Customer Reviews for

He Came to Set the Captives Free

Average Rating 3.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

READ IT AT LEAST THREE TIMES...IF NOT MORE

If you are truly attempting to follow Christ; and especially if someone you love is in bondage to satan and his kingdom, this book will be the beginning of a journey that will forever change your life. The first time I read it, I didn't believe all of it. The second ti...
If you are truly attempting to follow Christ; and especially if someone you love is in bondage to satan and his kingdom, this book will be the beginning of a journey that will forever change your life. The first time I read it, I didn't believe all of it. The second time I read it, after spending a lot of time learning about the Lord, more was revealed to me. The third time I was given a glimpse into the very real world of spiritual warfare. This book WILL show you a new path. Pray for the understanding that God is ready for you to have, then prepare to read cover to cover. You WON'T want to put it down, unless it's to take notes.

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

It is a sad sad thing

I did not want to give this book any stars. I am saddened once again to see my religon represented by someone who obviously knows nothing about Wicca. It is a life affirming religon, and just for the record, we do not acknowlege Satan. That is a Judeo/Xtian belief. I ju...
I did not want to give this book any stars. I am saddened once again to see my religon represented by someone who obviously knows nothing about Wicca. It is a life affirming religon, and just for the record, we do not acknowlege Satan. That is a Judeo/Xtian belief. I just wish that those who write books would talk with those who have an accurate idea of the subject. This book is written by someone who obviously jumped off the sanity wagon and decided to blame something else for her bad choices. To put it into Xtian terms, she is bearing false witness against her neighbor. I believe that is a commandment. So, by doing this how much of a Xtian is she?

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    It is a sad sad thing

    I did not want to give this book any stars. I am saddened once again to see my religon represented by someone who obviously knows nothing about Wicca. It is a life affirming religon, and just for the record, we do not acknowlege Satan. That is a Judeo/Xtian belief. I just wish that those who write books would talk with those who have an accurate idea of the subject. This book is written by someone who obviously jumped off the sanity wagon and decided to blame something else for her bad choices. To put it into Xtian terms, she is bearing false witness against her neighbor. I believe that is a commandment. So, by doing this how much of a Xtian is she?

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pure Ingorance

    I dont even have to read it to know that it is a book of nonsence surrounded in ignorance. Witchcraft in the sense that this book portrays it in just the discription is a pure Lie. Those whom do follow the pagan religions and or actually perform witchcraft are nothing like what is portrayed in this book. They are peace loving folk who believe in the idea of "harm none". I am sure that as with any religion their are some scicopaths that have performed a bad act or two and claimed it was witchcraft...but they are rare and far inbetween...unlike christians who throughout history have perfomed horrible acts of murder, torture, and other mortifying acts in the name of their gods. I still to often see horrid actions by "good christian folk" who then go back and ask for forgivness so they can do it again guiltfree. Jeese and they point fingers at us. How any "christian" could wright a pack of lies like this and not be fearing for thier own soul is beyond me? Remember Judge Not?

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Offended Wiccan of 10 years.

    Wow!!! I found this really offensive. I did not like it at all. Probably the worst read in a long long time. That is a huge insult considering I read 60-70 books a year.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    what is wrong with the world

    there is nothing wrong with witchcraft and it is not the work of satan this is the worst read ever

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    the book is a prime example of fear and judgment

    this book was obvesaly written by someone who is afraid of fear it self. it blows so much out of perportion and adds untruths to reality. It is plane that this auther had one perpose and one perpose only and that was to frighten as many people as possible in order to close their minds further to the idea of acceptance and love. This book absolutly discusts me to the core of my soul. I am personaly hurt by the lies this auther spues from her lips as truth.

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Remarkable

    What a remarkable fairy tale. How these works can be put on the shelf and anyone of sane and sound mind could view this book as anything other than a loose mix of nonimaginative fiction and superstition is quite beyond me. Werewolves. Vampires. 'Bride of Satan'. This book should be on the shelf next to Harry Potter. What a fantasy.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    Pathetic

    Sad. Sad and paranoid. This woman clearly has no idea what she is talking about. For instance, do any of you born again people realize that Satanists don't torture people? That causing harm in any way goes against the religious morals of most pagans? The list goes on and on. If you have a need to demonize a group of people, for God's sake, at least know what they do. Otherwise, you make yourself sound like a complete moron. If I could give this book negative stars, I would.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Not really believable

    The author presents a rather fantastic tale of worldwide power brokerage, arms dealing and marriage to the devil that a critical reader will find hard to swallow. It seems this book should be categorized as religious fiction, especially since there is abundant journalistic reporting available on the Internet to support this conclusion.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    Ignorance should NEVER be praised

    The deffinition of ignorace is "The condition of being uneducated, unaware, or uninformed." (The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition Copyright © 2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company) That is exactly what this author, or rather, this book, is. To assume that what you hear from everybody, ANYbody is right is sense less and asinine. And for those of you who claim that this book is for the open-minded only are contradicting yourselves. This books very nature is closed-mindedness and fear. Witches donot belive in Satan, or any devil for that matter. I Suggest doing some actual research on Wicca and Witchcraft before you jump to anymore false conclusions.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    Pamela

    I think this book is nothing much but fiction. People dont really unnderstand the real meanings of Wicca. Its not Devil worshipping. None of that at all. So this book is mostly just based on opions and not facts about Wicca.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    Ridiculous

    Witches do not even believe in Satan, he is a primarily Christian deity and they are the ones who give him credit and power, NOT Wiccans. Whoever wrote this is very uneducated, misinformed and ignorant of the truth. Just one more example of the spread of hate, prejudice and fear in the name of God.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2002

    An Unfortunate Portrayal

    *sigh* I am very sad that a person could have such a vendetta against an entire group of people that she would publish so hateful a work on them. Wiccans/Witches are very kind people. Their magick does not harm others. Quite a number of them are vegetarians so as not to harm animal life. They do not believe in Satan. They worship a god and a goddess because they see both male and female aspects in nature, and male and female spirits are definately not the same. It is truly unfortunate and disappointing that such a work could be published and believed. But, fellow pagans, do not take this to be a representation of Christians as a whole! They are kind and loving people, as we are. Sadly, a few are really misled.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No this not a good book.

    No this not a good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    Another same old same old Pagan-bashing book

    Ok folks... The problem with this book and the countless others like it is that, like most ideas Christians have about Pagan religions, the information isn't based on what practitioners of religions such as Wicca say about themselves, what they believe and hold true but is, rather, what Christians SAY they believe and hold true. THAT IS A HUGE HUGE DIFFERENCE. When I finally see a book where the Christian author has actually learned what Wiccans and other Pagan religions believe and base their book upon these actual facts from 'the horses mouth' so-to-speak I will have a LOT more respect for the book and the author even if I don't actually agree with the author's point of view. I won't be holding my breath, sadly. That being said...I don't have ANY respect at all for this book or the author.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    Since when was Jesus a warrior?

    Can I quote the Bible here? 'Assuredly I say to you, I have not found such great faith, not even in Israel!' (Matthew 8:10) Jesus said this after having met a PAGAN Roman centurion. Jesus had countless quotes about LOVING-KINDNESS (sound familiar?) to everybody. Including Pagans. Satanism is something different. True Satanism probably doesn't exist. But Jesus's path is not the One True Way. And people of other faiths REALLY don't like it if you advertise your beliefs. I was Christian but this attitude about converting the whole world pushed me out. See? It works both ways.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2003

    Sadness!

    I read this book and was surprise at how little people know about Wicca and/or paganism. It also made me question why a religion (christianity) would teach its followers to cry out McCarthyism about anyone who does not believe in what christianity believes. Isn't that teaching its followers to hate, fear and pity other people for being 'below(differnt from)' them. I mean how just, and/or pure is that? I mean the creator gave us all freewill and a conscience, just because he/she didn't guide me to where he/she 'guided' you, doesn't mean that I'm not a good person, it just means he/she has different life plans for me. I think Christians/Catholics need to stop hating , fearing, and trying to control other people, because as far as I'm concerned fear, hate and control are not pure and 'holy' thoughts or actions. I'm very proud to be in a belief system that teaches me to follow my God given gut instinct, it helps me to take resposibility for my own action and to stop blaming others (who are different than me) for the worlds problems. :-)<--Wiccan

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    my heart cries

    it makes me so sad to read such a prejudice outlook on people! I feel that the Lord must be greatly saddened by all the hatred that this book holds! Witches are not Satanists... they do not believe in Satan. Though they may not accept our Lord Jesus Christ as their savior, they are peaceful people who do us no harm. (there are always exceptions - in EVERY religion)! If a person calls themself a witch and does harm to others, then he/she is not really a witch. (Any harm done to another goes against the 'wiccan rede'). not only is this book full of hate and prejudice, it is not very well written! read the bible again and try to understand the concepts of love, acceptance, and peace!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    crap

    The author of this book obviously did not do their homework. Satan worshipers and Witches are NOT the same thing. The name witch refers to the Wiccans and Pagans who take oaths to help people as best they can. Witches do NOT worship the devil, they are peaceful people who only look how to make their lives as well as the lives of others better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Hate in written form.

    Had any of this actually been true it would have grabbed national media attention and had every law enforcement agency slobbering to solve the case and make the careers of several agents or detectives. It is an entirely fictional and frankly horrible story of hatred for anything different. If the story's 'lessons' are to be believed then no one, including tthe writer or any christian can be anything but a satanist. It is ludicris and fails to acknowledge any reality except the writers dark and oppresive paranoia. It gives christianity a horrendously bad name and should not be read with even an iota of seriousness or respect. For a work of fiction, I can forgive alot, but this definitely the single worst book I've read this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    REALLY?!!

    Being a Christian myself, I find this book to be a prime example of the self-glorifying, narcissistic, behavior that runs all too rampant throughout Christian religions today. I found the absence of accuracy and obvious lack of research into the main subject of the book to be sad and laughable. This kind of obviously blatant attack on and refusal to understand someone else's strongly held beliefs is one reason why we Christians are so vilified today, and why we find such opposition from people even to listen to what we are saying.

    After all, would you Christians out there who believe in this kind of hopped-up faith bashing, really want to talk religion with a Pagan or a Satanist or a Wicca (all different religions by the way) who had already made up his/her mind that Christianity (your RELIGION) is the worst possible offense there could possible be, and you are evil incarnate for believing in it? You'd be better off just throwing this book in the trash and reading something that accurately portrayed non-Christian beliefs. That way, you'd be better prepared to have, at worst, a friendly debate, and not turn them off all together with bigotry, scorn and just plain ignorance.

    Don't judge, listen.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2