Customer Reviews for

Hawthorne

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hawthorne

    "Hawthorne" by Sarah Ballance was a good short story that draws you in from the very first read to the end. It is a very quick read so get ready! Ms. Ballance writing is very amazing and being so powerful it will move you to tears. The story has some paranormal romance and mystery that has a lots of unexpected twists that will surprise you with a great ending. The characters will be remembered long after you have finished her readings ....simply amazing.... Emma Grace Hawthorne, Noah Garrett, Margaret Gray Hawthorne,Doyle, Randy Franklin, Abigail, Henry, Gil, Wade, and Alma. I found the plot of the story,the characters, the setting description and the the mystery were simply wonderful. I will say the ending was not saw coming! Wow! I would definitely recommend "Hawthorne" as a excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Loved it!

    This novella held a little of everything for me. It brushed on romance,(which I love), kept me in suspense and had me wanting to read more from the very first page. I'm not a huge fan of scary movies or books, cause I can't sleep at night. But this was light and though an eerie feeling crept over me while I read, I simply couldn't put it down. That says a lot for me. Through the descriptions I was able to sympathize with characters emotions, and could picture the scenes unfold before me. I was right there. A book well done in MHO. I will be purchasing another book from Sarah Ballance.
    Neecy Kelly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Highest Recommendation

    Sarah Ballance has a way with words. This story was incredible and from the first sentence I was hooked. Not only was the story descriptive, well thought out and detailed, but her characters were so real I felt I wasn't just reading, but right there with them living every scene.

    This was an amazing read and I couldn't step away until I'd finished the story to find out what happened to Noah and Emma Grace at Hawthorne manor. I loved the intrigue, romance, setting, characters, descriptions, mystery...I loved it all!

    Well done Sarah Ballance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!!

    I really loved this story one because it's set in Louisiana and two because it deals with an old, haunted southern manor. Once again, Sarah Ballance delivers a beautiful story and the writing, of course is superb! The ending caught me by off guard I have to admit, in a good way. I was so drawn into the story and the descriptions that I was genuinely surprised by the ending. I found myself re-reading parts of the story for hints or clues. Overall, this was a fantastic novella! I highly recommend reading this story, a great one for Halloween! If nothing else you have the opportunity to donate to a great cause which is the Japan relief. In turn you will be helping Tsunami victims with your donation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A ghostly story - unpredictable by any means ! Ending will have you in awe !

    Well the cover certainly depicks whats inside once you have read it !! ** Cover love **

    Once again Sarah does not dissapoint !! A wonderful written story that will draw you in from page one and leave you speechless at the very end. !!!! ** adds in daannannaaaaaannnn **

    Emma Grace has returned home to Hawthorne Manor to say goodbye. She has found her first love - unbelievable family secerts and a mistake in which she alone could right.

    Not only does she find her freedom and is able to move on in life, she also gets to say one last goodbye.

    ** My thoughts **

    Oh my !!

    Sarah has created a story that will leave you heart broken, teary eyed, gob smacked and captivated by the twists and turns that become about.

    An ENDING - that is certainly unpredicable by any means, it will leave your heart shattered, - mouth agape and Im sure mesmerized by the crafted story in which Sarah has weaved throughout.. A ghostly story, magically written to encase your heart , fall in love with both the characters and a plot that glides right throught till the very end.
    A quick read that will stay with you, Im sure !! But great for a cuppa and time out moment !!

    Remember things are not quite what it seems..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Haunting story....

    Considering this is a charity title, I should have gotten to this one so much sooner and for that I apologize both to the author and to those that the charity benefits. Charity information will be at the end of the review. All that said, I'm kind of glad that this one ended up getting left until now because with Halloween right around the corner this is the perfect time of year to read this one. Hawthorne is full of ghosts, a haunted manor, long buried family secrets and, of course, romance. Emma Grace is haunted by her past at Hawthorne Manor and the last thing she wants to do is return but when news reaches her of her grandmother's death she is drawn back. Emma needs closure but returning also means seeing her childhood love, Noah, again. Noah stayed at Hawthorne Manor as an employee, helping Emma Grace's grandmother. He hopes to one day see Emma Grace again, but he's not really very optimistic about that really happening. When she finally returns, all the old feelings come to life between the two of them again. The beginning is sufficiently creepy and suspenseful enough to immediately grab your attention. The descriptions of the old manor and the landscaping surrounding it are vivid. You can see yourself in the deep south, with the moss hanging from the trees and the air humid enough to almost see. The emotions of the characters are so real that it makes you remember your first love and your first heartbreak. The author does such a good job with the atmosphere that you almost feel like you are in another time, or in a bubble hidden from the rest of the world. Short length stories like this sometimes leave me feeling like they are incomplete. It's hard to write something that can paint a complete picture, develop characters that people fall in love with and have a satisfying conclusion within such a short amount of pages. I've read many novellas that I really liked but was left feeling like it would have been better as a full length novel with more time to really develop the story/characters. That was so not the case with this one. While I would have loved this one to be longer, just simply to spend more time immersed in this world with these people, I didn't feel cheated at all by the end. I read this book within an hour or so. Once I started it, I couldn't put it down. I loved these characters and by the end I wasn't sure how to feel. I wanted to cry and smile at the same time. When I finished it, honestly, all I could do was sit there - a little awestruck. These characters and this story will stay with you long after you have turned the last page. Ms. Ballance has earned a new fan. I can't wait to check out more of her work. Charity information: All proceeds sent directly from the publisher to charity in support of Japan disaster relief. Your contribution through the purchase of this and other AP charity titles is greatly appreciated!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    You Won't Want to Miss This One!!

    Hawthorne is a well crafted love story with a touch of mystery and paranormal. I thought the characters were very believable and I found myself completely immersed in the story. I was so surprised at the ending. Hawthorne is one of the best short stories I have read in a very long time. I highly recommend this book. For the price, take a chance; you'll be pleasantly surprised and the proceeds are directed to the Japanese disaster relief charities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    HAWTHORNE had me intrigued right from the start. I loved the cadence of Ms. Ballance's words. She paints a fantastic picture. It has everything: mystery, romance and a prodigal returning home.
    The story took quite a few unexpected twists, especially at the end. I highly recommend this story for anyone who likes a little mystery.

    HAWTHORNE is a charity release. All proceeds from the sale of this short story will go to Japan disaster relief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1