Customer Reviews for

The Haunting of Hill House

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

An interesting read

I thought this was a wonderful book, but much of it is very subtle. I found myself feeling sorry for the main character (Eleanor), rather than frightened for her. Her story is a very sad one, and often, it was her character that kept me interested, not the plot ...
I thought this was a wonderful book, but much of it is very subtle. I found myself feeling sorry for the main character (Eleanor), rather than frightened for her. Her story is a very sad one, and often, it was her character that kept me interested, not the plot itself. The ending leaves many questions about the character of Eleanor and the events at Hill House, but they are questions that are better left unanswered. I was also surprised at the amount of humor in the book. Much of the dialogue between characters was actually funny and it was refreshing amongst the dark nature of the story itself. I came across The Haunting of Hill House after reading Richard Matheson's Hell House, which has a very similar plot (even a similar name). However, Matheson's novel is much more graphic and overall more frightening, I would say. Although I did not find The Haunting of Hill House especially scary, its characters drew me in and made for a very enjoyable read. I highly recommend it.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Not what i hoped for

I bought the book hoping that it might be a text of House on Haunted Hill (1959) and when i read it, it was exactly that of "The Haunting" movie that came out a while ago. The Book is just as dry, and also just plain bad. The characters in the book never really become r...
I bought the book hoping that it might be a text of House on Haunted Hill (1959) and when i read it, it was exactly that of "The Haunting" movie that came out a while ago. The Book is just as dry, and also just plain bad. The characters in the book never really become real to you. The horror in the book doesnt even come close to touching you. you could read this book in a dentist waiting room or on a plain, but dont buy it.

posted by HorrorFan89 on April 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    A classic that may seem a bit tame by today's standards...

    I read this as a teenager after reading Ms. Jackson's classic short story, "The Lottery"(which I loved) in the seventh grade. It is superbly written, but one must remember from a more subtle era. We have become accustomed to a more "in your face" type of fright today. It's good to go back every once in a while and read literature that spawned interest in a genre.

    For an updated, fresh story about a haunted house I suggest "The Supernaturals" by NY Times bestselling author David Golemon (Event Group Series). A Ghosthuners type TV show plans a live broadcast on Halloween night from a house with an evil past. It's clever, well-paced, creepy and even pays homage to this wonderful tale.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    The Haunting Of Hill House By Shirley Jackson

    4 Sta

    The Haunting Of Hill House By Shirley Jackson<br />
    <br />
    4 Stars<br />
    <br />
    The Haunting Of Hill House is a classic horror story. The story begins with Dr. Montague who is a scholar of the occult wanting to have final evidence of a true haunting. He gathers information looking for the perfect people to help him. He rents Hill House for the summer. A house with a tragic past that the town it sits in won't even discuss. The house sits all alone and began it's life tragically when 80 years prior Hugh Crain built the house for his wife who died moments before even reaching it. The tragedies continue from there and no one that has lived there has for very long. Dr.Montague invites his assistant Theodora, Luke the future heir of the house and Eleanor a complicated young women who has had experience with the occult to stay with him. The story moves quickly and many things happen to it's guests. The house is powerful and it's goal is to keep it's inhabitants off kilter at all times. It builds power and takes what it wants for it's own.<br />
    <br />
    This was a genuinely creepy story. It's one that you really should read sitting in the dark of night. The subtlety of the horror is what I loved most. Horror novels usually do not phase me but this one did. If it touches me and gives me pause then it is definitely good. The characters all had their flaws that were exposed while there. The doctor does not know what he has really done until it's too late. I am glad that I finally picked this up and it will be with me for a long while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    It kinda reminds me of....

    This story kinda reminds me of Ghost Hunt; and rhe bloodstained labrynth. In a way . But ghosts scare me half to death even though I am addicted to stuff like this.. Im such a sucker!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    A good read for a dark and stormy night. Having seen both of Ho

    A good read for a dark and stormy night. Having seen both of Hollywood's versions of The Haunting of Hill House, reading the book was a pleasure. Of the two movies, the 1965 movie follows the book much better and still gives me chills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Scary Spooky

    I liked reading this. It was creepy. At times the dialogue was confusing though so I gave it 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Imagine that you receive a letter from a paranormal scientist in

    Imagine that you receive a letter from a paranormal scientist inviting you to live in a haunted house for 3 months as part of an experiment. Most people might refuse the offer, but for a young woman named Eleanor Vance, it is a chance to escape the drudgery of her life and responsibilities. She accepts the offer and is able to travel to the house by &quot;stealing&quot; the car that is jointly owned by her sister (Eleanor is pretty meek, so you do kind of cheer her on anyway!). You learn that she has felt repressed by her family for much of her life and this is her first decision carried out completely on her own. I love the author's description of Eleanor's ride to the house. She imagines herself in different scenarios involving the scenery around her. At the house there are only four of them - Dr. Montague, Eleanor, another girl named Theodora, and the house's family representative, Luke (a young man with a lot of money and not much to do). Strange things happen at Hill House that can't be explained. But the description of the frightening parts isn't very frightening today. I think the most frightening part (and even this isn't very) was when Eleanor and Theodora were walking into the woods aside the house and start being chased. Theodora says to Eleanor &quot;Don't look back!&quot; and Eleanor listens, so the reader never knows who or what chased them. The ending was more sad than frightening and doesn't leave you with a real conclusion as to what exactly happened; you just hope that maybe Eleanor finally got what she wanted.

    You will have to like traditional gothic literature and character development in order to appreciate this story; it's not for someone who only wants to read a story with a lot of gore.

    I recommend The Legacy of Winterwyck by Catherine Morland (a false name taken from Jane Austen's Northanger Abbey main character) if you can find it - it's out of print but a good story with just the right balance of story/fear factor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Must read

    I saw the movie ans i read the book MUST READ!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Excellent for the right sort of reader

    If your sensibilities have been shaped by video, you will probably not like this. If you are sensitive to nuances of language and atmosphere and skilled at turning text into a waking dream, this will chill you to the bone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Atmospheric

    A ghost story...a psychological study...a classic.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2000

    Very Realistic Subtle Horror

    Many books these days are trying to gross you out and are also very unbelievable in their plot and characters. In Jackson's 'The Haunting Of Hill House' I found a book with some very rare and likeable characteristics. The book explains the house's features and characters backgrounds without straying from the story line, and being a bore. The horror is not just a big slimy monster trying to eat you, but is the realization that your friend is sitting on the other side of the room and whose hand were you clutching in terror in the dark?? The way Eleanor falls under the spell of the house is very unpredictable and a surprise to the readers. The are a few flaws in this story in my opinion, but not everyday do you find the perfect book. The way the author slowly builds up this horror story, the very quick ending is almost a dissapointment. When describing how Eleanor goes mad is very short. I didn't realize she was actually insane until the end. Also, the character Aurthor had no impact on the story, everything would of fallen into place without him. Other then those few minor flaws, I thought this book was very interesting and well written. Great book to read anytime you've got a stray hour!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2000

    Subtle, deceptive, and chilling

    Dependent on her sister æfter the death of their cantankerous and selfish mother, Eleanor is alone in the world. She joins three others to do research into the haunting of the old Hill mansion. It is not just the strange things that might be happening here, but the very design and history of the house that lend depth to the story. Hill House's tilted, spiral design and its precarious spiral staircase suddenly take on symbolic meaning. From Eleanor's perspective, truly strange things are happening. To the others, it is Eleanor that is strange as she plunges into madness. When I try to visualize Eleanor's personality, I visualize bent and twisted springs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2000

    Highly recommended

    A classic of the genre. You can almost picture a young Stephen King reading this novel. This book will actually frighten you not just attempt to gross you out as so many current horror novels do. You will think about it after you turn out the lights at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2