Customer Reviews for

Havah: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Beautifully descriptive - Breathtaking

    Havah is the story of Adam and Eve. However, this is no Sunday School version! Author Tosca Lee has very skillfully taken the familiar Biblical tale and woven it into a rich tapestry full of unedited human drama, despair, pain, and triumph. The story is told from Eve's point of view, giving us a whole different perspective - right from the moment she wakes in the garden, to the subtle deception of the serpent, and on through almost 900 years of her struggles as matriarch of all humanity. Lee's writing is beautifully descriptive; the garden scenes were vibrant, imaginative, and alive with wonder. The vivid imagery continues throughout and the rawness and immediacy of the characters' emotions is palpable.
    Lee's Imaginative take on events as they unfolded was ambitious and overall, this was a very satisfying read. At times, however, I found Havah (Eve) frustratingly petulant and argumentative to the point of being petty. We see this side of her character so often as to almost make us unsympathetic toward her. She is sometimes even kniving, and there was almost a modern day sense of entitlement at times which I wondered at. I suppose when one takes into consideration that her struggles lasted for almost a millennium, one could cut her a little slack. In the end, Lee does a good job of showing us the first couple's humanity, it all its ruggedness and imperfection.
    As with any good novel, Havah stays with you long after putting it down. It raises many questions about what life was like in those early years, and Lee does a good job of sequencing the chain of events that could explain man's ancient development. Of course, as a work of fiction, it is not meant to be treated as Biblical or historical truth. It is one person's vision of what it 'might' have been like. In any case, Havah is worth reading and I highly recommend it. No wonder Tosca Lee is making her mark in the literary world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Tosca had a way of keeping the reader glued to the pages. This


    Tosca had a way of keeping the reader glued to the pages. This is the story of what Eve's life might have been like. I would recommend this book, it was a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Awesome.

    I feel that this book really makes you think about what life was like for her. I have read as well as heard the story of Adam and Eve and this really just puts everything in perspective even from a fictional level. It is awesome, I am def going to look into her other book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Wake!

    A story about Adam and Eve in a way that opens your senses. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    Intriguing, thought provoking insight into the Genesis through t

    Intriguing, thought provoking insight into the Genesis through the eyes of Eve (Hebrew "Havah"). Tosca Lee presents a masterpiece 'autobiography' of a Biblical character we historically know little about, the Mother of Life. Lee's extensive research efforts into the ancient Hebrew, including correctly using Hebrew names and references, bring the story to life. "Havah" draws you into believing the story was part of what God revealed to Moses as the Genesis of our world. It will force you to rethink every Bible lesson ever taught about Adam & Eve. "Wake" and become Havah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Interesting perspective..

    Its interesting to read how this author portray's Eve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Recommend this book.

    Tosca Lee provides a unique perspective on the story of the Garden of Eden through the eyes of Eve. Heart warming story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Different, but good!

    "Havah: The Story of Eve" by author Tosca Lee was truly a very different read for me. Now when you hear the word "different", sometimes a negative connotation is stirred up in your mind. But that really is not the case here-I really just mean it as different as in not the same as other's writing. It took me a little bit to get into this book, but I'm really glad that I hung in there because as things began to unfold I really believe that the author Tosca Lee explored some very interesting themes as to what Eve's life might have been like before and after the fall. Writing a story like this is a little tricky because you fight the whole "we know what's going to happen" angle. But Tosca Lee's writing really captures you and you can't help but hope that somehow Eve won't take the apple from the serpent or that Cain might decide that he really doesn't have to kill Abel after all. But true to the story these things do play out and lots of other tough life drama like jealousy, strife, sickness,shame and regret all come into the story in deep and heartbreaking ways. Tosca Lee is a new author for me and her writing is very passionate. Her early writing in the story describing life in the garden was very ethereal and creative. There were a few times that I felt like the word choices made me go "huh?", and sort of momentarily took me out of the story. However, that was just near the beginning, so I found it kind of interesting that it felt like the writing style changed as the story went on which was very unique, after the fall there seemed to be a shift, which makes total sense to me- From paradise to a fallen world. I would like to explore some of Tosca Lee's other writing, it definitely is not run of the mill and I applaud her for taking on this story, what an undertaking and she really took a lot of risks in her writing- very different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    loved it ...

    I thought this book was very well written... I will read more of Tosca books this one was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A New Telling Of A Well Known Story--Well Done

    Tosca Lee in her new book, "Havah The Story Of Eve" published by B&H Publishing Group explores the opening story of Genesis in the Bible in a way that has never been done before to the best of my knowledge. It is told from the point of view of Eve.

    This book begins with joy and with life. Havah, Adam's chosen name for Eve, is born, full grown, in the opening pages. God has given her life, He has given her a husband, Adam, and He has given her the Garden. Together these two learn about themselves and learn about the new world that Havah now lives in. For all the pleasure and joy of this new life there is also a danger for the serpent comes to visit and to talk and his words are deadly while seemingly innocent. And one day he convinces Havah to eat of the tree which was forbidden to eat from and she convinces Adam to eat and the curse comes upon them. God had told them that the day they eat of the fruit they would surely die, not a physical death, but a spiritual death. And they do. So when God comes to visit with them in the late afternoon they hide from Him. And this rebellion or Sin causes their removal from the Garden and into a different life than what they had known. And while they cannot return ever to the Garden there is a promise that her seed will crush the head of the serpent.

    The opening of Genesis is a story that practically everyone knows whether they believe it or not. We know the story of Cain and his brother, Abel, and that one day Cain kills Abel crushing the dream of their mother that one of these two boys was the deliverer. We have never heard the story like this. Not only is this a first person narrative but it is a woman's point of view. Softer, emotional, everything is clearly defined and talked through.

    "Havah The Story Of Eve" is a lyrical book, not poetry, not music but it captures you much the same way that we are captured when listening to a great musical concert. We are transported to the place where the composer wanted to take us and we do not leave there until the music is finished. That is the way Ms. Lee transports us to the world of Havah and we do not leave until the final page and to her credit we find that we do not want to. There is sadness in this book and rightly so but there is also hope. I recommend this book.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The Suspense Zone. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect book club pick.

    The language and the imagery in this book is truly amazing.

    Tosca Lee describes the love and the passion of living with the mate God designed for you in the Garden full of every wondrous thing so vividly, that when Havah was banished and distanced from The One, I felt the loss myself.

    I liked the creative additions that she gave the story, the idea that humans might have had a sixth sense in the Garden which was lost after the banishment. This is definitely a work of fiction, but I appreciate the uniqueness of the story.

    There were some scenes I found uncomfortable, I thought Adam and Havah's relationship with their children took some uneasy turns. This novel is more literary than I typically read. It's not a high action, page turner of a story. It's more of a slow simmer with lots of thought provoking layers. It made the perfect book club pick.

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. I also reviewed it as a part of my online book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1