Customer Reviews for

Hawke (Alex Hawke Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This Book has it all

Mystery, romance, and great characters, all told my a master storyteller. I loved this book and can't wait for Ted Bell to write another. It really keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole way through.

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

Wow, this book was bad. We're supposed to believe that Alex Hawke has been traveling the world performing feats of daring do, is a military pilot and has trained with the British SBS (The British version of the US Navy SEALs). With all of this experience he doesn't know...
Wow, this book was bad. We're supposed to believe that Alex Hawke has been traveling the world performing feats of daring do, is a military pilot and has trained with the British SBS (The British version of the US Navy SEALs). With all of this experience he doesn't know what a HAHO jump is, doesn't know what HUMINT is or know what a SAT phone looks like. And Mr. Bell, it's CINCLANTFLT not CINCANTFLT. I finished the book but I couldn't wait to get it over with.

posted by NomDePlumeIL on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    This Book has it all

    Mystery, romance, and great characters, all told my a master storyteller. I loved this book and can't wait for Ted Bell to write another. It really keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole way through.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    Non-stop action and adventure

    I read 2-3 books a week and I just discovered Ted Bell. The writing is ingenious and the fast paced action keeps you turning the pages. Recommend you read his books in chronological order, since many of the same characters appear in each book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    Flawed, but fun.

    A lot like Clive Cussler only slightly more believable. A lot of fun to read but it reaches too far beyond believability to make it a truly great read. The pacing is good and the story keeps you involved despite its lack of believability. When shopping for books I tend toward the thicker novels, which is what drew me to this one originally. I did some quick research on the author and the series and settled on this one since it is the first in the Alex Hawke series. The references to the fact that Alex is a direct descendant of the pirate Blackhawke become rather tedious, but it's a good action book nevertheless.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    Loved it!

    This book had everything. And I thought Johnny Depp was a great pirate! I'm hooked.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    CUBA AFTER CASTRO???

    This book was ahead of its time. It's all about what might happen in Cuba if Fidel was out of the picture. The answer is scary. And so is the book. Wow. Highly recommended!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible

    Wow, this book was bad. We're supposed to believe that Alex Hawke has been traveling the world performing feats of daring do, is a military pilot and has trained with the British SBS (The British version of the US Navy SEALs). With all of this experience he doesn't know what a HAHO jump is, doesn't know what HUMINT is or know what a SAT phone looks like. And Mr. Bell, it's CINCLANTFLT not CINCANTFLT. I finished the book but I couldn't wait to get it over with.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    'Certainly shivered my timbers!!'

    For somebody who gulps down a ton of thrillers, which I definitely do, it was a thrill to find a new one. Alex Hawke could be the next James Bond in my book! Just great fun and deeply absorbing too. Like a pirate book for grown-ups. Keep 'em coming!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    ENORMOUSLY SASTIFYING READ!

    I was beginning to think this whole genre was getting bloated and formula-ridden but this thing kept me riveted and deeply absorbed. It's a new voice and well worth buying. I'd give it six stars just for standing the thriller category on its tin ear!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action adventure thriller

    Seven-year-old Alex Hawke is with his parents on their yacht when his father suddenly takes him into a secret room and tells him to hide. The pirate brothers, (Manso, Juanito, and Carlos) demand the treasure map that the pirate Blackhawke made before his hanging three centuries ago. They claim that BlackHawke stole the gold from their ancestor. They torture, rape and kill the Hawkes but fail to obtain the map, which is with Alex in the secret room. Alex blocks out the tragedy and much of the first seven years of his life. He becomes a powerful and wealthy adult who does intelligence work for the British and the American governments. The de Herrera siblings become a force in the Cuban government having access to millions of dollars. They buy a stealth submarine from the Russians that is virtually undetectable and carries forty nuclear warheads. The trio obtains a biological weapon that they sneak into Guantanemo Bay, which they intend to use if the Americans don¿t vacate the base and lift the embargo. The Americans use intelligence gathered by Alex to make war plans but it is his destiny to have the final showdown with the men who killed his parents. Move over James Bond, Lord Alex Hawke is on the scene and he is more realistic, believable and personable than Ian Fleming¿s character ever was. This is an action adventure thriller with the emphasis on action. There is no chance readers will ever feel ennui reading Hawke, a twenty first century pirate novel that takes place on the high seas and in a Cuba where Castro¿s control is waning. Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Bdbmybgnshdjjdjfjjrjjiiiirii

    Bnvnnjjbb xbdnzjhbbvsv bwnns

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    If you like a good action book that is a series where you can follow the charactors from novel to novel, this is one to read. Ted Bell was recommended to me as an author. Since reading this first book, "Hawke", I am now into book 5. I like how the author brings out the humanity in his charactors and how he combines some present day and historical facts into his writing. I'm Hooked.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    Bloody Good!

    Great fun in the english spy tradition, Hawke was transporting and a delight. Most appreciated were a flawed hero and a believable love interest. A coup by Cuban generalissimos was credible and timely...Alex Hawke is a modern day Captain Blood and heralds (one hopes) the beginning of a long and exciting saga. Definitely recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    'This thriller kills!'

    Just kept me up all night long and thrilled, not just with the story but the idea that here is a new guy on the scene who hopefully will be around for a long time to come! The whole idea of a coup in Cuba and that it rapidly gets a whole lot worse in a post-Castro world is plausible and there is plenty of detail to make it credible too. A new hero to root for, finally, by a killer storyteller!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2003

    'Hop in the back, Mr. Bond!'

    Whoa. Whoever said Alex Hawke is the new James Bond got that right! This thriller made my summer! Hawke goes to the Caribbean with an unforgettable cast of characters and confronts a villain to die for. Slam-bang action from the get- go. When's the movie coming out? Think Johnny Depp the pirate in a Savile Row suit. Hey, JD, call your agent!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    AN ACTION PACKED READING

    Actor/voice performer John Shea has said, 'When I read a role, I try to find something I can bring to the role and something that the role can bring to me. Something that I don't know anything about and that the character can teach me.' Such in depth study and exploration of a character is obvious in his commanding reading of Ted Bell's debut action/adventure 'Hawke.' Directly descended from the notorious English pirate Blackhawke, Lord Alexander Hawke knows a lot about seafaring, and a bit about skullduggery himself. As a child he witnessed a horrific scene - the brutal murder of his parents aboard their yacht. Hidden in a compartment the boy was privy to the brutality of the crime and the identity of the killers. As an adult and one of the most decorated heroes in England, Hawke returns to the Caribbean waters where his parents were slain. He's on a secret mission for the U.S. government - find a Soviet built experimental sub carrying 40 nuclear warheads before there is mass destruction. Is there any connection between the criminals controlling the sub and the murderers of Blackhawke's parents? Those with a taste for seagoing adventure and international intrigue will find 'Hawke' much to their liking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Most of these positive reviews are by kids playing games

    I was excited to see all the positive reviews for this book. I thought here is a winner. I do not read the reviews anymore until after I have finished the novel. There are too many plot spoilers. In this case the 4 and 5 star reviews were mostly kids playing games. I had a really hard getting into this pirate's map murder, adventure story. It reminded me a lot of the formula used for Batman and other super heros. Boy watches rich parents get killed, looses memory, is raised in luxury and hunts bad guys as an adult. For the goverment. The pirate angle was a bonus. I think this is more a rooster lit book, my husband and son really enjoyed it. It was like slogging through waist deep mud for me for about the first one hundred pages, then it got better. The ending was pretty good. It is well edited. This book is part of series, but is a stand alone novel. There is a lot of Indiana Jones type adventure and James Bond ladies and gadgets thrown in. Definetly, not the worst book I have ever read, just not my genre. For readers 18 and up.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Came upon this author by accident and I received quite a pleasan

    Came upon this author by accident and I received quite a pleasant surprise. I loved this book and can't wait to get to reading the rest of the Alex Hawke series. What a great character and what a wonderful story. Loved it! And look forward to reading more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Best read in some time

    Makes me want to go back and read all the Alex Hawke series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Simply awful!

    Oh Ted Bell. You were able to do something quite impressive. I hated every inch of this book yet kept on reading. So, that's something. Bell's work here reads like a preteen boy's vision of a superhero in the real world. A completely unbelievable character with no place in reality. It was like "The Most Interesting Man In The World" without out the intended humor. No surprises in the plot. No mystery. Just generic action. It was like a B-movie but worse. Just not something I can believe an adult would think is interesting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Yellow eyes

    Peer from a tree.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10