Customer Reviews for

He Came to Set the Captives Free

Average Rating 3.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

READ IT AT LEAST THREE TIMES...IF NOT MORE

If you are truly attempting to follow Christ; and especially if someone you love is in bondage to satan and his kingdom, this book will be the beginning of a journey that will forever change your life. The first time I read it, I didn't believe all of it. The second ti...
If you are truly attempting to follow Christ; and especially if someone you love is in bondage to satan and his kingdom, this book will be the beginning of a journey that will forever change your life. The first time I read it, I didn't believe all of it. The second time I read it, after spending a lot of time learning about the Lord, more was revealed to me. The third time I was given a glimpse into the very real world of spiritual warfare. This book WILL show you a new path. Pray for the understanding that God is ready for you to have, then prepare to read cover to cover. You WON'T want to put it down, unless it's to take notes.

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

It is a sad sad thing

I did not want to give this book any stars. I am saddened once again to see my religon represented by someone who obviously knows nothing about Wicca. It is a life affirming religon, and just for the record, we do not acknowlege Satan. That is a Judeo/Xtian belief. I ju...
I did not want to give this book any stars. I am saddened once again to see my religon represented by someone who obviously knows nothing about Wicca. It is a life affirming religon, and just for the record, we do not acknowlege Satan. That is a Judeo/Xtian belief. I just wish that those who write books would talk with those who have an accurate idea of the subject. This book is written by someone who obviously jumped off the sanity wagon and decided to blame something else for her bad choices. To put it into Xtian terms, she is bearing false witness against her neighbor. I believe that is a commandment. So, by doing this how much of a Xtian is she?

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    READ IT AT LEAST THREE TIMES...IF NOT MORE

    If you are truly attempting to follow Christ; and especially if someone you love is in bondage to satan and his kingdom, this book will be the beginning of a journey that will forever change your life. The first time I read it, I didn't believe all of it. The second time I read it, after spending a lot of time learning about the Lord, more was revealed to me. The third time I was given a glimpse into the very real world of spiritual warfare. This book WILL show you a new path. Pray for the understanding that God is ready for you to have, then prepare to read cover to cover. You WON'T want to put it down, unless it's to take notes.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    Couldn't put the book down, along with the Bible!

    This book is truly amazing. I've read some of the reviews that were left by people who don't believe in the Lord saying that 'Christians' should not even think about the devil. You know what's funny? That's what Satan wants you to do. The Lord, Jesus Christ is real and so is the devil. We have to put our faith in the Lord to overcome the devil, which is what this book talks about. There are satanists out there and we need Christ to overcome them and the devil. The book is great. It shows in the end, Christ always lands on top and the devil will get what he deserves. The question is, 'who will you follow?'

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    Strengthning

    This book was a real help. Some of the situations presented in this book I've faced in my everyday life, but never realized the cause for them,now after reading this book my eyes are now opened and I'm alert, watching for my adversary. I recommend it to everyone,who is willing to fight for the crown of victory in Jesus. Read it prayerfully.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    THE BEST CHRISTIAN BOOK EVER

    THIS BOOK IS THE BEST BOOK ON SPIRITUAL WARFARE EVER WRITTEN. DR. BROWN GIVES SO MUCH INFORMATION TO HELP IN OUR SPIRITUAL WALK WITH GOD. THE VERSE IN THE BIBLE THAT SAYS MY PEOPLE PARISH BECAUSE OF LACK OF KNOWLEDGE IS SO TRUE AFTER READING THIS BOOK. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ IT I RECOMMEND YOU TO READ IT TODAY. THERE ARE SOME CURSES TO BE BROKEN SO GET STARTED.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    OMG!

    There aren't words in the English language to describe this book. It's amazing and very enlightening. Be prepared to learn of things you never imagined.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    READ!

    This book literally left me speechless. I am a born-again Christian and this book really helped open my eyes to the real threats of Satan and his clever schemes to conquer us, but I also learned that with the help of our LORD and SAVIOR Jesus Christ anything is possible and we can overcome anything!

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    God's Revealing the Occult World

    This book is a riveting experience. I would recommend this book to any one who needs more knowledge about the spritual world. It teaches us how to recognize the plans and the trick of public enemy # 1 who is Satan. It also teaches us who to build up and guard our spiritual life will caution and the blood of Jesus.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    Increase Your Power to Stand Against the Enemy!

    I thank God that he has vessels such as Rebecca who will totally submit their lives to do the will of the Father. Because of her experiences and victories, I have become educated on exactly how to use biblical principles to defeat the powers of darkness. This book really allows one to conceptualize evil. I believe we all know it exists, however, it's eye-opening to hear of personal testimony of people who thirst for it and the spiritual rewards (granted by Satan) for those who seek to quench such a thirst. This book, along with its scriptual references, has helped me to grow spiritually, because it has opened my spirtual eyes to the invisible battle that constantly rages between Good and Evil (Angels and Demons).

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    All things in this book are true!

    Listen, those who say that there is nothing wrong with Wicca, you are using magic. That is what Rebecca was hitting on in this book. Satanism was the main topic, but she also mentionted that any form of magic is wrong, and she gives multiple passages from the Bible to support that fact. You're awsome Rebecca, keep it up. God bless

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2004

    It just goes to prove that Jesus will always win

    I think that you every so called 'Christian' can't handle this book. But those who know that Jesus is the only way and that he can do what ever he wants to. Can take this book and allow it to be a witness. Letting people know that all the stuff that they go through is not what God has planned for their life. Most people don't believe the things that are in this book. But that's ok because God doesn't prove anything to anyone. But I'm glad that he allowed a book like this to be written, because it just goes to show that this things of the devil are so weak.......

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    God has Done It again

    About three years ago I read ' He came to set the captives Free'; and my life has not been the same since. This book has so much information about how to de-nounce satan, and how you as a non-beliver can become a beliver in Jesus Christ. I I praise the Lord for Dr. Brown and encourage her to keep on writing and stay on the Lord's side. Dr. Brown I tell every one I can about your experience, and your book that I can. One of the ways we all can defeat Satan is tell everyone we see about how to avoid him. God has really Done It Again. Since I read your book my life has not been the same.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    HELLO

    I THINK THIS BOOK SAYS ENOUGH AND IT IS SO AWESOME HOW SOMEBODY CAN CARE FOR SOMEONE SO MUCH AND BE THERE FOR THEM IN THE TIME OF NEED.WE AS CHRISTIANS NEED TO HARKEN TO HIS WORD AND NOT TAKE IT FOR GRANTED.THERE IS A HELL AND JUST HOPE THAT YOU DONT GET CAUGHT UP IN THE CARES OF THIS WORLD BECAUSE YOU WILL END UP THERE.GOD IS NOT DEAD HE'S ALIVE!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    Opens your eyes

    This book really made me realize how much we ignore what is REALLY going on and how we focus on our 'everday lives'. She clearly shows that 'spiritual warfare' takes place everyday and we are constantly under attack. It will help you to be more alert of your surroundings and to understand why things are happening to you. She also uses many quotes from the bible which help you cross reference what is said to 'verify'.After reading other peoples reviews, it's amazing how they don't believe in the devil! Instead of reading the wicca, try picking up a bible! Just because you don't believe he is real doesn't mean he doesn't exist! (Just like God).He's real. If you believe the devil doesn't exist, he already has you.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    This book is describing spiritual warfare. The fight between goo

    This book is describing spiritual warfare. The fight between good and evil. The attacks that Rebecca received as she fought the good fight of faith. OBVIOUSLY those who rate this book any less than four stars are probably those who are trying to discourage people from hearing how GOOD PREVAILS OVER EVIL. I wouldn't be surprised if the 1 star raters are in some way relating to the "evil" side that fought so hard to smother the Goodness of God, and continue to fight the loosing battle of discouraging people from reading this amazing book. Satan is a thief, liar, trickster, etc. who will use whatever weapon (including negative ratings) he can to "appear" to be powerful, when he actually is a defeated foe!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    One of the best books I've read period!!!

    I recommend this book for all to read. Wether you beleive their story or not, this is the testimony of two women. I rather hear the ugly truth but many would prefer to listen to a pretty lie! It's soo sad to see how many people are going to hell because of their beliefs.

    (Deuteronomy 18:9-14)

    Moses cautioned the children of Israel: "When you enter the land the Lord your God is giving you, do not learn to imitate the detestable way of the nations there. Let no one be found among you who sacrifices his son or daughter in the fire, who practices divination or sorcery, interprets omens, engages in witchcraft, or casts spells, or who is a medium or spiritist or who consults the dead. Anyone who does these things is detestable to the Lord, and because of these detestable practices the Lord your God will drive those nations before you. You must be blameless before the Lord your God. The nations you will dispossess listen to those who practice sorcery or divination. But as for you, the Lord has not permitted you to do so".


    John 14:6 (NIV)

    6 Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    THIS BOOK IS GRRREAT!!! I'VE LIVE WITH SOME UNDERCOVER WITCHES I

    THIS BOOK IS GRRREAT!!! I'VE LIVE WITH SOME UNDERCOVER WITCHES IN STOCKTON, CA. AND IF THE LORD HAD NOT ALLOWED ME TO HAVE COME BY THIS BOOK I PROBA BLY WOULDN'T BE HERE TODAY. THE DECIET IN TRYING TO ENLIST ME INTO HAVE HOMOSEXUAL AFFAIRS AND OTHER SEXUAL ACTS JUST LIKE THIS LADY REBECCA BROWN SAYS IN HER BOOK IS TRUE IN REAL LIFE. THIS GUY PRETENDED TO BE MY FRIEND WENT TO CHURCH WHERE THE GOSPEL WAS PREACHED AND MIRICLES PERFRORMED DID NOT KEEP HIM OUT OF THE CHURCH , AND WHEN I LOST MY JOB HE GOT HIS MOTHER TO ALLOW ME TO LIVE THERE WHERE EVERYONE IN THAT FAMILY TRIED TO SUDUCE ME INTO HAVE BOTHE STRAIGHT AND GAY SEX, BUT I NEVER GAVE IN TO. EVENTUALLY THEY GOT TIRED OF TRYING TO PURSUADE ME AND REVEAL JUST WHAT THEY WERE ALL ABOUT. THANK GOD FOR JESUS CHRIST AND HIS SHED BLOOD, THEY GAVE ME GOLD WATCH, AND A BLACK RING WITH A DIAMON IN THE MIDDLE , ALL THIS WAS TO ATTACHED A DEMON TO ME THROUGH PUR MEDALS EVERY ITEM THAT I RECIEVED HAD A DEMON ATTACHED MY ATTITUDE BECAME IRRASHONANBLE, THE SON WHICH WAS MY FRIEND WAS TO GET ME TO JOIN THE GROUP BECAUSE OF THE TYPE OF JOB A ND EDUCATION I HAD, I WAS A STRANGER TO STOCKTON, CA AND THEY PREYED UPON ME BUT, GOD DIDN'T LET IT GO DOWN LIKE THEY WANTED IT. WHEN I REFUSED TO JOIN THIS CULT OF WITCHES OR BROTHERHOOD I WAS VICIOUSLY ATTACKED AND MY THROAT WAS SPLIT WIDE OPEN , I WAS CHASED FROM HOTEL TO HOTEL , PEOPLE THAT I HAD BECAME AQUAINTED WITH WAS WARNED TO STAY AWAY FROM ME AND NOT TO HELP ME OR ELSE. I CALL THE POLICE AND TO MY SUPRISE SOME OF THEM WERE PART OF THIS GROUP , I WAS PLACE IN A OBSERVATION WARD FOR THREE DAYS JUST TO BE SET FREE AND GIVEN A CLEAN BILL OF HEALTH. I WAS LITERALLY CHASED OUT OF STOCKTON, CA. THERE IS NOT ROOM FOR THE WHOLE STORY BUT IF YOU ARE INTO WITCHCRAFT I PRAY THAT YOU WILL FIND THE LORD JESUS AND SURRENDER YOUR LIFE TO HIM. SATAN WANT TO TRICK YOU INTO BELIEVING THAT YOU HAVE POWER AND YOU CAN DO WHAT YOU WANT BUT IN THE END YOU WILL RECIEVE THE SAME JUDGEMENT THAT HE WILL RECIEVE.. HELL WAS MADE FOR SATAN AND HIS ANGELS AND NOT FOR MAN, BUT BECAUSE MEN HEART ARE WICKED AND REJECT THE LOVE OF THE LORD JESUS CHRIST THEY WILL HAVE THEIR PART IN THE LAKE OF FIRE AS WELL. PLEASE COME TO THE LORD BEFORE IT IS TO LATE. FOR GOD SO LOVE THE WORLD THAT HE GAVE HIS ONLY BEGOTTEN SON THAT WHO SO EVER SHALL BELIEVE IN HIM SHALL NOT DIE BUT HAVE ETERNAL LIFE. WHICH WOULD YOU RATHER SERVE A GOD THAT WOULD DIE FOR YOU TO SHOW YOU HIS LOVE OR A FALLEN ANGEL (SATAN ) WHO WOULD RATHER HAVE YOU DIE FOR HIM . ALL HIS PROMISES ARE LIES AND WILL NEVER COME TO PASS, HE WILL NEVER TELL YOU THE TRUTH BECAUSE HE IS THE FATHER OF ALL LIES AND FULL OF DARKNESS AND HATES THE LIGHT. THE SAINTS ARE THE LIGHT OF THIS WORLD AND HE SEEKS TO DESTROY THEM IN HOPE THAT HE AND HIS FALLEN ANGELS WILL SOMEHOW RULE THE WORLD. BUT THIS WORLD WAS MADE FOR THE LORD JESUS AND HE WILL NEVER SURRENDER IT TO THIS FALL ANGEL . SATAN IS NO GOD THERE IS ONLY ONE GOD AND HIS NAME IS JEHOVAH AND THE WAY TO HIM IS THROUGH HIS SON JESUS CHRIST. ROMAN 10:9,10 IF WE CONFESS WITH OUR MOUTH AND BELIEVE IN OUR HEAR THE JESUS IS LORD AND THAT GOD HAS RAISED FROM THE DEAD THOU (YOU ) SHALL BE SAVED AND WILL ENJOY GOD'S ETERNAL KINGDOM. PLEASE COME TO CHRIST BEFORE IT'S TO LATE. AMEN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    I read all the Rebecca Brown books and I think she is for real w

    I read all the Rebecca Brown books and I think she is for real when she exposes satan and all his lieutenants named the "Wicca" that so vehement deny they direct contact with the devil and his demons. Yes Wicca and Witch goes hand to hand. Of course they deny because two reasons, they are ignorant of what is going on in their meetings or they are blinded by the lies and fake glamour. This book is a must read for everyone that wants to know the truth about satan and his evil works in this world. Don't  expect satanist, wiccas, and witches and all the worker of iniquities to defend this book. Jesus is coming againd to judge all those that play with the truth.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    The spiritual warfare

    The battle is on wake up people of GOD.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Your choice

    I dont care how mad this books make people. I believe wholeheartedly that God used this author to write this book. This book is an eyeopener for Christians that sit idly by while satan is on his mission to destroy the world and recruit more souls for himself. This is a weapon tool so that Christians can know what is going on in the world and what we are up against. If u notice, she has included scriptures as reference, READ IT AND STUDY IT FOR YOURSELF!!! SHE is not encouraging hatred of one another, she is encouraging hatred of ones acts that goes against God, who is almighty. It is your choice to believe this or not. It is your choice to learn from it or not, but I will say that I prayed before reading this, and have applied some of the prayers in my life and I have seen a difference in my life. But witchcraft is real,satan is real, u dont discredit them...so why is it that you go all out to discredit this woman's book and experience. We need to open our eyes...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3