Customer Reviews for

He Came to Set the Captives Free

Average Rating 3.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

READ IT AT LEAST THREE TIMES...IF NOT MORE

If you are truly attempting to follow Christ; and especially if someone you love is in bondage to satan and his kingdom, this book will be the beginning of a journey that will forever change your life. The first time I read it, I didn't believe all of it. The second ti...
If you are truly attempting to follow Christ; and especially if someone you love is in bondage to satan and his kingdom, this book will be the beginning of a journey that will forever change your life. The first time I read it, I didn't believe all of it. The second time I read it, after spending a lot of time learning about the Lord, more was revealed to me. The third time I was given a glimpse into the very real world of spiritual warfare. This book WILL show you a new path. Pray for the understanding that God is ready for you to have, then prepare to read cover to cover. You WON'T want to put it down, unless it's to take notes.

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Offended Wiccan of 10 years.

Wow!!! I found this really offensive. I did not like it at all. Probably the worst read in a long long time. That is a huge insult considering I read 60-70 books a year.

posted by Anonymous on March 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    READ IT AT LEAST THREE TIMES...IF NOT MORE

    If you are truly attempting to follow Christ; and especially if someone you love is in bondage to satan and his kingdom, this book will be the beginning of a journey that will forever change your life. The first time I read it, I didn't believe all of it. The second time I read it, after spending a lot of time learning about the Lord, more was revealed to me. The third time I was given a glimpse into the very real world of spiritual warfare. This book WILL show you a new path. Pray for the understanding that God is ready for you to have, then prepare to read cover to cover. You WON'T want to put it down, unless it's to take notes.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Offended Wiccan of 10 years.

    Wow!!! I found this really offensive. I did not like it at all. Probably the worst read in a long long time. That is a huge insult considering I read 60-70 books a year.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    the book is a prime example of fear and judgment

    this book was obvesaly written by someone who is afraid of fear it self. it blows so much out of perportion and adds untruths to reality. It is plane that this auther had one perpose and one perpose only and that was to frighten as many people as possible in order to close their minds further to the idea of acceptance and love. This book absolutly discusts me to the core of my soul. I am personaly hurt by the lies this auther spues from her lips as truth.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    Couldn't put the book down, along with the Bible!

    This book is truly amazing. I've read some of the reviews that were left by people who don't believe in the Lord saying that 'Christians' should not even think about the devil. You know what's funny? That's what Satan wants you to do. The Lord, Jesus Christ is real and so is the devil. We have to put our faith in the Lord to overcome the devil, which is what this book talks about. There are satanists out there and we need Christ to overcome them and the devil. The book is great. It shows in the end, Christ always lands on top and the devil will get what he deserves. The question is, 'who will you follow?'

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    It is a sad sad thing

    I did not want to give this book any stars. I am saddened once again to see my religon represented by someone who obviously knows nothing about Wicca. It is a life affirming religon, and just for the record, we do not acknowlege Satan. That is a Judeo/Xtian belief. I just wish that those who write books would talk with those who have an accurate idea of the subject. This book is written by someone who obviously jumped off the sanity wagon and decided to blame something else for her bad choices. To put it into Xtian terms, she is bearing false witness against her neighbor. I believe that is a commandment. So, by doing this how much of a Xtian is she?

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    Strengthning

    This book was a real help. Some of the situations presented in this book I've faced in my everyday life, but never realized the cause for them,now after reading this book my eyes are now opened and I'm alert, watching for my adversary. I recommend it to everyone,who is willing to fight for the crown of victory in Jesus. Read it prayerfully.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    THE BEST CHRISTIAN BOOK EVER

    THIS BOOK IS THE BEST BOOK ON SPIRITUAL WARFARE EVER WRITTEN. DR. BROWN GIVES SO MUCH INFORMATION TO HELP IN OUR SPIRITUAL WALK WITH GOD. THE VERSE IN THE BIBLE THAT SAYS MY PEOPLE PARISH BECAUSE OF LACK OF KNOWLEDGE IS SO TRUE AFTER READING THIS BOOK. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ IT I RECOMMEND YOU TO READ IT TODAY. THERE ARE SOME CURSES TO BE BROKEN SO GET STARTED.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pure Ingorance

    I dont even have to read it to know that it is a book of nonsence surrounded in ignorance. Witchcraft in the sense that this book portrays it in just the discription is a pure Lie. Those whom do follow the pagan religions and or actually perform witchcraft are nothing like what is portrayed in this book. They are peace loving folk who believe in the idea of "harm none". I am sure that as with any religion their are some scicopaths that have performed a bad act or two and claimed it was witchcraft...but they are rare and far inbetween...unlike christians who throughout history have perfomed horrible acts of murder, torture, and other mortifying acts in the name of their gods. I still to often see horrid actions by "good christian folk" who then go back and ask for forgivness so they can do it again guiltfree. Jeese and they point fingers at us. How any "christian" could wright a pack of lies like this and not be fearing for thier own soul is beyond me? Remember Judge Not?

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    DUH

    This book is not meant to encourage people who are practicing witchcraft. It's meant to open your eyes up to what the Bible says about witchcraft and to guide those who wish to turn from a life ending in Hell for eternity to a life ending in everlasting life for eternity. It is in essence, an argument for why someone kept captive by Satan should instead start serving Christ and therefore God to experience freedom.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    what is wrong with the world

    there is nothing wrong with witchcraft and it is not the work of satan this is the worst read ever

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Remarkable

    What a remarkable fairy tale. How these works can be put on the shelf and anyone of sane and sound mind could view this book as anything other than a loose mix of nonimaginative fiction and superstition is quite beyond me. Werewolves. Vampires. 'Bride of Satan'. This book should be on the shelf next to Harry Potter. What a fantasy.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    Pathetic

    Sad. Sad and paranoid. This woman clearly has no idea what she is talking about. For instance, do any of you born again people realize that Satanists don't torture people? That causing harm in any way goes against the religious morals of most pagans? The list goes on and on. If you have a need to demonize a group of people, for God's sake, at least know what they do. Otherwise, you make yourself sound like a complete moron. If I could give this book negative stars, I would.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    OMG!

    There aren't words in the English language to describe this book. It's amazing and very enlightening. Be prepared to learn of things you never imagined.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Only my oppinion

    I love how still today people havent come to realize that witchcraft is not always bad. I was born into it and the teachings and practices. Ive had people tell me im a lost soul and I have had heard the opposite. Witchcraft was before Christ himself. Christian traditions have been taken from Pagan beliefs. Such as Pagan Yule made the Christmas tree and mistletoe for Christians Christmas holiday. Theres White, Grey, and Black magic. Theres more then one god for Practitioners so don't rule it as just Satan's act. Also look into the Elemental Encyclopedia Of Magic, Jesus is in there for what he did.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Not really believable

    The author presents a rather fantastic tale of worldwide power brokerage, arms dealing and marriage to the devil that a critical reader will find hard to swallow. It seems this book should be categorized as religious fiction, especially since there is abundant journalistic reporting available on the Internet to support this conclusion.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    Ignorance should NEVER be praised

    The deffinition of ignorace is "The condition of being uneducated, unaware, or uninformed." (The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition Copyright © 2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company) That is exactly what this author, or rather, this book, is. To assume that what you hear from everybody, ANYbody is right is sense less and asinine. And for those of you who claim that this book is for the open-minded only are contradicting yourselves. This books very nature is closed-mindedness and fear. Witches donot belive in Satan, or any devil for that matter. I Suggest doing some actual research on Wicca and Witchcraft before you jump to anymore false conclusions.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    READ!

    This book literally left me speechless. I am a born-again Christian and this book really helped open my eyes to the real threats of Satan and his clever schemes to conquer us, but I also learned that with the help of our LORD and SAVIOR Jesus Christ anything is possible and we can overcome anything!

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Very Helpful

    Im a teenager and usually nothing holds my interest... I read this book and it was very helpful.. It made me realize that there is a spiritual world and that with the help of JESUS CHRIST anything is possible... It also taught me that Satan is real and that he is out to deceive everyone.. even those who follow in God's footsteps..... This book was wonderful.. a lot of information that i was not aware of.. I recommend it to those who want to know the truth of Satan's plans and How God is always by your side when fighting the spiritual battle.. God Bless everyone

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    Ridiculous

    Witches do not even believe in Satan, he is a primarily Christian deity and they are the ones who give him credit and power, NOT Wiccans. Whoever wrote this is very uneducated, misinformed and ignorant of the truth. Just one more example of the spread of hate, prejudice and fear in the name of God.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    Pamela

    I think this book is nothing much but fiction. People dont really unnderstand the real meanings of Wicca. Its not Devil worshipping. None of that at all. So this book is mostly just based on opions and not facts about Wicca.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6