Customer Reviews for

Hawks Mountain

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Strong Sense of Community and Family

    One thing I've always admired about Elizabeth Sinclair's work is her voice. It has this rhythm that lulls you into place and holds you there. I so enjoyed Hawk's Mountain. I think the grandmother, Jo, is my favorite character--she has moxy and a such a strong presence and impact on the other characters, even when she's not on the page. Just loved her. And I love the mountain taking on such strong traits that it becomes a character in the story. If you like stories with a sense of community and atmosphere, this one shouldn't be missed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Plot solid, romance charming

    We begin our tale on top of Hawk's Mountain located in Carson, West Virginia, with one of the most interesting and humorous characters in print today. Josephine Walker Hawks, otherwise known as Granny Jo, has lived on Hawk's Mountain for a good long while now. Although her beloved husband, Earl, has already ventured into Heaven; and she lost her son Jake and his wife in a car accident, Granny Jo spent her time raising her son's daughter, Rebecca. When Becky grew up, she headed for the big city of Atlanta, where she was going to fulfill her destiny by working for the Department of Human Services. There is one other person up on Hawk's Mountain - a man by the name of Nicolas Hart. Nick is a new addition to this small town and, like any new thing in a small town, is talked about by all the local gossips who wonder where he came from and why the man hardly ever comes down off the mountain. Nick doesn't socialize. In fact, he feels that he should keep far away from people in order to not mess up their lives. Becky comes home to the quaint world full of tree-lined streets, church socials, and her beloved Grandmother, slightly different and more angry than when she left. Becky didn't expect her chosen career to be so difficult. She is dealing with the demons of not being able to do the things she truly wanted to do. As she walks the familiar trails of Hawk's Mountain, Becky notices a strange man on her Granny Jo's property and lashes out at him, telling him he's most definitely trespassing. It's not until Becky steps inside Granny Jo's house that she realizes this man bought some property from Granny Jo when she had to sell a bit in order to pay the taxes. Hence, the man was no trespasser. Becky has her demons, whereas Nicholas Hart is certainly battling his own. This ex-Navy Corpsman is still suffering from the bullet-riddled, bombed out streets of Baghdad, and has a great deal of guilt weighing down his shoulders. But once these two "scarred" people find each other.their lives quickly begin to change. The descriptive phrases that this author offers are absolutely lovely. Readers will feel like they're free, walking though the beautiful forests of Hawk's Mountain, and breathing in the cleanest, freshest, most peaceful air on earth. The plot is solid and the romance is charming. Quill Says: After reading, you'll want nothing more than to sit down and have a cup of coffee with the tremendously entertaining Granny Jo.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Love it

    Nick and beckys story is so heart felt and touching. I really enjoyed this book. Loved granny jo lol

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Nikk Wolf

    First of all id like to say. IM AN ORIGINAL! DONT DIS THIS! Anyway to mah bio. ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
    Name ish- Nikk Wolf (if you dident know your stupid) ||||||||||||||||||||||
    Dating- Miles. (In rp). No one (in rl). ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    Married to- Seth (formorly...he....dissapeared.....) ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    Age- 13 (B-day is nov.) ((Creepers nu reading!))||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    Friends- lets start with the friends that had....left rp...~ Seth, Jag(Dero), Dusk, Thorn(mia), Pixxie, Coral, Shadow(finn.). Now mah friends tat are here~ Miles(luv u miless), Sparrow(sparry), Fang(i think..), Stofrrrmeh(dunno), Sam(sorta), Gale, Batu, Logan, I CONSIDER EVERYONE A FRIEND BUT SOME PEOPLE.||||||||||||
    Species- Human. (Has a wolf form- Red wolf with Brown eyes)||
    Description- Auburn red hair, Tanish (not really) skin. Brown eyes, Is about 5"4, Likes to wear A dark green hoodie in spring with blue jeans and sneakers. In summer wears A peace sign Tee-Shirt With blue shorts and sandals.|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    Weponry- Sporife- A spoon fork and knife...put together. Invented by meh ^~^. •••• Bow and arrows.•••• Throwing knives and daggers. ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    Fav songs- Mirrors- justin timberlake•••• Gold- Britt nicole•••• Love you like a love song- Selena gomez•••• As long as you love me- Justin bieber :p.|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    DER STALKERS! Now that you know meh. ^_^ please press that beautifull X button.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Sunfeather

    Name sunfeather gender female good or evil good color of pelt golden color of eyes blue mate none kits none yet life story had a mate that killed sister and brother mom and dad tried to kill her but she barely escaped

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Meet halotuft in res 7

    Graystripe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    TO ALL PLZ HELP

    We r dieing, and need members, plz help! D'x. Go to shadow city result one! ~Honorblaze

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Kit

    "Ick... i perfer the rp at uni result four."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    To eagle clan

    Plz send all apprentices to training result 1 for a chance to learn how to use water combat moves. Also how to use battle tatics.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Goldenkit

    A tiny golden pelted kit hobbles in. "I am six moons old. I hurt my leg when Timeclan attacked me and my brother who they killed. Can you help me?" The kut collapses on the ground, exhausted.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Frostpaw

    The qhite apprentice trotted in. "May i join." She asked.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Flamekit and Pup

    Move to another clan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Destructo

    Flies in and crashes into rock.
    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Talonstar

    Yawns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Delightful book!

    This is a charming romance. Nick and Becky have gone to Hawks Mountain for healing. From their first meeting you know that they are going to fall in love but that doesn't make it any less enjoyable to read. Ms. Sinclair writes beautiful description of Hawks Mountain and her characters are so likeable, especially Granny Jo. I'm looking forward to returning to Hawks Mountain in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Blazekit

    Keeps walking the temp is reaching dangerously low but blazekit keeps going then stops*we have further to go and its getting so cold i can die lets keep moving

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Smugekit

    follows him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Briana Williamson (bio)

    (Im just useing the order Sam made...i dont want to make my own order and stuff...) full name: Briana Blue Williamson. (Dont ask) age: twelve irl and irp. Description: unnormally fair (more delicate hands, bigger eyes, ect......bc of species) golden-blond hair, shoulder length. Tall. Skinny. Pointy ears. Eye color: blue. Dots of green. Species: Dragon Rider, elf. Dragon: Fracia. Silver scales. Wide shoulders, long neck. Status: possibly getting married. Friends: Sam, Leah, Cali, Emma, Ink, Roan, September,Crystal, Toby, Arielle, Kat, Arianna, Lena, Beth, Lacy, Greece, Claire, and many more. Powers: can do magic. Runs faster than humans, has more agility. Personality: cracks jokes alot, gets really angry when tried and/or tested. Rp family: Roan, Leah, Ink, September, Crystal, Keive. Favorite books: Inheritance Cycle (series) , Mysterious Benedict Society (series) , Farwalker Series (series....duh). Favorite band: Tobymac, Tenth Avenue North, Maroon 5. Hobbies: reading (duh) , hanging out with sam, annoying members of her family, singing. Weapons: bow and arrow, dagger, long sword. Other: is in play called "oklahoma!" plays Atoe-Annie. (Play for all ages) TAHDAH!!! (I hope i didnt bore u to death...!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Courtney things I forgot xD

    SAMMIE, SAM, AND ICESTORM ARE FRIENDS OKAAAAY?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2