Customer Reviews for

The Hawk and the Dove

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    very entertaining story. historical romance with some sexy scene

    very entertaining story. historical romance with some sexy scenes. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Great fun, read!!! You'll really get into it!!!

    I really enjoyed this fast paced book!! The crazy times at "The Queen's Court" are quite comical! Virginia Henley writes so well, that you can visualize the scenery so well, as if you are there. Oh, and the romance is beautiful & full of feeling!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    I read Virginia Henleys books like its my job and I work twentyfour seven LOL

    Simply put she is the best!! She takes her books to a place where most romance authors wouldnt dream of going, her writing is never anything less than daring! She takes you in directions you dont always want to go, but that makes it all the more real. In the end I'm always so absorbed in the story that I find I cant jump into a new one right away. Rarely do I reread books, but Henley has set a new standard and Ive revisited many of her books and each time it feels like I'm getting reacquainted with an old friend...
    This isnt my favorite work by her, but I place it on the same shelf next to her others! I read this book in one day and enjoyed every bit. The men in her books are raw and passionate and befit the time period they live!
    RayRay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Bad

    She is raped

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Love it~~

    I will read anything from Virginia Henley!!! This was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Love it, love it, love it

    The whole story floats so well together.Every monent there's something going on... I loved the two main characters, they're so well put together. I wish there was a story on the brother, because he needs to redeem himself. Shane and Sabre compliment each other very well. This book has become one of my top favorite of all historical book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2006

    Loved this book

    This has nothing to do with this book, but has anyone read a book where the heroine is married very young and is potrayed to be ugly. she grows up to be this great beauty and goes in search of the husband that abounded her in other to obtain a divorce, only to be kidnapped right off her ship by none other than her husband.The only thing is neither one recognizes the other.They adventure then begins. I read this book years ago, but can not remember the name or the writer.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2003

    Good Romance

    I am mainly writing this in response to Abbys. I thought this was a good book. I got it when it first came out, and though I am older and haven't read it recently, I still think its good. It was written back in 1988, when the romance industry wasn't so concerned/interested with sensitive guys so it makes sense that Shane doesn't ask Sabre any questions. Also you have to remember that Sabre is his mistress and so he's trying to treat her like that. Part of it is not getting too attached which finding out all about her could do. He is also supposed to give her pretty much what she wants unless he wants to end the thing. That is also her plan at the beginning, to get as much out of him as she can since he actually treated her (as Sara) badly just for a piece of land. What I didn't like too much was the whole Irish subplot where both Shane and his brother were sons of the Tyrone, the O'Neill, and the bad portrayal of Elizabeth, though Henley does say that she wrote it from the perspective of My Enemy, the Queen, which takes the viewpoint of Lettyce Knollys who married Leicester the Queen's favorite(she's in this book too). And as for the Spanish thing, how about brushing up on the Spanish Armada in 1588? That's one thing about these older historical romances, you can learn something about the time they are set in, (though obviously, some people need to find out about the time before reading). I also have to say that her later romances aren't as good. But I live in hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    First one ever

    This was the first romance novel I have ever read and it has been my favorite one for years now i cant find one to top it. All of my Friends have read it and loved it too. I highly suggest you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    Passion and Romance at it's Highest

    This is my first romance book and I too fell in love with it! The style and passion that Ms Henley writes with is INCREDIBLE! I felt like I was truly apart of the story. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves reading period romance novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2