Customer Reviews for

He Chose the Nails

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    I Love This Book

    I don't think the this book is bad. I think it is good and has brought a lot of encouragement to me, my husband and his friends. My Husband is in the army and has a lot of struggles as well as his friends. This book has help all of them to look at all the good that is happening and not all the bad and also has brought some of them closer to Christ. All of them that have read this book didn't know Christ encluding my husband. This book has helped my husband realize all that God sacrificed for us to live with him in heaven for eternity. They all liked this book so much that they want me to send them some more copies. I was in the process of checking out when I saw the bad rating and read what the person wrote. This person has nothing better to do then to write bad reports of books in my oppinion they are very hypocritical .This book was writen by a every smart man that has been educated on this subject.I would really like to see this person write a book that can move so many people. A book like this is only good if you have the want to read it. You only get out of this book what you put in to it. I would highly recomend it to everyone that is struggling in there relationship with Christ and for those who want to know him and be closer to him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    My Favorite Lucado Book

    This book is the first book that I've read from Max Lucado and this is my favorite. I also read 'Just Like Jesus' and one of his promise books. This book gives you full knowledge, wisdom, and understanding about what Jesus Christ did for us. Max Lucado touches areas that you normally don't hear about when people teach on the crucifiction. I thank God for the teachings in this book. It contains a lot of information. This book put me on to 'Max Lucado Books'. It's a 'must have' for every Believer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Max Lucado is a best-selling novelist and Pastor of Oak Hills Ch

    Max Lucado is a best-selling novelist and Pastor of Oak Hills Church in San Antonio, TX. He has written many books and his newest one is wonderful. He Chose The Nails is an easy read that you won't be able to put down.

    "Linger on the Hill of Calvary.
    Rub a Finger on the Timber and Press the Nail
    Into Your Hand.
    Taste the Tinge of Cheap Wine and Feel
    the Scrape of a Thorn on Your Brow.
    Touch the Velvet Dirt, Moist
    with the Blood of God.
    Allow the Tools of Torture to Tell Their Story.
    Listen as They Tell You What God
    Did to Win Your Heart."
    -Quote from the back of the book

    Isn't that an incredible quote. When I read that I got chills down my spine. Have you ever wondered why Jesus chose to go to the cross? Have you ever wondered what it was like for Him? This is the perfect book for answering those questions and more. It's a very emotional and eye-opening book. What Jesus really did for us on the cross was extraordinary. In this book, Lucado takes us through some of the significant symbols of the cross such as the crown of thorns, the sign on the cross, the burial clothes, etc.

    Here is a small list of some of the chapters:
    1. You Did This For Me?
    2. I Loved You Enough To Become One Of You
    3. I Will Not Abandon You
    4. I Invite You Into My Presence
    5. I Have Redeemed You, And I Will Keep You
    6. I Have Won The Victory
    7. What Will You Leave At The Cross?

    Surprisingly enough, this was not a dark book. It speaks of the love that Jesus has for us. His love was enough to cover all of our sins on the cross. He alone chose to go to the cross and suffer and die to save us. I have a hard time imagining that kind of love. I mean, I love my husband. I love my children. I would die for them. But to die for strangers who have murdered, raped, stolen, abused, etc. I just can't fathom it. What a sacrifice. What grace He has given us. Forgiveness is a wonderful, powerful thing. Amazing love. That's all I can say.

    Read this book and find out for yourself what the cross really meant to mankind. You will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great inspirational book

    to read, to share, to get closer to God. Simple language but all well written and directed to show you how important you are to God, through his son Jesus Christ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Inspired.

    It was a wonderful...human view of the death of Christ and the meanings behind how he died.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    I LOVE IT!!!

    I had never heard of Max Lucado before, or any of his books, until one day in a van on a mission trip, it was a long ride, I found some books on the floor board and I believe the majority, if not all were Max Lucado books, I picked out one b/c I liked the cover, and I couldn't stop reading it, now I was never a big reader before this mind you, but ever since then I bought He Chose the Nails, and other Lucado books, and they are all wonderful!!! They were funny and inspiring!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2004

    Can't put it down

    Wow-what a writer, I've heard of him before, read a childrens book to my son, that he wrote. But this-Max! Unreal, I will continue to read more and more of his. So easy to understand, so loving! What an author and gift!!!! Thank you Lord!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    You must check it out

    Wonderful book of knowledge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Preapred me for Easter

    In typical Max Lucado style he leads you to a greater understanding of Christ's sacrifice. This book helped prepare me to celebrate Easter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Belief and faith in God are two things that guide many along the

    Belief and faith in God are two things that guide many along the righteous path. The scriptures show us that anything is possible; we only need to believe. Unfortunately, that’s easier said than done. It’s hard, sometimes, to believe in something we can’t see, to place in someone we’ve never truly met, but that’s what faith is about, isn’t it? To love God whole-heartedly and place our lives, our trust, and our beliefs within his hands.

    Using aspects of his own life to show us what the grace of God has done for him, Max Lucado is able to broaden the reader’s understanding of what having faith in Him is like. He breaks things down so that anyone of any age can find significance with the passages he writes. Embedded throughout the book are lessons he’s learned along the way, lessons meant to enrich and fulfill the life he’s lead. With each stroke of the pen, he allows us to understand the sacrifice that our beloved God has made in order for us to life a fulfilling and righteous life.

    The book is quite thought-provoking and the meaning behind Max’s analogies strike deep within one’s soul. This book will definitely give the reader a thorough understanding of what Jesus Christ went through in order to cleanse of us of our sins. I truly recommend this book for reading and enjoyed reading it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    He Chose the Nails by Max Lucado By Max Lucado is among the most

    He Chose the Nails by Max Lucado By Max Lucado is among the most inspirational and motivating books that I have recently read. That can be said about almost all of Lucado's books, actually. This book specifically impresses upon the reader the enormous sacrifice Jesus offered each and every one of us. It brings to life, the experiences that Jesus faced on the cross for each one of us- the cold painful nails, the sharp thorns and the splintered wood. Adjectives and description brings this sacrifice to animated life- in vivid detail. It helps those who are enduring really difficult times, to endure and persevere.

    The beginning of this book had a slow start, with Lucado's analogy of the painstaking process of finding his wife the perfect gift. I found there was too much detail. Yet I am sure many economically "gifted" or comfortable readers can relate. At times, he is a bit self serving in addressing the issues of financial prosperity and comfort in life that he and many readers are lucky enough to enjoy. Yet, Lucado puts his God given resources to good use- there is no doubt about that! He uses his economic gifts and wisdom to help countless readers. Pehaps if Lucado was not in a comfortable financial position, he would not have the practical resources and time to be able to deliver his wisdom to the masses. Personally, I could not afford to buy his books, and I assume that much of the readership that actually read his books are upper middleclass that can afford to buy his books and have the luxury of time to dedicate to read- but I am thankfully they are offered free to bloggers so that not only the economically advantaged have access to his wisdom.

    The author address real issues- job loss, terminal illness, grief and loss. This book is designed to help those who are suffering from extreme circumstances. If you are bellyaching because you burned your husband's dinner, or the grass stain won't come out of the soccer uniform, or if missed an apointment for your pedicure, or your favorite coach bag sold out before you reached the mall, then this book isn't for you. What you need is a fluffy, superficial, condescending, feel- good, women's devotional book. But, if you truly suffer from life's heartaches, then this book will offer the comfort you need.


    In true Lucado fashion, Max writes in an animated, easy to understand style that communicates biblical truths to the reader. His books bring bible stories and biblical truth to life in an inspirational way that speaks out to the reader. "Catch God in a bad mood? Won't happen. Fear exhausting his grace? A sardine will swallow the Atlantic first. Think he's given up on you?" ..... Lucado's use of colorful language and his conversational tone, make it so that biblical truths are memorable and meaningful to the average modern reader. You need not be a theologen, educated in an expensive seminary or college to understand Max Lucado's books. This inspirational book will be certain to leave the reader with a lasting impression. In today's self centered society, without offense Max Lucado illustrates the importance of living life based on biblical principles. After reading this book, and really meditating on the biblical truths communicated via Max Lucado, one can feel a renewed sense of embpowerment to live a selfless life style. Max makes use of personal anecdotes as well as bible stories to illiustrate the importance of depending on God rather than on the material things of this world. If you are a theologen, looking for an apologetic defense on the purpose of depending on God then this book isn't for you. But, if on the other hand you are simply looking for bible based motivation and a relief in a world that takes pride in materialism, selfish ambition and competition, then this book is perfect. As a blogger for booksneeze, I receive books from Thomas Nelson publishers in exchange for writing an honest review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    He Chose the Nails is very strong title as well as a very strong

    He Chose the Nails is very strong title as well as a very strong book. It is inspirational, educational, religious, and everything a good christian book needs to be. This book increases your knowledge of Christianity and God. It's a great book and it has lots of things to look forward into it. In my opinion, Max Lucado did an exceptional job with his work. It's an amazing book and has lots of strong points in it. I really loved this book and can't wait for more by Max Lucado.
    I received this book from book sneeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Max Lucado's newest book, "He Chose the Nails" is a bo

    Max Lucado's newest book, "He Chose the Nails" is a book all about God's love and sacrifice for his people. The book discusses the life and death of Jesus, intertwined with personal stories to reinforce the deep love of God for each and every person. The tagline on the front of the book reads, "What God did to win your heart", and that is the foundation of the book - the amazing sacrifice of Jesus that allowed us to be close to our Creator. This book is very empowering, showing God for exactly what he is - a loving father, willing to sacrifice his own son to allow us to have a relationship with him. Lucado adds his own personal insights and stories that only add to the book's message, and allow us to connect with the reality of God's love. This book is wonderful, and I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    What He chose to do for you

    I love Max Lucado's books and it was no different. Lucado does a good job of combining everyday examples of life with the imagery of the cross to paint a compelling picture of God's love as demonstrated by sending the perfect lamb of Jesus Christ to live among sinful beings and to die on their behalf only to conquer the grave and be physically resurrected for the world to see. He uses the nail, the crown of thorns, the clothes that were taken from Jesus, the clothes that were put on him, the two other crosses beside him, and even the soldiers spit to explain the many things that had to happen to bring us salvation. This is a great book for Easter...or anytime of year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Considering that Easter is right around the corner and this week

    Considering that Easter is right around the corner and this week is the Passion week for Catholics as well as a lot of Protestants, Max Lucado’s He Chose the Nails is quite appropriate.
    In this book, Max invites us to stop and ponder about the meaning of things that we usually forget to notice: the soldier’s spit, Jesus’ clothes that were divided among the men who crucified Him, the sign above Jesus’ head, the other two crosses. All these demonstrate God’s love.
    I did this for you.
    That’s one thing that will never cease to amaze me. He did all of this for me. Jesus went on this tough and scary journey for me. For you.
    Like the other Lucado books, this one is written simply, but so powerfully that there are times when you simply stop reading and marvel… and it feels as if you are getting a second wind and everything in you blossoms, past hurts forgotten because you can’t stop smiling – He loves you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Memorable

    While I am not a big fan of Max Lucado, I found this book to be a wonderful read and would like to go back and use it as a Bible study. I read it for a book club and fell in love with it after the first few pages. We used it as a pre-Easter selection and it surpassed my expectations. It definitely deepens your appreciation of all that was done on the cross.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This is a great book that is a must read for everyone; it is simple and an easy read yet very deep, encouraging, and life changing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Eye Opening

    The contents of this book were well organized in a logical proceeding manner, and were easy to understand and follow. The descriptions and stories used to articulate the author's points were eye opening and thought provoking. They provided a new way to see things that might already be familiar to the reader, and they were intriguing, even if the contents are unfamiliar to the reader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jesus' Wonderful Choice For All People,

    Max Lucado, a wonderful writer and teacher, brings it on home to us again in another one of his easily explained books.<BR/>In HE CHOSE THE NAILS, Mr. Lucado elucidates on every detail of the promises of the cross and the symbols pertaining to the crucifixion.<BR/>When you as a person are in physical pain or mental agony or abuse, or even when you feel as though the world has turned it's back on you, let me invite you to witness the sufferings and insults which our Saviour bore, highlighted in this book. His humiliations, physical pain, and shame are paramount,when we compare them with how we whine about our little aches, complaints and oppression in this world. May Jesus reign supreme....our only hope......our comfort and SALVATION. For us, HE CHOSE THE NAILS<BR/>Reviewed by Sugar-Cane, Bridgetwon, Barbados. 01/01/09

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    A True Story

    What a wonderful true story about the price Jesus paid for us all. I hope many will read this book and read the sacrfice that Jesus paid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3