Customer Reviews for

Havoc

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Good stuff

    I like Clive Cussler and started reading these as a follow on to their collaboration

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Wonderful

    I read rhis book as a younger girl, but never got to finish. Im so glad i found it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    This was great!

    I couldn't stop reading. My husband read it before me and loved it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Don't bother!

    If your looking for a good action novel, don't look here. The plot of this book is thin, and it jumps from one unlikely action scene to the next. There is very little plot or character development. Also the main focus for the book is a terrorists use of a nuclear device, and the author doesn't even get the basics of nuclear radiation correct.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    Tried this book to see how well Jack did on his own after reading the oregon files. Needless to say I was very Impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The plot may be implausible, but it sure is fun

    In 1937 Chester Bowie makes a startling discovery about how Alexander the Great conquered the world. He realizes the emperor had a weapon of mass destruction millennia before anyone heard of nuclear energy. However, on his trip from Europe to the United States to further his work, Chester dies on that fatal Hindenburg disaster, but he leaves clues about his discovery.---------------------- In the present in the midst of the civil war that has caused death and destruction to the Central African Republic, Geologist Philip Mercer mourns the death of his girl friend. That is until he finds marooned CDC researcher nuclear energy expert Cali Stowe stranded in the middle of nowhere. She was on her way to the remote village of Kivu where apparently some unknown cause is deforming and killing newborns. He takes her to the village where she begins testing, but guerillas arrive and take the pair prisoners. However, warriors come out of nowhere to kill the guerillas, but European mercenary Poli escapes. As the couple flees to DC to follow clues left by Bowie, Poli comes after them.------------------------ The plot may be implausible, but it sure is fun as the action never slows down whether it is 1937 or the present or in Africa or the United States. Philip (see HARON'S LANDING) seems a bit shallow as he goes in a nanosecond from grief to desire, but no one will care as the adventures and escapes never stop. Thriller fans will enjoy Jack DuBrul¿s HAVOC.--------------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Mercer Novel or Another Dirk Pitt Adventure

    It has been so long since the last Jack DuBrul Philip Mercer adventure that I could not help but enjoy this somewhat shallow Novel. This is definitely not one of DuBrul's best works I would say it was average. Havoc lacked the depth of characters presented in his earlier novels. I just could not get inside the heads of the characters. I wanted to know more about Cali and Poli, what made them tick, what in their background made them who they are. I desired to know more of what Mercer was thinking, what was his logic, why he was doing what he was doing. I was drawing some of my own conclusions based on my familiarity of the character from previous novels. This novel was too much like a Dirk Pitt adventure story. No real depth to the characters, just action adventure. This why I never became a Clive Cussler Dirk Pitt fan, they were just too shallow. I was enjoying the Jack DuBrul Philip Mercer series because there was meat to the characters it required me to be involved with the characters and the adventure, not simply being entertained. Show me that Mercer is truly a PhD and worthy of a Presidential appointed position! I also missed Jack¿s mental and physical chemistry descriptions. I could not get that deep mental picture of the interaction between Mercer and his leading lady. The descriptive mental and physical chemistry has been tone way down. She¿s there they kiss, so what! If you enjoy non stop action adventure and have no desire for depth of characters you will enjoy this novel. Personally, I can¿t wait for the next Jack DuBrul in depth Philip Mercer adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    If You Know Geology IT is Possible

    His best book yet. Ilove the drift in the path of Dirk Pitt.Mercer Harry and Book Out Do them selves.I love geology and Spend What little Free time i have rock hunting in SC and NC..Jack Keep Up the good work..I must Say After Spending Time in special operations it is nice to see an author who writes a piece that is action packed but shows the Human side of those tasked with our Defence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2