Customer Reviews for

Haunting Violet

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A great ghostly read!

Haunting Violet's cover is absolutely gorgeous! Purple of course is my favorite color. Though aside from that, the cover is quite fitting for the story once you've read it. It features main character Violet ,hence the color of the cover,laying in water, which is decorat...
Haunting Violet's cover is absolutely gorgeous! Purple of course is my favorite color. Though aside from that, the cover is quite fitting for the story once you've read it. It features main character Violet ,hence the color of the cover,laying in water, which is decoratively adorned with water lilies. However, it is unfortunate that the paper used to print the cover on is bland. A shimmering and reflective paper would have enhanced the beauty of the cover to an entirely different level.

What many readers do not know from reading the summary is that Haunting Violet takes place during the year 1872, thus making it a historical paranormal romance for young adults. Violet Willoughby is the only daughter of a fraudulent medium. Along with her are her mother, who believes that her work fraudulent medium work is purely charitable, Colin, an Irish orphan , and Marjorie, a maid-of-all-work rescued from a brothel. Readers will find themselves in Violet's point of view, witnessing the trickery both she and Colin are forced to ensue to make the fraudulent seances appear realistic to the paying spectators. Despite her mothers constant reminder that what she does is purely charitable and reassuring for the mourners, Violet sees it only as a new way for her mother to scam people of their money. Their journey eventually arrives at Lord Jasper's home, a wealthy gentlemen with an open mind towards the spiritual and supernatural. Violet's mother instantly jumps at the chance to impress everyone with her charade and bodes Violet and Colin to come along. Though what is not expected is that Violet would encounter a real ghost, one of Tabitha's sister Rowena. Not only that but Violet also discovers that she has the gift that her mother's been faking the entire time; the gift to see the spiritual world. Immediately, Violet, Colin and her new friend Elizabeth find themselves racing through their days trying to solve the murder. You see, someone murdered Rowena, though the families claim it was an accidental drowning. Rowena won't rest until Violet has found her murderer and this of course causes quite a bit of danger for our leading lady. Additional to the gruesome and sometimes hilarious ghosts portrayed in Harvery's Haunting Violet, there is also mystery and romance. The romance, however, is very slight and in no way destroys the original aim of the plot.

I found myself enjoying Harvey's Haunting Violet very much. The refreshing tale of ghosts, murder, mystery and romance all taking place in the late 1800's was very exciting and fun to read. A recommended read for all young adults.

posted by TheMochaLatte on June 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

3 1/2 Stars

3 ½ Stars:

I really wanted this book to be a great read; something that pulled you into the characters' world and wouldn't let you go. After all the rave reviews I read about it, I thought for sure it would be great. While I won't deny that Haunting Violet was a good...
3 ½ Stars:

I really wanted this book to be a great read; something that pulled you into the characters' world and wouldn't let you go. After all the rave reviews I read about it, I thought for sure it would be great. While I won't deny that Haunting Violet was a good book, in my opinion, it just wasn't that great.

The premise of the book, a 17-year-old girl in Victoria Era England who starts seeing ghosts and has to solve a year old murder mystery, had me intrigued. I am a complete sucker for the supernatural. The mystery and supernatural aspects of the book were done very well. Not only am I a sucker for the supernatural but I am also a romance junkie, and that's where this book let me down.

I'm the type of person who likes to see a romance grow between two people, how else is the reader supposed to appreciate and understand how the hero and heroine feel about each other? The romance between Colin and Violet just..was. It was very abrupt. There was no build up, no explanation of their feelings about each other before they suddenly realized they loved each other. It was like the author was too busy writing the mystery that she didn't focus enough on the romance part. We also didn't learn much about Colin's past, which I was curious about.

All in all, it was a good read with a few flaws. Violet was a very likeable character, as was her friend Elizabeth. There were scenes that made me laugh and some that freaked me out. Although this book didn't exactly pull me in, it was a good ghost story and I would recommend Haunting Violet to a friend.

posted by writingirl_15 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Enjoyable Read

    Ever since I saw the beautiful cover and the intriguing synopsis for Alyxandra Harvey's Haunting Violet, I have been dying to read it, as if there is one thing I love its well-written historical fiction, especially if it involves something supernatural as well. Thankfully, this book perfectly fit the bill!

    For Violet Willoughby, she is starting to become sick of the life she has been given. She cannot stand watching her mother constantly trick people into giving their money over for her so-called séances, which are the definition of fake, as well as dragging poor Violet and Colin, her mother's young assistant, along for the ride. Better yet, she is also tired of her mother constantly telling her to marry a rich man when all Violet really wants to do is find someone she truly loves, someone who will let Violet be Violet. However, everything changes when Violet and her family are called to Lord Jasper's house to help conduct séances for his guests's entertainment. Soon enough Violet is involved in a murder mystery involving a snobby, elitist society girl and her dead twin sister who Violet is actually able to see. Will Violet be able to save the day before someone else is killed? Or will Violet soon become shark's bait herself? And will Violet ever be able to get out of her mother's plans for the future? Only time and more pages can tell in this mystery that will have nearly any reader thinking, "Who did it?"

    From start to finish, I adored and rooted for several characters in Haunting Violet including Violet, of course. Strong yet sweet, Violet is a girl who has her head on her shoulders but yet isn't afraid of letting her heart lead her way sometimes. It was always fun to see Violet interact with the different society people, and for Violet to allow for her talents in spiritualism grow also, as this portion especially allowed for Violet's coming of age. I also adored the addition of Colin, Violet's adorable Irish love interest, as well as Elizabeth, Violet's hilarious and headstrong best friend.

    The plot of Haunting Violet was also intricate. Not only because of the complex murder mystery subplot, but also because of the sprit powers Violet possessed. The murder mystery especially kept me turning the pages, and even though I had a basic gist of who the murder was for a portion of the book, I still managed to be a little surprised at how everything turned out in the end. I also loved Violet's romance subplot. Not only because it developed in a realistic speed but also because it wasn't a main focus of the story.

    Lastly, Alyxandra's writing was great in this. I had only read one book by Alyxandra prior to this (Hearts at Stake, the first in the Drake chronicles), and while I enjoyed her writing in that one, it took an even better turn in this book. I always felt like I was right there with the characters in the 1870s because of her descriptions, and her characters never failed to jump of the page and come to life. The only aspect I was a little shaky on was how I felt she modernized some of the dialogue between the characters at times.

    Full of adventure, mystery, and romance, Haunting Violet is the perfect summer read. Best of all, it contains a solid, standalone ending, and what's not to love about that?

    Grade: B+

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    A good ghost/mystery story!

    First of I just love Alyxandra Harvey, she has fast become one of my favorite authors. I have read all the books so far in the Drake Chronicles and I was a little curious about how she would fair writing about ghost instead of vampires, I wasn't disappointed.

    Violet hates what her mother does and she only goes along with it because she has no choice. The only upside to it is having Collin there with her, her long time friend. Collin was taken in by Violet's mother when he was young and raised up to help her with her trickery. Violet's mother claims to be a medium and has Violet and Collin help her to fluff it up a bit with tricks.

    Violet and her mother get invited to a Lord's estate to put on a spiritualist show for some rich people. The only thing is, Violet is now actually seeing a ghost. It's the ghost of a young lady who died the year before. This ghost is pretty persistent in trying to get Violet to help her, but Violet doesn't want anything to do with her. She doesn't believe in ghost, not after watching her mother all these years. This ghost does some wild things to make Violet finally believe, and once she excepts her real ability she starts seeing more ghost. She confides in her lifetime friend who believes her and they try and find out what happened to the young girl. Danger lurks near as they try and find out what happens and it could lead them into harms way.

    I keep promising myself that I am going to take notes and write down the characters names so I don't forget them but again I didn't and I can't remember some of the names and its driving me crazy. :( Violet is a great MC, she is brave, strong and has a great sense of humor. She can have a bit of smart mouth which makes her a fun character. She is also very determined once she finds out that someone else could be in danger. Collin is a few years older than Violet and has always been her protector and friend. He also knows he doesn't have any money or place to go to offer to Violet, so he tries not to interfere much when she is being courted by a rich guy (name I can't remember). He is very cute and I love the way he is always looking out for Violet. It has some great secondary characters as well that really makes for a great book.

    This book was sort of like a mix between ghost story and murder mystery and very entertaining. The storyline has a good pace and its a very fast and easy read. I would recommend it for anyone who likes historical, ghost stories with a twist.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Haunting Violet is an entertaining blend of history and fantasy with likeable characters and just the right dose of romance.

    I've heard many great things about Alyxandra Harvey's Hearts at Stake series, but Haunting Violet is my first actual encounter with her writing. If her first series is anything like her latest novel, then I can definitely see the appeal. In Haunting Violet, Harvey seamlessly weaves history and fantasy together to create a suspenseful and slightly spooky tale.

    The Victorian era is one of my all time favorite historical periods, and I love that Harvey decided to use it as a back drop for her latest YA book, Haunting Violet. This time in history is known for its obsession with the supernatural, and Harvey takes advantage of this by setting a real supernatural encounter within the frame of a swindler's hoax. It's obvious that Harvey has done her homework, as her construction and description of the (fake) seances that take place in the book are detailed and realistic. Including everything from a pair of bellows strapped under a dress to create a "otherworldly" breeze to throwing powders in the fire to make it rise and change colors, Haunting Violet shows the reader just how much the senses can be tricked into seeing that which isn't really there.

    It also didn't take me long to bond with the main character, Violet. Growing up nearly dirt poor, Violet's entire survival is based around the carefully constructed shams her sometimes abusive mother puts on for members of the upper class. Her only comfort is found in her mother's assistant, Colin, an Irish orphan whom Violet has been friends with since childhood. Because of Violet's unfortunate lot in life, combined with her unwavering perseverance and determination, I instantly sympathized with her, which made me fairly invested in the story line from the beginning.

    For those of you who are fans of romance, don't worry, Haunting Violet has a bit of that as well. What I enjoyed about the romance in the book was that it developed from a longtime friendship, and it didn't just suddenly manifest between two people who barely knew each other. One of my biggest pet peeves in YA literature is that I frequently find the romance to be immature and completely unrealistic. I'm happy to say that Haunting Violet was quite the opposite.

    It's not set in stone, but it sounds like Harvey has already written a sequel to Haunting Violet. Whether or not that sequel will eventually become available to the public probably depends on the readers' response to the first novel. As for me, well...I'd definitely be up for seeing some more Violet in the future!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Enjoyed it!

    This is a well written teenage paranormal romance/murder mystery, set in Victorian times. The believable and poetic scene descriptions brought the story to life in my mind. The characters are appealing and vivid. I liked it and quickly read two more of this author's offerings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Great story a dwell developed characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Well done

    Love subject matter and way it is handled. Also love that romance was incidental rather than focus of story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    I was not disappointed in Haunting Violet.    Good read!

    I was not disappointed in Haunting Violet.    Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another book that I have been trying to get off my tbr pile. And

    Another book that I have been trying to get off my tbr pile. And I must say that I am happy with it. I totally was not expecting it to be a historical book. It is a great read!


    What I loved most about this book is the plot. We have a girl who trudges along with her mom who is a con artist. She pretend to speak to the dead be she can not. She does magic tricks and such to make her clients believe in ghost. And then for no reason, Violet all of the sudden can see ghost. As you can imagine, this makes the mother very happy cause she thinks her daughter is actually pretending all of it as well. Like she is finally coming into the family business. I like Violet. She is typical girl doing her best to please her every non-pleasing mother. Violet goes by her guts and helps her mother no matter what. I do not like this women and for Violet to help her well, she is lucky.


    The love interest in the book is typical yet redeeming. They long for each other yet they can't have each other since Violet's mother is pushing her to marry a man of "good standing." The secret love is adoring and one that the reader will be rooting for.


    Whats most interesting is the whole ghost mystery. Violet stumbles upon a ghost who is murdered and is now trying to solving the murder. This part is fun. I liked watching Violet solve clues, see through the ghost eyes, and figure out the murder. During this part is sort of reminded me of play the game of Clue.


    Haunting Violet is an enchanting ghost story that keeps you reading till the end. The vividness of the ghost feelings and thoughts make your hair raise. Undeniably scary good, Haunting Violet is compelling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Better than what I had expected

    I liked it all except the start was very slow and abruptly Colin and Violdet falls in love wih each other...
    Overall, " Another aesome book in my memory."

    PS Sorry if i kinda ruined the ending for you guys...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    When I started reading Haunting Violet, I really didn¿t know what to expect. I knew it was a ghost story, and I have yet to read a ghost story that I really loved, until now. This book was awesome! It was also my very first read by Alyxandra Harvey, but it won¿t be my last.

    I love the main character, Violet. She¿s just a very likeable young lady. Although her life is far from perfect, she¿s still a very strong, conscious character. Her mom is a fraud, and although Violet hates this, she has to go along with it. Colin has lived with them since he was a young boy. He is a wonderful character as well. While he teased Violet some in the book; he really cared for, and was quite protective of her as well. I thought he was super sweet, and is a perfect match for Violet. Elizabeth, Violet¿s best friend, was very likeable as well. She had me laughing quite a few times. I loved their friendship, and thought they were also a great pair. There were a lot of really great secondary characters in this book, but also quite a few that you will love to hate.

    I loved the plot for this book; I thought it was really creative take for a ghost story. The writing was simple, and the book was very fast paced. I really loved reading about the historical time period in the book. The descriptions were well written, I almost felt as if I were there.

    Overall, I really loved this book, and I can¿t wait to get my own copy. It will definitely be a welcome addition to my collection!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Better than I expected.....Really!

    Putting myself in Violet's place was easily accomplished in this book. I felt the hatred, love and frienship of each character. And the ghost who appeared to Violet were sometimes very frightening. I loved the suspense and romance of the story as well. All in all, I enjoyed the book much more than I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Live To Read

    Violet has not had the easiest life. Her mother is a fake "spiritual medium", she has no father, and she is constantly shuffled back and forth from place to place. Her only respite is Colin, a childhood friend who has the potential to become something more. The story finds Violet, Colin, and her mother at a wealthy elderly woman's home...her mother is planning to scam the older woman. The plan actually takes off and Violet and her mother are "take care of" for quite a few years before the older women die.


    The book consists of Violet's scheming mother plotting to scam more and more people, expecting Violet to help her. Colin continues to protect Violet as best he can from her mother. There are plenty of odd, spiritual events leading up to a climax with Violet in trouble.


    Violet is an easy-going, likable character. She has infinite patience and is a dutiful daughter despite her mother's apparent dislike of her. Colin is handsome, protective, and caring; he has liked Violet for a long time and makes no secret of it. Violet's mother is the despicable character in the story, she is selfish and greedy. The reader will quickly grow attached to Violet and Colin.


    The plot is fast-paced and intriguing, the author clearly did her research on the subject of mediums. The reader will be taken into a different time where people were far more superstitious, the perfect setting for this book. The ending is exciting and perfect for this novel-the reader learns some very sad things about Violet's abandonment by her father....this book is recommended to young adults/teens who enjoy spiritualism in fictitious novels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Great historical paranormal read

    I really enjoyed this book. I am usually not a lover of historical paranormal's but this story was so engaging that I could not help but like it. The characters were interesting, for once they were not tstl (which I've been encountering more and more often in YA) and the plot moved forward at a good space. It was not a five star book however. There was some inconsistency in the writing and some what the heck moments (papa for example). Otherwise great read. I really liked how she ended it. I don't know if this is going to be a series, but if so, it doesn't really matter this book is totally stand alone, no cliff hangers which is a welcome difference!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2