Customer Reviews for

Hawke (Alex Hawke Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This Book has it all

Mystery, romance, and great characters, all told my a master storyteller. I loved this book and can't wait for Ted Bell to write another. It really keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole way through.

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

Wow, this book was bad. We're supposed to believe that Alex Hawke has been traveling the world performing feats of daring do, is a military pilot and has trained with the British SBS (The British version of the US Navy SEALs). With all of this experience he doesn't know...
Wow, this book was bad. We're supposed to believe that Alex Hawke has been traveling the world performing feats of daring do, is a military pilot and has trained with the British SBS (The British version of the US Navy SEALs). With all of this experience he doesn't know what a HAHO jump is, doesn't know what HUMINT is or know what a SAT phone looks like. And Mr. Bell, it's CINCLANTFLT not CINCANTFLT. I finished the book but I couldn't wait to get it over with.

posted by NomDePlumeIL on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Most of these positive reviews are by kids playing games

    I was excited to see all the positive reviews for this book. I thought here is a winner. I do not read the reviews anymore until after I have finished the novel. There are too many plot spoilers. In this case the 4 and 5 star reviews were mostly kids playing games. I had a really hard getting into this pirate's map murder, adventure story. It reminded me a lot of the formula used for Batman and other super heros. Boy watches rich parents get killed, looses memory, is raised in luxury and hunts bad guys as an adult. For the goverment. The pirate angle was a bonus. I think this is more a rooster lit book, my husband and son really enjoyed it. It was like slogging through waist deep mud for me for about the first one hundred pages, then it got better. The ending was pretty good. It is well edited. This book is part of series, but is a stand alone novel. There is a lot of Indiana Jones type adventure and James Bond ladies and gadgets thrown in. Definetly, not the worst book I have ever read, just not my genre. For readers 18 and up.

    AD

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Average writing, but very likable character

    Ted Bell is an average writer. He is better than some, but nowhere near my top 5 or 10. However, I have read every book in this series and will eagerly purchase the next release. The character of Alex Hawke is very likable and I find myself wanting to know in which direction his life will turn next. His companions are all genuinely likable as well, save a few. The main problem with Bell's writings is that he follows very stereotypical guidelines when creating dialog between the characters. Stokely Jones speaks very "ghetto" despite being very intelligent and having been a Navy Seal and NYPD Detective. Hawke's closest companion Congreve is also pigeonholed as a "pip pip cheerio" Brit. I also find that bell sometimes includes information that has no relevance what so ever on the plot, setting the scene, or establishing mood. That being said, Bell is not a bad writer per se, and you too will find yourself rooting for Hawke.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    Hawke is fast moving and predictable.

    I enjoyed this book, I really did. I knew I was buying a spy novel in the flavor of a James Bond episode -- cardboard characters and pedestrian level martial arts and other action sequences. And I was not disappointed. I'll review Assassin too, once I get it from the library... This is a cheap thriller that didn't deliver as much as other cheap thrillers. But as a first effort, not bad, though you could predict each event before it happened. A wee technical boo-boo: the fluffy white teddy bear would not sink instantly but would float, so the exploding canister would release agents into the air after all. However, if the bear was loaded with the bomb and it was very heavy (1 lb or more), the child would notice; in fact anyone would notice. And also modern stuffed toys are filled with electronics boxes, and any child with even a 1/10 IQ would have given the bear a good squeeze and discovered a hard object in it, and go and tell daddy/mommy and it would have been discovered way before having to rely on any tense countdown. The toy and child's reaction were way too old fashioned, more of a forties or fifties type kid, not a 2003 child, nor even a 1980s kid.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Snowclaw

    Hi hawk

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    This book isn't at all realistic but it manages to be fun.  If y

    This book isn't at all realistic but it manages to be fun.  If you know anything about the Carribean, the military or military ops, marine science, medicine or.....well a whole slew of other topics you will find holes in the technical details.  Enjoy it as a quick read and move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    PROBABLY GOOD FOR TEENAGE BOYS

    Interesting premise, looked forward to reading after reading the reviews. But came away feeling cheated. For an charactor who is supposed to be very intelligent and highly trained, I found the dialog very immature. More like teenagers talking than grown adults. Harry Potter books, which are written for teenagers, has more to offer for adults than this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2