Customer Reviews for

Have a New Kid by Friday: How to Change Your Child's Attitude, Behavior and Character in 5 Days

Average Rating 3.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

very easy read

very easy read..got me started quicker..haven't applied up to Friday yet but say it once and walk away sure is working! ..amazing how they really do hear you speak in a normal tone of voice.. simple steps & common sense we as parents either forget or become lazy about b...
very easy read..got me started quicker..haven't applied up to Friday yet but say it once and walk away sure is working! ..amazing how they really do hear you speak in a normal tone of voice.. simple steps & common sense we as parents either forget or become lazy about because giving in is easier than the battles

posted by 244470 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Book 4 stars, nookbook 2 stars

I am of fan of Dr. Leman's work and have read (and own) a number of his books. A friend recommended this one to me and I am very glad I read it! It is practical, written in way that is easy to read and understand and, most importantly, the tips are VERY easy to implem...
I am of fan of Dr. Leman's work and have read (and own) a number of his books. A friend recommended this one to me and I am very glad I read it! It is practical, written in way that is easy to read and understand and, most importantly, the tips are VERY easy to implement. While I don't have "problem" children I was concerned with my 3-year-olds new attitude and at a loss about how to deal with it. I did not want to be the kind of parent who yells all day long and goes to bed feeling burnt out and unproductive. After reading this I feel like I am better able to control how I respond to situations at home rather than react to them. It has given me great peace of mind!

The only negatives, for me, are in the formatting of the nookbook. Text is repeated unnecessarily in italics and often again in the middle of other sentences making it tedious and hard to understand at times. Example, on page 20: "Mom looked him in the eye and said, 'Mommy doesn't feel like Mom looked him in the eye and said, 'Mommy getting you cookies and milk today." Um, what? It happens often and makes reading a frustrating experience. I honestly wish I had just bought a hard copy of this book.

posted by DreaB1025 on January 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    who is this new child????

    My son was diagnosed with tourettes syndrome. Not an easy child, was told to read the explosive child. I was begining to lose my mind with trying to figure out the best way to help him, and help my husband and I deal with his behavior. Well my husband and I both read the book, and we are on day three. Oh my god my child is not only not exploding, but he can not help me enough and he speaks to me like an angel. The first day was Very hard, He lost the t.v. and finally went to bed 2hours early. I followed all the steps remained calm, and walked away. Today he told me I am the best mom in the world, did the dishes, wouldn't let me pick up his coloring stuff when he was finished, he said,'no mom I want to pick it up.' Everytime I have said no, I get ok mommy. Are you kidding? you will not regret this book. The author is right, I almost want him to mess with me, bring it on I'm ready! oh and my son is seven.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    very easy read

    very easy read..got me started quicker..haven't applied up to Friday yet but say it once and walk away sure is working! ..amazing how they really do hear you speak in a normal tone of voice.. simple steps & common sense we as parents either forget or become lazy about because giving in is easier than the battles

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Wonderful Book

    This book sounds too good to be true, but it works. You have to have an open mind and admit that YOU are part of the problem...but Dr. Leman points that out by using examples of things that have happened to actual parents. You close the book knowing that you are not alone and that you are not a bad parent, and by changing a few things you will change your child - and yourself! It is life changing to say the least!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    This book is a must-read for today's parents!

    This book was a great help to me. I think I had become a little bit of a push-over, and my younger daughter was testing me. The book gave great steps to follow which are not difficult. You just have to be consistent! I would definitely recommend this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Good Advice

    Parents, save your sanity and get this book. It's beginning to change our family. The children are learning the first tip, and they're becoming more cooperative. Its really about training the parent to react correctly, which in turn changes the child's behavior. It's a win win for everyone! Be sure to read Dr. Leman's opinion on ADHD. I think he's correct.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book was a HUGE help!

    I was at my wits end with my 6 year old throwing temper tantrums. I had no idea what to do and I read this book. I knew that I was part of the problem and this book helped me to change my actions therefor changingy child's actions. It was very difficult to " say it once and walk away" but once I did that and them followed thru, my child realized there were no more 2,3,4,5 chances. This book really works if you follow thru with it! Some of this book I felt applied to older kids ( like the whole waking the child for school part) but I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Love this book and the stategies Dr. Leman teaches. It is hard

    Love this book and the stategies Dr. Leman teaches. It is hard a times, but no one said parenting was going to be easy. I have seen tremendous changes in my 4 year old son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2