Customer Reviews for

Hazardous Duty (Presidential Agent Series #8)

Average Rating 2
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(92)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Severly Dissapointed like the last book in his two other series

    Severly Dissapointed like the last book in his two other series there is no plot no storyline, he or probably his son who is doing the writing just
    rehashes everything that happened in the last book and then they leave you hanging wondering why you bought the book in the first place sorry w.e.b. but all good intentions aside your son is not you. i will not be buying anymore of your pointless stories.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    I've been a huge WEB Griffin fan for many, many years, and have

    I've been a huge WEB Griffin fan for many, many years, and have all of his novels in hard cover editions.
    More to the point, I've read each one of them several times.

    This book was deeply disappointing for several reasons. First, there was even more telling of the back story than usual. Mr. Griffin has always pushed the limits in terms of spending too much time bringing new readers up -to-date, and in this book, he went overboard. Second, he has serious continuity problems in this book. For one thing, Delta's 'Gray Fox' operators are mistakenly referred to as 'Black Fox' early in the book. Later, when someone uses the term 'Black Fox', they are corrected. The documents in Jean-Paul Lorimer's safe were NOT Bearer Bonds, they were some sort of instrument indicating that Lorimer had loaned money to a bank, and required a signature, hence the need to forge his name. Bearer bonds are exactly what the name implies. Finally, the book, as are most books these days, was poorly edited. As for the humor, it mostly worked. I read all of the M*A*S*H books back when they originally came out, and a few years later learned of Mr. Griffin's authorship, so I wasn't surprised to read the Afterword.
    All of the above considered, this book was a huge disappointment.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Did the authors check any of the previous books.There are so man

    Did the authors check any of the previous books.There are so many errors and so many story lines changed,that it's hard to believe this book was written by the same authors.This book is disappointing on so many levels, and leaves many story lines no further than the last book.Read the first six,which are very good and skip the last two.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    A miserable piece of throw-away prose that should have never mad

    A miserable piece of throw-away prose that should have never made it past the editor regardless of the author.  Dialog recycled from previous books, no plot, a total farce without redeeming social value.  I was expecting WEB Griffin, instead I got Bozo the Clowns joke writers.  

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Terrible

    Big expectations, small returns yuck

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Unbelieveably poor! Without a doubt the poorest book to be publ

    Unbelieveably poor! Without a doubt the poorest book to be published under the W.E.B. Griffin name. Over half of the book was cut and pasted, or summarized from the preceeding Presidental Series books, the remainder had no plot or story line. I agree with the previous commenter that probably someone else wrote the book and it was issued under the Griffin name. This book is an insult to the Griffin line and should not have been published. As a serious reader of W.E.B. Griffin books, who owns all of his series books, this book did damage to W.E.B. Griffins reputation. I would reccomment that no one buy this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    A rehash of previous books. Do Not Buy

    Totally disappointed his worst effort ever. Almost every page was copied from the other seven in the seried

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    How can I get my money back and the wasted 3 nights spent readin

    How can I get my money back and the wasted 3 nights spent reading this. This was a combination of the previous books. Nothing new
    was written. The ending chapter really made be mad. A comedy was written, well I didn't want to buy a comedic book. Highly disappointed as this is my favorite series in this Mr. Griffin has written. I HOPE the next book is so good it makes me forget this waste of time and money.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    How can this be?  My favorite author of all time has written a p

    How can this be?  My favorite author of all time has written a piece of drivel.  I have read every book he's ever written at least twice and this one was, well just awful.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Owning all of Mr. Griffin's military books, I eagerly awaited th

    Owning all of Mr. Griffin's military books, I eagerly awaited the delivery of the pre-order and the continued story of Charlie and his band of Merry Outlaws.  I must confess I'm extremely disappointed and regret buying the book.
    Unlike his previous efforts, this book is simple farce with one-dimensional characters, many of whom are simple buffoons.  In his afterword, the author explains why he choose this style, but frankly he should have written a fresh book rather than spoil the developing storyline of the Presidential Agent series.  I plan on doing some "in store reading" of any future books before I buy again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    This is the worst book I have ever read. Truly. I feel cheated. 

    This is the worst book I have ever read. Truly. I feel cheated. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    THIS WAS HORRIBLE I have read all of W E B Griffins books.

    THIS WAS HORRIBLE


    I have read all of W E B Griffins books. When they come out I automatically purchase them site unseen. In this case it was a huge mistake. I assumed (we all know what happens when one assumes) that this would be a continuation of his excellent series. WRONG. This was a really poor attempt at humor. Apparently he wanted to take this excellent series and turn it into a MASH like comedy of bumbling Presidents and other politicos. Even if I was in the mood for political humor this book would still have been horrible. About half way through this waste of money I figured this was supposed to be funny. It was neither funny nor entertaining. As another reviewer penned "...he should have kept doing what he does best!" Do not waste your money on this poor attempt at humor.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Can I have my money back?!?

    As a long time fan of the author, I was looking forward to this book, expecting a book that spent a lot of time explaining the back story before getting into the meat of the book.

    However, all I got was a lot of back story and nothing else. The real big problem with this is that the back story was from the back end of a large animal with loose bowels!

    The additional characters are totally unbelievable, the dialog is juvenile, and the premise is even less believable than before.

    In my opinion, the author should be either suing the person who wrote this for defamation and libel, or he should be paying us to read this!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Half-way through the book, I did not read anything new. 90% of t

    Half-way through the book, I did not read anything new. 90% of this book was a re-telling of the events and background of the previous 7 books. I find the Mr Griffin's style of re-telling previous events and background very tedious reading, being repetitious to the point of annoying. After reading this book, I found zero action and the story of Castillo and his Merry Outlaws had not moved forward at all. I thought there would be some action involving the taking down of the Mexican drug lords and Somalian pirates...BIG disappointment here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    not worth the money and time wasted reading this drivel not at a

    not worth the money and time wasted reading this drivel
    not at all of the expected caliber of Griffin- I have purchased every previous work and the last two have been sorely disappointing

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Total Waste of Money

    This was a rehash of old stories with nothing new. The writing was horrid and his "explanation" in the epilogue insulting to my intelligence. I doubt Griffin wrote this at all-it is just someone cashing in on his popularity.

    I would rate it zero stars if that were possible.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    This was not a WEB GRIFFIN novel. If I didn't know better I wou

    This was not a WEB GRIFFIN novel. If I didn't know better I would think that Butterworth IV had teamed up with RIchad Hooker and wrote Carlos goes to Washington (remember the "MASH goes to" books of the 70's). I would have liked the book if I had purchased it as a comedy, but I didn't. You have a bonkers president, stupid advisors, inept russian spys and cubans, no action and no plot. I have purchased and read everything Griffin has done and enjoyed them. If this is the future of his new works, I'm done.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    This is now in my top ten worst books I have ever read. Complete

    This is now in my top ten worst books I have ever read. Complete waste of your time and since I bought it on my nook can't even use it for firewood. In the past I have been a huge fan of his writing and all I can say is the son is completely unqualified to follow in daddy's footsteps. In the future I will never preorder a WEB Griffin Book and will wait at least a month after the release to check online for reviews before even considering buying one of his books again. 50% of the book was basically copied from previous books and simply retold the background of the characters. The rest was complete drivel. I wasted about three days hoping this book would improve and when I got to the end I felt truly ripped off. I know that the publisher realized this right from the start because the description provided of the story line did not even come close to describing this ridiculous book. Mr Griffin should contact every single buyer and refund their money, no wonder he lives in Argentina that way he can hide from his fans he has truly lost all of my respect and if he is the real writer of this book I would seriously consider getting checked for Alzheimer's disease.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Save your money. This book is 269 pages of the author going over

    Save your money. This book is 269 pages of the author going over incidents that happened in previous books. Hardly any new material. I strongly agree with the other reviews.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    I have been reading Griffin's books since The Lieutenants came o

    I have been reading Griffin's books since The Lieutenants came out in the 1980s. This will be the last book I purchase from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8