Customer Reviews for

He Needed Killing

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I just finished "He Needed Killing." I loved it. I kno

I just finished "He Needed Killing." I loved it. I know that isn't a very good review of the book so I'll try to do better. . . . This book is Southern in the best sense of the word. I haven't heard some of the language from the book since my Grandmother "...
I just finished "He Needed Killing." I loved it. I know that isn't a very good review of the book so I'll try to do better. . . . This book is Southern in the best sense of the word. I haven't heard some of the language from the book since my Grandmother "passed." The book may seem to start slow, but the beauty is, that without realizing it, you are captured and can't wait to turn the page. It has been a while since I've heard great southern expressions presented in a way that lack sarcasm and show appreciation for true southern linguists. Attention to detail and the simplistic depth to detail is jaw dropping.

posted by reata on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bad

This book needs killing. Incrdibly boring. Couldnt get past pg 71 it was so boring. Dont waste time with this.

posted by 8888649 on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    I just finished "He Needed Killing." I loved it. I kno

    I just finished "He Needed Killing." I loved it. I know that isn't a very good review of the book so I'll try to do better. . . . This book is Southern in the best sense of the word. I haven't heard some of the language from the book since my Grandmother "passed." The book may seem to start slow, but the beauty is, that without realizing it, you are captured and can't wait to turn the page. It has been a while since I've heard great southern expressions presented in a way that lack sarcasm and show appreciation for true southern linguists. Attention to detail and the simplistic depth to detail is jaw dropping.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Very interesting

    It was wonderful to read a mystery-crime story without all the blood and gore. The main character was fun to get to know. He was a regular man who eats at home.....a nice change.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    I am so glad to have a new author in the tradition of Robert Par

    I am so glad to have a new author in the tradition of Robert Parker.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A fun book with well-drawn characters (both human and pet). If you like Robert B. Parker's Spenser mysteries, you'll almost certainly like the Needed Killing Series. Crawford, narrator and amateur sleuth, is charming and witty.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Loved this book!! Detective James F. Crawford reminds me of grea

    Loved this book!! Detective James F. Crawford reminds me of great detectives found in Anne George or Robert Parker mysteries!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Great

    Great read love the characters

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book.  Great characters, great story.  Loo

    I really enjoyed this book.  Great characters, great story.  Looking forward to the second book in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Edit the fluff

    I figure I owe you a review. I loved the writing style, the characters and the plot. I couldn't get past the extras. I stopped reading when you went into detail about how he cleaned his gas grillwith the stone thing, took meat out to thaw (no wait, he meant to but forgot), what went into the rib sauce. Way too much. Please keep writing. I like your style, we don't need to know EVERYTHING though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Bad

    This book needs killing. Incrdibly boring. Couldnt get past pg 71 it was so boring. Dont waste time with this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    I finished reading "He Needed Killing" and immediately

    I finished reading "He Needed Killing" and immediately bought the second in the series ("He Needed Killing Too"). I really enjoyed them both. They are fun and easy to read. They remind me of books by my two favorite authors, Lawrence Sanders and Stuart Woods.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Good for a new author jmm44

    An unexpected murderer is found at the end

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    There is no superhero, no nuclear destruction, just a very fine

    There is no superhero, no nuclear destruction, just a very fine read. You believe the characters and the settings are real. The story moves along, you LIKE the main character, and you want more. Since there is at least one more in the series, that's ok also. Just read it- you will be glad you did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book! I love a mystery that gives you clu

    I really enjoyed this book! I love a mystery that gives you clues throughout and when you get to the end you go "OF Course!" Why didn't I see that all along! Loved James F. Crawford and his animal pals

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I have read both books and look forward to the next in the serie

    I have read both books and look forward to the next in the series. It is refreshing to read a mystery with out all of the blood. I am from the south so I could really relate to places, food, and southern language references.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    While the storyline and the characters were good, there was way

    While the storyline and the characters were good, there was way too much trivial detail. The character makes spaghetti for dinner, and we have pages of nuking the frozen sauce, testing it, renuking it, taking out the double boiler, warmign the sauch in the top, cooking the spaghetti in the bottom, blah blah blah. I just wanted it to stop!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    I'm surprised by the 5 star revews. This book fell far below a

    I'm surprised by the 5 star revews. This book fell far below acceptable for a murder mystery. The generic pet names - Tan and The Black - are a good indicator of the lack of developement of characters and plot line.

    One of James Ford Crawford's descriptions of the deceased, Sean, was that Sean enjoyed hearing himself speak too much. That could be said of Crawford as well. There was little action in the book. Most pages were devoted to Crawford explaining how smart he was to have figured who dunnit and why.

    Don't waste your time on this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    BORING!!!

    I couldn't finish this book. I made it halfway through, to the excrutiatingly detailed description of preparing a spaghetti dinner, when I threw up my hands in surrender. Halfway through and the murder mystery was JUST starting. The author has potential; the writing flows smoothly, but the author needs to learn which elements are important to support the story and which are not. Cut out about 50% of this book and it might be worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Our hero, Crawford, is a delight; the kind of guy you wish was y

    Our hero, Crawford, is a delight; the kind of guy you wish was your neighbor.  The storyline kept me hooked, and Fitts does a wonderful job of painting his daily life.  Love the details--they made me KNOW him and how his mind works.  Can't wait to read the second!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    I only finished the book because I have a personal rule to finish any book I start

    To much time spent writing aboout what the main character had for dinner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    What a great first book!  I thoroughly enjoyed getting to meet J

    What a great first book!  I thoroughly enjoyed getting to meet James Crawford.  Apparently Mr. Fitts took the adage "Write what you know" to heart.  The book has a strong sense of character and place. It reminds me of books by Dick Francis - I always enjoyed getting to know his protagonists and the worlds they lived in.   I only know the world of British racing through those books; however, having lived in a university town, I can vouch that Mr. Fitts has captured that experience with insight and humor.  Looking forward to more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4