Customer Reviews for

The Haunting of Maddy Clare

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    If you like ghost stories, you will like this book. I really e

    If you like ghost stories, you will like this book. I really enjoyed reading the book. Bought it because it sounded like a quick read and a fun read. It met all my expectations. I read it in one day. Couldn't put it down.
    The story involves a young woman and two men who are ghost hunters. It takes place in England after WW I They go to a quiet English town at the request of a woman who says that her barn is haunted by a young girl who lived with them. There is romance, a ghost haunting and a good mystery. Sarah is the character that the ghost has made contact. Sarah is the heroine of the story and saves the two men and the village. Good ending and a good mystery. Tried to find some other books that the author wrote but was unable to locate. I hope that this isn't the author's first and only book. Would love to see this as a series. I could see Sarah and her friend, Matthew, as ghost hunters solving ghost stories that involved murder or some other mystery.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Great surprise!

    Bought this more on a whim, based on reviews and because i needed something decent and gothic-y to read. And...i read it straight through snd loved it. I did kind of guess most of the twist of the haunting towards the end, but an awesome read. Looking forward to her next book - really great book!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Great read

    Couldnt put it down!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CAPTIVATING.... This story took me in right away, couldn't put i

    CAPTIVATING....
    This story took me in right away, couldn't put it down. Ghost story taking palce in England post WW1. Three main characters plus the ghost. Well written; good character development. Very good read. I believe this is the author's first novel with another coming in '13. I will definitely read her again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book! The scenes involving the ghost were

    I really enjoyed this book! The scenes involving the ghost were incredibly creepy. But I couldn"t put it down. Finished it 1:30 in the morning. Absolutely worth it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Amazing

    :) i came across this read it in two days. Amazing haunting thrill with amazingly great romance tention. I highley recomend this book and hope to see more from this author!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Loved this book--I too couldn't put it down. So now waiting for

    Loved this book--I too couldn't put it down. So now waiting for the next from this author as well as Deborah Harkness and Susanna Kearsley.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Perfect blend of creepy ghost story, historical fiction, love story and mystery! This book had me on the edge of my seat and the way the hauntings are described will make the back if your neck prickle. Could not put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Perfection


    A page turner. Could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Excellent book

    This was an excellent novel. I took a chance and loved every minute. Well worth your purchase. Enjoy.t

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Well-written first novel

    I rarely read books in one sitting, but The Haunting of Maddy Clare kept me on the edge of my seat, without sacrificing the well-written, lyrical prose. It's a genre-bending book - combining historical fiction, romance and a gothic ghost story. The ghostly element is deliciously spine-tinging without being straight up horror (I'm not a fan of horror as a genre, but I loved this book). It was refreshing to see a writer put a new twist on these genres, blending them in new ways. The first person narrator was highly likeable, an excellent traveling companion for this ghostly tale. There was an occasional false note, but over all, a very impressive debut.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    The story line didn't hook me at first, but once I got into it,

    The story line didn't hook me at first, but once I got into it, I couldn't put it down. There was great suspense and different twists and turns throughout the plot to make it exciting. Would highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly riveting!

    Truly riveting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Really Enjoyed This!

    I thought this was a great spooky novel! It was a departure from my usual fare, but I was pleasantly surprised. I would recommend the book to friends, already did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    I enjoyed this story very much. It was far different from other

    I enjoyed this story very much. It was far different from other books I usually read. I read the second one as well, and liked it just as much. Not sure why, but I love the author's writing style. The book kept my attention throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Definitely will become one of m

    Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Definitely will become one of my "go to" authors!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Excellent ghost story!

    Well woven tale with just the right amount of suspence held along with just enough supernatural activity without making it overkill & drowning out the well laid plot line. I look forward to reading more of this author's work in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Spookie and Steamy

    This book will give you goose bumps and a steamy romance all in the rustic backdrop of post WW1 England.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Fast paced, romantic, creepy, and thoroughly entertaining.

    Fast paced, romantic, creepy, and thoroughly entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    Haven't read a good ghost story in a long while before this book

    Haven't read a good ghost story in a long while before this book, so it was a delight. An engaging story, with interesting characters, not just cardboard to prop up the plot. Was surprised at how it drew me in and made me care.

    A nice period piece as well, with the shadow of The Great War as another haunting memory for most. The story itself is a commentary on social mores and attitudes, which are integral to the plot.


    All in all, a good read that kept me turning pages, delivering the hoped-for satisfying outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3