BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Have a Little Faith: A True Story

Average Rating 4
( 805 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(436)

4 Star

(204)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

It'll give you faith!

HAVE A LITTLE FAITH is REALLY a good read. Beyond the story and the characters (which in true Albom style, jump off of the page and into your heart), the message is deep. It's a book that will stay with you for quite awhile. I highlighted parts and dog-eared pages. In a...
HAVE A LITTLE FAITH is REALLY a good read. Beyond the story and the characters (which in true Albom style, jump off of the page and into your heart), the message is deep. It's a book that will stay with you for quite awhile. I highlighted parts and dog-eared pages. In a nutshell, Albom profiles two people: a rabbi who he has been asked to write a eulogy for, and an inner-city convict turned pastor. Two very different worlds, two very different religions, but one strongly shared similarity: faith. The change we see in one of the main characters in the book is something that we rarely see in this world. We only hear about the bad things in the media, but there are people that change their life everyday and this book is a testament to that change. Another book I read last week that I really think you should check out because it's a great fit for Albom fans: EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE 2.0. That book has done wonderful things for me personally.

posted by Oscar_Aguilar on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

did not like

I have loved all of Mitch Albom's books. This one dragged and dragged. I had to force myself to finish it. Kept waiting for the interesting part

posted by Jenoncrn on October 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 436 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Have a little faith

    Amazing! I have always loved this author and it seems he only gets better with each book he produces. I enjoyed seeing the relation between different faiths and how we all connect with love. After all love is God and God is love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book

    Mitch Albom has a way of endearing persons to us. In "Have a Little Faith" he gives us pause to rekindle our faith. Thank You Mitch!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mitch Albom's Have a Little Faith is a keeper

    This book is an excellent companion to Tuesday's with Morrie. Mitch prods us to look at our own beliefs as he prepares for the eulogy of the rabbi of his youth. Knowing that these are real people, living life on life's terms and growing in the process makes this book even more powerful.

    Yes, you will cry but more than that you will be inspired to reach out to others. I think that lesson is worth more than the price of the book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A GEM!!!

    Mitch Albom is a wonderful author!
    This book was just terrific. The story grasps your heart from the beginning and does not really ever release it, even when the story concludes. I cannot imagine being asked to write someone's eulogy before they die, and better yet someone who you have not really had an intimate relationship with for quite some time, if ever. Yet Mr. Albom is asked to do this by his Rabbi and the journey the two men take together, until the Rabbi's passing is splendidly heart-warming and soulful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    One of the five best books I have ever read. Better than Tuesday's With Morrie. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    HAVE A LITTLE FAITH

    Mitch Albom has a very interesting way of writing which is very easy to read. His writing technique keeps the reader interested to the very end. In this book, Mitch talks with his Rabbi who taught him in grade school. Now as an adult, Mitch finds himself once again learning from his now aged Rabbi. We can all learn profound things from this book. The counterpart of the story is a very poor church in Detroit. Mitch seems to implement much of the Rabbi's wisdom in dealing with the church in Detroit. You won't want to put this down until you finish it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Moving story of friendship and mutual respect.

    Awesome story of friendship between men! Shows what happens when we look beyond our comfort zone for friendships with others. As we look with open eyes and hearts for the truth about the character and dependability of those we normally would not reach out to, we find in ourselves the ability and desire to become better people.

    Mitch Albom outdid himself with this book!!! A fantastic gift and a definite keeper for my library!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Have a little Faith

    Everything I read from Mitch Albom I instantly fall in love with. So it was no surprise when I got excited about seeing a new book on the shelve as I walked by in the supermarket. I bought it thinking that I could get around to reading it after I was done with the book I was currently reading, That was until I read the inside.
    As high school senior I would say it touched my heart in a way I didn't think possible. From the first page I was mesmerized, and captivating.
    I grew to care for these charactors and they have stayed with me from page one. It was just an all around amazing book. One that I could read again, and tell all my friends to read. This book will be one that stays with me for years to come.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    mitch albom does it again...

    if you have read Mitch Albom's other books like tuesdays with morrie, then you have a great time reading his new book. Albom's way of describing the scenes and its character will brought you inside the book itself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Humbling

    If there's any one book to purchase as a gift for a love one this would be this one. Mitch captured the gift from both the men which was their continued faith that everything will be alright.

    Thank you Mitch for helping me to remember that faith is about believing in the Holy Spirit. That the Holy Spirit is the foundation of our being, our growth with our family and especially with myself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    A Whole Lot of Life Lessons

    If, like me, you have a habit of turning down the corner of the page of a book when you have just read something that you have to share with others, then I bet your copy of Have a Little Faith will end up like mine. It looks like every other page is dog-eared. This is classic Mitch Albom dealing with life's richest spiritual lessons. But unlike Five People You Meet and One More Day, here he uses the real life's of two men of God to address matters of religion and faith. Powerful and inspiring. I will be sharing these lessons with loved ones for years.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Uplifting, Inspiring, and Refreshing!

    I have not enjoyed a book this much in a long time. It truly touches the core of your sole and reminds us of Gods goodness. Thank you Mitch for showing us that there is still human goodness and humble servants of God existing in today's face paced self fullfilling world.
    Regards,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    LOVE this book!

    I had the opportunity to receive a copy of HAVE A LITTLE FAITH from the Hawaii Writer's Conference. I think this is my favorite Albom book thus far. It's inspirational, a great read and loaded with a lot of spiritually thought-provoking questions.

    I'm planning on buying a dozen of them to give to neighbors and friends for Christmas. I think you'll probably want to do the same after you have a chance to read it.

    THANK YOU Mitch Albom. For yet another excellent book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Highly recommend this book. I passed it on to others.

    I loved this book, helps me beleive again. Great book 5 plus stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    H n hyh hnbn hb

    H nyyyn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Enlightening

    This was my first time reading this authors books, he has insight that touched me deeply. He gets you thinking about your spiritual growth. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Mitch Albom does it again

    Reading tuesdays with morrie in school was how I first fell in love with alboms books. I felt every emotion like it was all real and happening to me or around me. Have a little faith did it again. The words became my world for a part of my day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Great read

    If you are a fan of Mitch Albom and any of his other books, this one fits right in! Page turner, tear jerker, inspiring, and very insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Absolutely worth your time!

    Beautifully written! The story told will touch your heart, no matter your faith. One of my all time favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    Inspiring

    Enjoyed this one as I did all of the Mitch Albom books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 436 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 22