Customer Reviews for

Hawaii

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Great Historical Fiction....Lilly Parks

I read this about three years ago, and I still enjoy reading it again whenever the urge strikes me. The book fairly accurately tells the story of Hawaii. The more you read the more you can learn about the people, history, and religion of these wonderful islands. The boo...
I read this about three years ago, and I still enjoy reading it again whenever the urge strikes me. The book fairly accurately tells the story of Hawaii. The more you read the more you can learn about the people, history, and religion of these wonderful islands. The book does not portray Hawaii as a sunny vacation spot for rich americans, it's shown in it's true beautiful form. It starts when the Polynesians came to Hawaii, next other settlers came to Hawaii, and on to almost the present day.

It's just a great historical novel. Highly recommend.

posted by LillyParksONBooks on January 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Classic .... not so much

I know this is a classic by an incredible author and that's the reason I decided to read this, but I was bored from page 1 to the end. I think it's because the first stories that took the first 200 pages were almost Greek mythology type stories, which is not my thing an...
I know this is a classic by an incredible author and that's the reason I decided to read this, but I was bored from page 1 to the end. I think it's because the first stories that took the first 200 pages were almost Greek mythology type stories, which is not my thing and I could never get back into it.

posted by 17981167 on December 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Historical Fiction....Lilly Parks

    I read this about three years ago, and I still enjoy reading it again whenever the urge strikes me. The book fairly accurately tells the story of Hawaii. The more you read the more you can learn about the people, history, and religion of these wonderful islands. The book does not portray Hawaii as a sunny vacation spot for rich americans, it's shown in it's true beautiful form. It starts when the Polynesians came to Hawaii, next other settlers came to Hawaii, and on to almost the present day.

    It's just a great historical novel. Highly recommend.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    The ultimate family saga

    This, as far I'm concerned, is the ultimate 'family saga' novel. Some call it Michener's master work, and I wholeheartedly agree with that assessment. HAWAII follows an organizational pattern familiar to readers of Michener's other huge historical novels. First he tells the geological and prehistoric story of the region that provides the book's setting. Next, he introduces characters from early in that region's history - characters whose descendants people the book's subsequent sections, joined by a new group of immigrants as each of the tale's installments unfolds. The Polynesians - the New England missionaries, whalers, and merchants - the Chinese - and finally, the Japanese, arrive in different eras and under different circumstances. Each of these groups finds its own place, or rather creates its own place, in a society that's both challenged and enriched by Hawaii's ever-increasing racial and cultural diversity. Genealogy ties this vast story's threads together, yet each of its major characters exists as a memorable individual in his or her own right. The author never allows his book's colorful setting, or the exciting backdrop of world events against which local happenings play out, to upstage those characters - nor does he let them blur into each other, which could easily happen with this many for both author and reader to keep straight. But what reader could possibly forget the great Alii Nui Malama, no matter how many descendants of the original Malama wind up sharing her name? Who could forget missionary wife Jerusha Bromley Hale, or the Chinese concubine whose true name her hundreds of descendants never know? HAWAII heads the short list of books that I can read over and over, and always find fresh. A master work, indeed!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Inspired a move to Hawaii

    Never has a novel had more of an impact on my life. I've read Hawaii 3 times. Once, when I was a child and could barely understand it. The second time I was a highschool senior and at a crossroad in my life. Finally, I read it for the third time after I just gave in and moved to Maui. Every chapter to me is fasinating! Unlike most people, I loved the first chapter. I loved the long and painful geological development of these islands. It took millions of years for the Hawaii we know and love to look and feel the way it does today. Michener captures this struggle beautifully. I think this chapter sets the stage perfectly for the rest of this epic tale. I believe this is a must read for anybody who wants to know Hawaii. I especially recommend it for anybody who might be considering a move to the islands. This is historical story telling at its finest!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    A History Book and More!

    This book is fabulous. It is the history of the Hawaiian Islands in a novel form; the narrative parallels 'real' history so closely that sometimes the only differences are the names Mr. Michener substitutes for real-life characters. I've read 'straight' histories such as Hawaii Pono, which turned out to be the same information in a much less enjoyable style. Unless you need all the historical nitty-gritty, read this one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    I Want to Know More

    I live in Hawaii, and reading this book has given me a new prospective from which to view these beautiful islands. I have found myself wanting to know more about the people, the real people who built these islands. This book has piqued my historical curiosity!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2001

    Wonderful

    This is a wonderful novel. Although the first chapter felt like it dragged on and on, the next 1000 pages flew by. While the novel is supposed to be ficticious, Michener has obviously done a lot of research. Many of the stories parallel with Hawaii's actual history. This novel is so good that you will find yourself reading into all hours of the night.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Awesome

    The only person that gives so much true history woven with fiction that becomes a work of art being, "I can't put this down", book. Read it the first time when my children were small 45 years ago & began my love affair with James A. When you look for info in World Books at the time, as other sources, please consult, "Hawaii" by James A. Michener. That makes you sure that info was some of the best history lesson to be learned. Fantastic!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Classic .... not so much

    I know this is a classic by an incredible author and that's the reason I decided to read this, but I was bored from page 1 to the end. I think it's because the first stories that took the first 200 pages were almost Greek mythology type stories, which is not my thing and I could never get back into it.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    A wonderfully written book

    I too read the book many years earlier than again a few years back. I am ready again but would love to be able to have it on my Nook. If anyone else out there would like to have it for their Nook, please send notice to publisher through B&N. Thanks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    A Captivating Novel!

    This novel is one of the best I have ever read. I didn't think it would appeal to me, but the wonder of the islands described beautifully got me hooked to the story. Michener sets us with the making of the islands, followed by the narration of the early Polynesian islanders. Then fast forward to the 1800's, and he introduces the religious history and the missionaries. He blends in cultures of Chinese, Japanese, Caucasian, and Hawaiian very well, and gives us a well developed character for each ethnicity to follow. I look forward to reading Michener's other novels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Hawaii

    I did not know these things about Hawaii. How interesting to see the origins and the various people to have developed the culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I have read Hawaii twice as a hard cover book. Now, it's more comfortable for my arthritic hands to read it as an e-book. I love the history that Michener adds to his stories. A nice break from stories that have very little substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Striker

    He shakes his head. "They're not a threat. Let's go." He pads out. (Nahh. I'm not ready for a mate.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    LightRoyal

    Looks at 'Kenny.' "Hmpf. I'll try." Pads out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Sandleaf of Fearclan

    Do you hate Bloodclan? If so come to a meeting at sand leaf result. They plan on take in prisoners and turn them into their members so they grow more powerful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    StingBlossom

    [ Mountain lions. ]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Dolphinheart

    Well, thats it. Alphaclan needs to be done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Sandstar

    Mountain lions near a beach. Im impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Thirty years ago I read this book on the 102 Monkland bus as I t

    Thirty years ago I read this book on the 102 Monkland bus as I travelled to my Montreal waitressing job every day. I was transported not only to work but to Hawaii. I learned about the incredible ingenuity and bravery of sea-farers as they sought home, happiness and future. A riveting read all through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Michener is FANTASTIC! Whoever transcribed HAWAII for Nook is n

    Michener is FANTASTIC! Whoever transcribed HAWAII for Nook is not. I can't believe the number of typos! Random House should pay people to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4