Customer Reviews for

He Needed Killing

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I just finished "He Needed Killing." I loved it. I kno

I just finished "He Needed Killing." I loved it. I know that isn't a very good review of the book so I'll try to do better. . . . This book is Southern in the best sense of the word. I haven't heard some of the language from the book since my Grandmother "...
I just finished "He Needed Killing." I loved it. I know that isn't a very good review of the book so I'll try to do better. . . . This book is Southern in the best sense of the word. I haven't heard some of the language from the book since my Grandmother "passed." The book may seem to start slow, but the beauty is, that without realizing it, you are captured and can't wait to turn the page. It has been a while since I've heard great southern expressions presented in a way that lack sarcasm and show appreciation for true southern linguists. Attention to detail and the simplistic depth to detail is jaw dropping.

posted by reata on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bad

This book needs killing. Incrdibly boring. Couldnt get past pg 71 it was so boring. Dont waste time with this.

posted by 8888649 on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    I just finished "He Needed Killing." I loved it. I kno

    I just finished "He Needed Killing." I loved it. I know that isn't a very good review of the book so I'll try to do better. . . . This book is Southern in the best sense of the word. I haven't heard some of the language from the book since my Grandmother "passed." The book may seem to start slow, but the beauty is, that without realizing it, you are captured and can't wait to turn the page. It has been a while since I've heard great southern expressions presented in a way that lack sarcasm and show appreciation for true southern linguists. Attention to detail and the simplistic depth to detail is jaw dropping.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Very interesting

    It was wonderful to read a mystery-crime story without all the blood and gore. The main character was fun to get to know. He was a regular man who eats at home.....a nice change.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    I am so glad to have a new author in the tradition of Robert Par

    I am so glad to have a new author in the tradition of Robert Parker.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A fun book with well-drawn characters (both human and pet). If you like Robert B. Parker's Spenser mysteries, you'll almost certainly like the Needed Killing Series. Crawford, narrator and amateur sleuth, is charming and witty.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Loved this book!! Detective James F. Crawford reminds me of grea

    Loved this book!! Detective James F. Crawford reminds me of great detectives found in Anne George or Robert Parker mysteries!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Great

    Great read love the characters

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book.  Great characters, great story.  Loo

    I really enjoyed this book.  Great characters, great story.  Looking forward to the second book in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    I finished reading "He Needed Killing" and immediately

    I finished reading "He Needed Killing" and immediately bought the second in the series ("He Needed Killing Too"). I really enjoyed them both. They are fun and easy to read. They remind me of books by my two favorite authors, Lawrence Sanders and Stuart Woods.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    There is no superhero, no nuclear destruction, just a very fine

    There is no superhero, no nuclear destruction, just a very fine read. You believe the characters and the settings are real. The story moves along, you LIKE the main character, and you want more. Since there is at least one more in the series, that's ok also. Just read it- you will be glad you did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book! I love a mystery that gives you clu

    I really enjoyed this book! I love a mystery that gives you clues throughout and when you get to the end you go "OF Course!" Why didn't I see that all along! Loved James F. Crawford and his animal pals

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I have read both books and look forward to the next in the serie

    I have read both books and look forward to the next in the series. It is refreshing to read a mystery with out all of the blood. I am from the south so I could really relate to places, food, and southern language references.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Our hero, Crawford, is a delight; the kind of guy you wish was y

    Our hero, Crawford, is a delight; the kind of guy you wish was your neighbor.  The storyline kept me hooked, and Fitts does a wonderful job of painting his daily life.  Love the details--they made me KNOW him and how his mind works.  Can't wait to read the second!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    What a great first book!  I thoroughly enjoyed getting to meet J

    What a great first book!  I thoroughly enjoyed getting to meet James Crawford.  Apparently Mr. Fitts took the adage "Write what you know" to heart.  The book has a strong sense of character and place. It reminds me of books by Dick Francis - I always enjoyed getting to know his protagonists and the worlds they lived in.   I only know the world of British racing through those books; however, having lived in a university town, I can vouch that Mr. Fitts has captured that experience with insight and humor.  Looking forward to more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    I have just finished Book 1, He Needed Killing.  A delightful re

    I have just finished Book 1, He Needed Killing.  A delightful read!  So much to love!  The characters are people we've known and loved - Rufus, Crawford, Bobby - and those loved not so much - Sean, Veronica.  And poor, poor Albert.  I love the weaving of technology through the story and its role in the solution and in the reveal as they say on home improvement shows.  Fitts clearly has an insider's perspective on the lovelier parts of the historical South as he deftly refreshes the reality with updated experiences across all categories - gender, age, race, social station, and more.  Great read!   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Loved it

    Loved it so much i already bought and read book too in the series. He is improving with each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was a fun and easy read. Well

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was a fun and easy read. Well written. I enjoyed the second book as well and look forward to the next installment from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I enjoyed this book very much and have ordered the second book a

    I enjoyed this book very much and have ordered the second book already. For those of us who live in the town of "Shelbyville," it is great fun to try to identify people and places (including now defunct bars like the Polo Grounds that were destroyed as part of urban renewal). I also liked the way Fitts incorporated his technological

    expertise into the story with that extremely interesting explanation of how he used the media room to try to create a virtual reality from the point of view of the potato salad. HAHA. That's an example of the wonderful wit in this book. Another example is the visibility of the paprika as a significant clue. I really liked the descriptions of food and cooking as a window into the world of Crawford and how his mind worked; I just realized that the whole description of cleaning of the grill, with the biodegradable ingredient that should be brushed off (strongly recommended) was a kind of foreshadowing. The use of "Black" and "Tan for pet names has wonderfully complex allusions to dogs, alcoholic drinks, and the constabulary (google it). I appreciated the descriptions of Crawford's interactions with his pets, revealing both the interesting personalities of the pets but also Crawford's caring nature and his coping strategies after losing his wife. Fitts's ability to capture clever male banter was great (although I wasn't as enthusiastic about the heterosexual banter but I'm not sure why). The perspective on the university provided insight into the world of the professional staff and also brought in other workers; I was intrigued to see potential union organizing. The pacing kept me involved all the way through. I appreciated the explicit use of literary tropes!!. I laughed out loud a couple of times at the sheer cleverness of the writing. I think that Fitts did a great job of providing detailed and concrete description with moment-by-moment action that fit in perfectly with the whole process of thought of the detective (and things were left out appropriately, for us to learn at the right time--e.g., Bobby's info provided in the Polo Grounds at the end.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Well-written, particularly for a first novel. I am eager to read

    Well-written, particularly for a first novel. I am eager to read the next book in the series. Crawford is an engaging protagonist and the interactions between him and his pets are delightful.
    I agree with the reviewer who praised the southernisms.  Fitts has an engaging authorial voice. And I do love a man who cooks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Good Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Great book! I couldn't put it down. Very good characters and sto

    Great book! I couldn't put it down. Very good characters and story! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2