Customer Reviews for

Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book!

As a Martha with a desire to have a Mary heart, it convicted,
encouraged and caused me to BE STILL and focus on Jesus before
all else. Our world today is so focused on being a Martha and
I feel this book is so needed to keep this generation from going
down a wrong ...
As a Martha with a desire to have a Mary heart, it convicted,
encouraged and caused me to BE STILL and focus on Jesus before
all else. Our world today is so focused on being a Martha and
I feel this book is so needed to keep this generation from going
down a wrong path and becoming farther away from our true purpose
on this earth, to glorify GOD and live with Him forever.

posted by Candy_L on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Choose the Better Way

This book will change your life...if you are ready for it. Based on biblical lessons, the author gives practical and timely advice on how to re-focus your life and put Christ at the center. Though I wasn't convinced of this book when I first heard about it, after giving...
This book will change your life...if you are ready for it. Based on biblical lessons, the author gives practical and timely advice on how to re-focus your life and put Christ at the center. Though I wasn't convinced of this book when I first heard about it, after giving it a once over, I was hooked. Now that I'm applying the lessons to my own life, I'm thankful that I picked it up. Caution: Be ready to work. The relationship you will make better is the most important one in your life - but you have to be willing to work at it. Daily. Enjoy.

posted by Elle1of3 on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Loved this book!

    As a Martha with a desire to have a Mary heart, it convicted,
    encouraged and caused me to BE STILL and focus on Jesus before
    all else. Our world today is so focused on being a Martha and
    I feel this book is so needed to keep this generation from going
    down a wrong path and becoming farther away from our true purpose
    on this earth, to glorify GOD and live with Him forever.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Choose the Better Way

    This book will change your life...if you are ready for it. Based on biblical lessons, the author gives practical and timely advice on how to re-focus your life and put Christ at the center. Though I wasn't convinced of this book when I first heard about it, after giving it a once over, I was hooked. Now that I'm applying the lessons to my own life, I'm thankful that I picked it up. Caution: Be ready to work. The relationship you will make better is the most important one in your life - but you have to be willing to work at it. Daily. Enjoy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    A must read for Christian women

    I did not want to put this book down. A friend of mine and I spent New Year's Eve 2005 studying this book, and we had the best time. Joanna Weaver gives practical advice (with a sense of humor) on how to balance work and worship. I was baptized last November, and this book has been very helpful. She addresses some of the pitfalls that would be stumbling blocks to my progress as a Christian. I enjoyed the study guide because the questions were in-depth, but not so numerous that there was no time for reflection. The last chapter of most books tie up loose ends, but the last chapter touched me the most. The struggle for balance is a process that everyone is working on. What a relief and comfort.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    1st in the pair of my 2 favorite christian books for women

    joanna weaver does such a great job at making her points interesting, stories applicable, suggestions practical, and stays within scripture for an all-around fabulous book. the second, "having a mary spirit" goes even further and it is incredible. i want the words she writes to stay in the front of my head and heart everyday.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Contemplative

    Several ladies recommended this study to me over a short period of time, so I ventured the purchase and experience. If you are passionate for a makeover, of a holy nature, this one's for you, too! It propels one to continually ponder the delicate balance of servitude with relational intimacy with God within a world increasingly obsessed with individual monetary and/or societal success. The book is an easy read, yet positively thought provoking. It is very well suited for individual or group use utilizing the 12 chapters over the course of 12 weeks. Either way, it will strengthen your roots and ripen your fruit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    We're going to start a book study with it

    My friend loaned the book to me and I read it little by little at first. There's a lot to digest, if you really want to change your heart. It started to go faster the more I read, but I'm anxious to start reading it again. This time, as a book study at church.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Fabulous Find

    I have only started to read this book. The first three chapters to be exact and I don't want to put it down. As some may say 'I found this book by mistake' but in actuality I think God wanted me to find it so I could learn more about him and the relationship he desires to have with me. In fact it was just that day that I was confronted by a friend to stop trying to be Martha and learn to be more like Mary. The book speaks volumes in easy an easy to understand method and has you laughing while you are crying. I especially like the study guide at the back of the book. This is a fabulous find for any person and also would be a great book to introduce to your Bible study group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Running Yourself Nuts

    I too was frantic, resentful and down right guilty about not having time for anyone or anything else but what was right in front of my face. Having kids was a good choice but all of the activities, schedules, cleaning and house tasks and trying to be fair to everyone, was driving me nuts. My mom was a Martha and so am I. The busyness of life can be maddening. There is no time to sit and listen to what God has to say much less try to do what he wants us to do. Being a mom has great rewards but we need to slow down in order to hear our inner spirits. I love this book and also want to share another one which has touched my life as a Christian mom. It is Mommy-CEO, by Christian parenting/family expert and columnist, Jodie Lynn. Her book is similar to where she shows us how to get back on track with God, family and self. Finally - great books that make a difference.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2002

    Balancing Act

    Joanna Weaver knows the challenges today's woman faces in balancing a life of service and a life of spiritual depth. This book's Bible study format will help many women deal with priorities in their quest for a deeper walk with God. Joanna says the Marthas among us get sidetracked by distractions, discouragement and doubt. She's got it! I felt encouraged to keep on track--saying 'no' to frills and 'yes' to Jesus--after finishing her book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    A new way to understand your God

    I love this book so much. I wish there is part two. This book has changed my view of how God really is and my daily work with God. Must read for anyone who wants to know Him more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    Why Am I a Christian, agian?

    My spiritual life was getting completely clouded over by 'busy-ness'.I was working at the church, volunteering for commitees, singing in the choir, working in the nursery but I was feeling more and more frustrated instead of fulfilled. I was so active in the 'Kitchen' that I never took time to just sit in the 'Living room' and spend time with Jesus. After all, isn't that where I fell in Love with my Lord ? Joanna Weaver has been there and she shows us in her book how to use the experiences of the sisters Mary and Martha to illustrate what is really important to God...Us. It's not what we do for Him, but that we actually sit at his feet and refresh ourselves. And having done that, our service is so much more effective because we do out of Love and Appreciation, not Duty.Isn't it great the way God works?! I'm buying copies of this book for all my busy friends!~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Great study!!!! Perfect to do alone or with a small group.

    I've really enjoyed the study thus far. It makes you really think about the important things.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Gift Giving!

    Perfect Gift!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I wanted this book so badly when I heard about it but once I started to read it, it kept putting me to sleep. I usually finish all the books I read but this one I got halfway through and I just didn't have any interest in reading it anymore.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    In search of God

    This is a good book to read for those of us who are searching to find the meaning of love in our daily lives.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3