Customer Reviews for

Haven (Bishop/Special Crimes Unit Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed the book but as in Hooper's seemly normal style

I really enjoyed the book but as in Hooper's seemly normal style, she left it open at the end. I am starting to get a little annoyed with that. Though the book did have a conclusion, there were so many questions still left unanswered. Look like we have to wait on the...
I really enjoyed the book but as in Hooper's seemly normal style, she left it open at the end. I am starting to get a little annoyed with that. Though the book did have a conclusion, there were so many questions still left unanswered. Look like we have to wait on the next book to find out those answers. I hate that!!!! It also seemed to be shorter than her other books which is hard to reconcile when you just paid $12.99 for the book!

posted by tbonesgirl on August 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I didn't like the ending and was greatly disappointed with the short 231 pages. In addition there wasn't enough substance, purpose or follow through with appearance of the two spirits, especially Jessie. The book had too many holes and wasn't the typical writing style ...
I didn't like the ending and was greatly disappointed with the short 231 pages. In addition there wasn't enough substance, purpose or follow through with appearance of the two spirits, especially Jessie. The book had too many holes and wasn't the typical writing style of Kay Hooper that I have come to expect. However, I will read book 14 and hope for the old Kay to write it.

posted by Anonymous on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Okay

    I didn't like the ending and was greatly disappointed with the short 231 pages. In addition there wasn't enough substance, purpose or follow through with appearance of the two spirits, especially Jessie. The book had too many holes and wasn't the typical writing style of Kay Hooper that I have come to expect. However, I will read book 14 and hope for the old Kay to write it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No

    As much as i enjoy read her books I refuse to pay almost $13 for a book that doesn't even have 500k. NO. I'm not cheap but that should at least warrent 8 or 900 pages!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    I really enjoyed the book but as in Hooper's seemly normal style

    I really enjoyed the book but as in Hooper's seemly normal style, she left it open at the end. I am starting to get a little annoyed with that. Though the book did have a conclusion, there were so many questions still left unanswered. Look like we have to wait on the next book to find out those answers. I hate that!!!! It also seemed to be shorter than her other books which is hard to reconcile when you just paid $12.99 for the book!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    Didn't care for this book at all. Usually really like the books

    Didn't care for this book at all. Usually really like the books in the Bishop series, but not this one. There were too many plot lines going, with too many characters thrown in willy nilly. I mean come on, Jessie and Emma's plot line, then Navarro, then Nellie and Victor, then the SCU unit, and finally the killer and his victims. I finally just got frustrated with the book and skipped to the end. Really glad I checked this one out from the library and didn't buy it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Very dissapointing. Characters were one dimensional; very little

    Very dissapointing. Characters were one dimensional; very little in the main characters traits made you care much about pulling for them. To make matters worse, she pulled in two favorite characters from past "Bishop" books, Demarco and Hollis, and then gave them little to nothing to do. Not recommended

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    "Haven" is a very formulaic book that has nothing new

    "Haven" is a very formulaic book that has nothing new to offer
    either in the very weak mystery itself or the uses of psychic powers to
    solve mysteries. Jessie Rayburn is a minor psychic who has returned
    home 15 years after running away from the town of Baron Hollow. She is
    trying to unlock the hazy memories of what terrible thing happened to
    her before she left. Naturally there is a serial killer involved, lots
    of blood and fear, and a few members of her investigators team known as
    "Haven" also show up. Her estranged sister, Emma, also has a
    place in the story. After many pages of repetitive and occassionally
    useless filler information, the book ultimately has Jessie ending up in
    serious trouble because of an absurd lack of judgement. It's the sort
    of situation where I would ordinarily be thinking, "Don't do
    it!", but by the time I got to that part, I really didn't care.
    The ending works out very predictably and I wasn't sorry when I was
    through. Surely Hooper can do better than this short book (231 pages)
    of "been there, done that" material. Maybe she has just run
    out of original thought and is rerunning old plots until she comes up
    with something new. Don't pay $13 for this retreaded Nook Book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    Not up to Hooper's usual standards. This was either a short stor

    Not up to Hooper's usual standards. This was either a short story or novella that was expanded too much, or a novel that failed to have its characters or plot fully developed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of

    There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of them. A great summer read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Kay

    Really liked this newest book to the Biship series. Iook foreward to kay Hooper,s next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Too expensive

    I, for one, will not buy another book by kay hooper for this amount of money. At the very least, when buying an e-book I should be able to see what I am getting for the money. Very upset with you!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Big disappointment

    What a waste of time! A serial killer is stalking women. In walks a trained professional and this author protrays her as reckles and just plain dumb. While telling the reader she is part of an elite team psychic investigators. I want my money back!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Hate it

    Omg i didnt even want this book it bought it eithout my possion

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Good

    Im not as impressed with how ths book was compaired to her others. Very short and not as indepth as she usually is. It seemed like she had to write something quick.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I am so disappointed in Kay Hooper. This book was not up to her

    I am so disappointed in Kay Hooper. This book was not up to her standards. Hope she isn't sick or has no family problems. I felt like she was either bored with the series or had something else on her mind while she wrote it. Maybe the pressure of a deadline that she wasn't able to meet. At any rate this is probably the worse book I've read that had been written by Kay Hooper.

    Shame on her and the publishing company for not only printing it but charging so much for such a flimsy book. Wonder if you can get your money back on a book you've read?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    LOVED IT!!! I LOVED this book!  It was a page turner from the b

    LOVED IT!!!

    I LOVED this book!  It was a page turner from the beginning.
    One of her best 'Bishop' books yet!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Dracora

    Hi! I assume everyone reading this has a Sylestia account so...just wondering- how do you get diamonds? I noticed that you have to have them to buy most things...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    EVEN BETTER THAN PREVIOUS BOOKS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Lilly

    Im lilly. I am a girl. I have a friend, i just need help getting through family troubles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Great read

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    Very good

    Great read keeps your interest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5