Customer Reviews for

Have a Little Faith: A True Story

Average Rating 4
( 806 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(437)

4 Star

(204)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

It'll give you faith!

HAVE A LITTLE FAITH is REALLY a good read. Beyond the story and the characters (which in true Albom style, jump off of the page and into your heart), the message is deep. It's a book that will stay with you for quite awhile. I highlighted parts and dog-eared pages. In a...
HAVE A LITTLE FAITH is REALLY a good read. Beyond the story and the characters (which in true Albom style, jump off of the page and into your heart), the message is deep. It's a book that will stay with you for quite awhile. I highlighted parts and dog-eared pages. In a nutshell, Albom profiles two people: a rabbi who he has been asked to write a eulogy for, and an inner-city convict turned pastor. Two very different worlds, two very different religions, but one strongly shared similarity: faith. The change we see in one of the main characters in the book is something that we rarely see in this world. We only hear about the bad things in the media, but there are people that change their life everyday and this book is a testament to that change. Another book I read last week that I really think you should check out because it's a great fit for Albom fans: EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE 2.0. That book has done wonderful things for me personally.

posted by Oscar_Aguilar on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

did not like

I have loved all of Mitch Albom's books. This one dragged and dragged. I had to force myself to finish it. Kept waiting for the interesting part

posted by Jenoncrn on October 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 812 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It'll give you faith!

    HAVE A LITTLE FAITH is REALLY a good read. Beyond the story and the characters (which in true Albom style, jump off of the page and into your heart), the message is deep. It's a book that will stay with you for quite awhile. I highlighted parts and dog-eared pages. In a nutshell, Albom profiles two people: a rabbi who he has been asked to write a eulogy for, and an inner-city convict turned pastor. Two very different worlds, two very different religions, but one strongly shared similarity: faith. The change we see in one of the main characters in the book is something that we rarely see in this world. We only hear about the bad things in the media, but there are people that change their life everyday and this book is a testament to that change. Another book I read last week that I really think you should check out because it's a great fit for Albom fans: EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE 2.0. That book has done wonderful things for me personally.

    59 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    HIS BEST!

    This is a great book, his best yet. A friend read then lent me an advanced copy. Couldn't put it down. It's amazing to read his wonderful touch on this subject.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewing subject matter is unfair

    This book promotes faith. I believe that is a positive but regardless, I do not feel the first review is appropriate as it appears to be a matter of not liking the subject,"having faith." There is no review of the book itself but only a personal opinion on faith. I hope the author will redo their review based on the writing of the book and leave out their own personal issues as that is not what this forum is about.

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Have A Little Faith

    I bought this book as soon as I saw it on the bookstands, as I always do with Mitch Albom books. The book print is easy to read, the book is a good length to read in a couple days, and as usual, I felt a sense of inspiration when I finished reading it. Frequently, Mitch's story lines take death, near death, or dying situations and reflect upon the important parts of living. I see myself in many of his characters, and I laugh, cry, and have a hard time putting the book down. Mitch Albom is one of my favorite authors and he never disappoints me. He writes with an honesty and sensitivity that grips your heart and changes your life.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Another great story

    This book was another great story. I enjoyed the way it was told through two merging stories. I was especially inspired by the secondary story of the man who fell into religion and served the poor. A great read to remind you of what really matters in life and the importance of traditions.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    did not like

    I have loved all of Mitch Albom's books. This one dragged and dragged. I had to force myself to finish it. Kept waiting for the interesting part

    11 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Another great book by Mitch Albom

    I love this author - his stories are true and very touching. Similar to Tuesdays with Morrie, this is a story about his visits and learning from a man approaching the end of his life. I have also purchased it on CD for my husband, who is blind, for a Christmas gift. Can't wait for him to hear it.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Right time, right book

    Nice hit out of the park. I like to call this a bedside book, because it is a great read when you are able to escape distractions and witness, through Mitch Albom, the phenomenal relationship between the rabbi and pastor. You know how to help the reader step in and be a part of their journey. Thank you! Amy Nymark

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    CONFIRMS MY BELIEF, as did THE SHACK!

    I also own Mitch Albon's, THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN. GOOD TIMING!! This, as THE SHACK, confirms my belief that faith, no matter the denomination is the key! I also recommend THE SHACK and a new discovery of mine, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Linda Pirrung....A lot of food for thought!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I've Got Faith!

    I had the opportunity recently to receive an advanced copy of Mitch's Albom's forthcoming book, HAVE A LITTLE FAITH.  I've been a fan of his books since TUESDAYS WITH MORRIE, and have been anticipating this - his first non-fiction book - since MORRIE'S release. 

    In a nutshell, Mitch profiles two people:  a rabbi who he has been asked to write a eulogy for, and an inner-city convict turned pastor.  Two very different worlds, two very different religions, but one strongly shared similarity :  FAITH. 

    This book REALLY made me think about my OWN spirituality and what faith means to me these days.  I was raised Serbian Eastern Orthodox.  I went to church every Sunday as a child, but because the services were in Serbian, I never really "got" anything out of church.  You know?  I went because my parents made me go.  I believed in God and Jesus and all of the things that surrounded Christianity.  But I didn't UNDERSTAND what faith and spirituality really meant.  Until I moved to Los Angeles and started attending a non-denominational church out here called Agape.  You might have seen Rev. Michael Beckwith on Oprah as a part of the DVD, THE SECRET.  He's the founder of the church.  For the first time in my life, I FELT church.  You know?  I felt what faith meant and - after 40-some years - really felt a presence of a God in my life.

    That's what this book does.  It really opens your mind to the bigger picture of faith.  The question Albom asks is:  "what if faith wasn't what divided us, but what brought us together?"  In a world where SOOO many wars are started in the name of religion and holier-than-thou attitudes prevail amongst so many different groups, it seems like all of our problems would be solved if only we could just say, "Hey, I have faith, you have faith...however we get there doesn't matter.  What matters is that we both BELIEVE."  Doing good for others is sometimes the greatest way to experience pure joy.  If we all gave a little more of ourselves unselfishly, I do believe that peace would prevail.

    This book is REALLY a good read.  Beyond the story and the characters (which in true Albom style, are perfectly painted), the message is really deep.  It's a book that will stay with you for quite awhile.  You'll want to highlight parts and dog-ear pages like I did. It's found a home next to my other perennial favorites like THE FOUR AGREEMENTS, THE ART OF HAPPINESS and THE GAME OF LIFE.  It's very, very good.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mitch finds solid ground, and great writing, diving into his own head and heart

    Mitch Albom takes knocks from critics of various types. Sports nuts think he's too fancy, fancy folks think he's too rooted in sports mythology to be relevant.

    But he's built a giant fan base, and gathered a lot of dedicated readers, because he's able to find the heart of a story. Now honestly, sometimes in sports the heart of a story is pretty straightforward (and can be seen in the comical repetition of "We just tried to put the ball in play and we're glad to get the win") but here Mitch finds bedrock.

    The key is probably that he's not only writing about his home turf - his home town in New Jersey and his adopted town of Detroit - but that he's writing autobiographically. What could be more heartfelt than personal, long, and sometimes painful experience? The result is a tour of Mitch's own spiritual journey as seen through the lens of his relationship with two very special men.

    There's a military concept called Divide and Conquer. The idea is to break an opposing force up into smaller forces, then defeat each in detail. Writing mostly about the present day, Mitch shows how religions can keep us apart, keep us from working together, even scare us away from what has to be done. Talking about Detroit, Mitch shows that finding ways to be together instead of broken into ever-smaller forces is what keeps loneliness, heartbreak, and the "second death" of being forgotten at bay.

    It's in the service of this spirit of coming together, and staying together, that this book resonates. It not only brought me to tears, it had me up early the morning after I finished it, making a list of actions I would take to make the best of Mitch's lessons.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I loved this book. It was great, a story that won't be easily forgotten

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    A Lot of Faith in LITTLE FAITH

    A pastor from the inner-city in Detroit. A rabbi from an affluent suburb in Philadelphia. Sounds like the beginning of a joke. But its actually the underlying story of Mitch Albom's latest book, HAVE A LITTLE FAITH.

    In usual Albom style, each character is brought to life so vividly you think you know them. And by book's end each has woven their way into your heart. If you're lucky, they'll touch a little of your soul, as well.

    I don't want to give too much away, but I will say you MUST read this book. It's a great story about faith and life and belief and love. And how EACH of us are really a lot more the same than we might think.

    HAVE A LITTLE FAITH comes highly recommended.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Have a little faith = #1 Hit

    I was lucky enough to get an advanced reading copy of this book, and all I can say is OUTSTANDING! As in Mitch's 3 previous geat works, there are so many life lessons in this book. It is a must-read! It will be one that should be given as a gift to anyone that you care about. Being a high school teacher I know that this book is a difference maker, and it has principles in it that schools and our society need badly. Make sure you pre-order your copy now and when it comes out, read it and start living the examples in it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mitch talks to my heart.

    We revisit Morrie a bit in this book as Mitch comes full circle back to real life with this non-fiction account of three men headng the same direct all on very different paths. A drug addict excon now Preacher, A life long Cleric Rabbii and Mitch himself interwind a story that ends in your heart and will stay for a long time. This book releases in late September put it on your shourt list. Quick Read. Life long Story.

    Dan

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Honest Writer

    I have read Tuesdays with Morrie, For one more day and Five people you meet in heaven and they were all FANTASTIC books, so if this one is a tenth of how good those other three were reading it will be time well spent. I think Mitch Albom is an honest writer who's words come straight from the heart, I will definitely be purchasing this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    A timely inspirational read

    In these complicated times where religion and spirituality often get a bad rap......this book offers something for everyone. I was able to read an advance copy and was very moved...........it rivals Tuesday's with Morrie...in that it offers life lessons.....humorous insight and a bridge between different spiritual paths. It is potentially an in road for today's youth who are often offered tainted/brainwashed information about spiritual choices. Albom's gift to the planet awakens compassion and invites inner reflection. I laughed ......cried................had to force myself to put the book down so I could enjoy it longer. Big Thanks to Mitch for his ongoing efforts to unite heart and spirit for all.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    previous reviews

    I have not yet read this book, but I will based on the positive report of the 7/14 reviewer. To the other reviewer of 7/14 who referred to the book as a 'flop'.... we all have some sort of faith or 'belief system'. Yours allowed you to step on that plane.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

     If it had not been for the normal demands of life I would have

     If it had not been for the normal demands of life I would have finished it in one sitting. Instead, I had to put it down for an evening and spend the next day waiting to be able to get my hands on it to finish it. Mitch Albom is blessed with an incredible ability to capture thoughts and stories that touch the soul. Have a Little Faith is one of the books that should be required reading for life; particularly now with so much going on in the world around us. His conversations with two great, yet unknown, men of God are lessons in how to deal with the normal challenges and struggles of life. Don't read this book if you're afraid to feel the urge to shed a few tears of joys but read this book if you want to understand the answers to the questions that you ponder daily from the perspective of two men who have answered them from paths of life that, although divergent, were filled with experiences that captured the essence of what life is all about. This is a remarkable, true story of contrast, of two men of God; one an aging rabbi, and the other, an African American pastor working in a ghetto. Two men---two different faiths; two entirely different backgrounds. In the end, the message is clear: Faith ties us closely together and can give us the chance to accomplish things we never dreamed possible. These two men --- so different in their experiences, their upbringing and their religions --- shared the common threads of faith and hope. And their convictions, their love, and even their senses of humor remind Albom of what it means to be "in love with hope." His note at the end offers that his book is a "hope that all faiths can find something universal in (this) story." Albom writes, as he always does, with a loving hand, revealing great intimacies that touch the heart. Like TUESDAYS WITH MORRIE, HAVE A LITTLE FAITH reminds us that, despite our differences, we are all human beings experiencing life, love, hatred and death; with any luck in our lifetimes, we will be satisfied and grateful.   

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone could use a little faith

    It does not matter what religion you call your own. This book has something for everyone. It is about life and the part that you play in this world. Each of us will see a part of ourselves in this book. From the young student of religion, the adult who has wandered away from religion, the person who attends services every week, or even the person looking for something more, there is inspiration in this book. I laughed, cried, remembered, and thought about what I could do better. The relationship between the author and both of the men of God opens the reader's eyes to current and past relationships in their own lives. I truly enjoyed the journey this book took me on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 812 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41