Customer Reviews for

The Haunting of Hill House

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

An interesting read

I thought this was a wonderful book, but much of it is very subtle. I found myself feeling sorry for the main character (Eleanor), rather than frightened for her. Her story is a very sad one, and often, it was her character that kept me interested, not the plot ...
I thought this was a wonderful book, but much of it is very subtle. I found myself feeling sorry for the main character (Eleanor), rather than frightened for her. Her story is a very sad one, and often, it was her character that kept me interested, not the plot itself. The ending leaves many questions about the character of Eleanor and the events at Hill House, but they are questions that are better left unanswered. I was also surprised at the amount of humor in the book. Much of the dialogue between characters was actually funny and it was refreshing amongst the dark nature of the story itself. I came across The Haunting of Hill House after reading Richard Matheson's Hell House, which has a very similar plot (even a similar name). However, Matheson's novel is much more graphic and overall more frightening, I would say. Although I did not find The Haunting of Hill House especially scary, its characters drew me in and made for a very enjoyable read. I highly recommend it.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Not what i hoped for

I bought the book hoping that it might be a text of House on Haunted Hill (1959) and when i read it, it was exactly that of "The Haunting" movie that came out a while ago. The Book is just as dry, and also just plain bad. The characters in the book never really become r...
I bought the book hoping that it might be a text of House on Haunted Hill (1959) and when i read it, it was exactly that of "The Haunting" movie that came out a while ago. The Book is just as dry, and also just plain bad. The characters in the book never really become real to you. The horror in the book doesnt even come close to touching you. you could read this book in a dentist waiting room or on a plain, but dont buy it.

posted by HorrorFan89 on April 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was alright...

    I had heard great things about this book for a few months now. I decided to go get it from the library. I was kink of disappointed. If you can get through the first 60 pages or so it becomes more interesting. I just really did not like how the characters talked. It really got on my nerves. I was determined to finish the book though...and did. It is an enjoyable story and I can see why so many people like it so much. For me, I just could not get over being annoyed for how they characters talked to each other.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    Sadly, uninteresting and bland.

    I leaned back and thought about this novel after I had finished. What didn't sit well? What was the impact upon completion? There was none, I was indifferent about it and the character outcomes. Prompting this realization was the overall feeling of blandness in the writing. The novel ends rather abruptly, anti-climactically for the slow build up that preceded it. Perhaps the times are dating this 1950's story, but I don't think that's it. It was quite banal, both in terms of character development and descriptions of the plot elements. In brief synopsis, four people from various backgrounds converge on a 'haunted' mansion to spend a few days noting any disturbances. The disturbances themselves are not even portrayed w/ a sense of urgency. One of the party succumbs to madness within its walls. But none of the characters are sufficiently explored. Even Eleanor herself is not given ample space and time to allow us to believe that she is spiraling... and is she even spiraling? The wife of the doctor, and Arthur added in the last few chapters, do nothing to enhance the story and appear mainly for humour and exposition through planchette, of the prior occupants torment. Which is further, never drawn out. This was a very subtle novel; unfortunately, to the point of being uninteresting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    I just don't get this book. I've read many different types of ho

    I just don't get this book. I've read many different types of horror/scary stories from many different authors and time periods, so I consider myself very well rounded in the genre, but this is one classic scary story I just have never been able to see what all the fuss is about it. I'll admit I am a big fan of gore and twisted disturbed characters, but I don't require those things in a horror tale. There are plenty of psychological thrillers I have found quite enjoyable. That being said, I have tried twice to read this book and both times it has come up short for me. I dont even think it is abad story, I just dont see where the scary is. The book carries the warning "dont read this alone" or something to that effect emblazoned across the front cover. All I can say is either I am missing something or people living at the time of this books publication were much more faint of heart. I had hoped to be scared senseless, but instead the book just seemed to be more of look inside the head of a weird recluse. Maybe part of my problem is that I just dont find Eleanor to be a likeable character, and in not liking her or being sympathetic to her I just dont care. I will say her fate in the end was satisfying, it was just a shame it didnt happen earlier in the book and save me some time in reading. I would have liked to have learned more about the other characters, all of whom are more interesting and enjoyable. Also The part of the book I liked the most was the backstory, I would have liked it if the book had delved more into those characters and situations. When Ive talked to fans of the book, and asked them what is it that is scaring them they say something like "its psychological" or something like that. I still dont get it. Bloody clothes and bangs on doors are just not enough to give me goosebumps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Not so Haunting, Somewhat Interesting If you are looking to be s

    Not so Haunting, Somewhat Interesting
    If you are looking to be scared...this is not the book for you. It was written in an engaging way that one could relate to and appreciate the characters. I was never bored throughout. I was seldom excited either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Maybe or Maybe not

    The Haunting of Hill House didn't get me involved to much, the house itself was described VERY VERY good. Jackson got me to believe I was in the house, but that is pretty much it. The characters you seem to know very well but other then that, not too well.
    Good for all ages that want a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1