town in the Pacific Northwest that has me ready to move) and the events that led to a century-old murder. Compelling characters, surprises, a sexy piano-playing club owner, a woman trying to rebuild her life, a big ol' dog, and ghosts. Oh, did I forget to mention the ghosts? I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    A Must Read

    Haunting Jordan is a great book! I can't wait for the next one.

    Love ya PJ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Haunting Jordan

    This is one of the best books I've read in a very long time.
    The mystery, suspense, and of course the ghosts kept me reading until the wee hours of the night.
    I'm awaiting the next book in this series, and hope it is released soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3