Customer Reviews for

He Shall Thunder in the Sky (Amelia Peabody Series #12)

Average Rating 5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    I love a great series... I always hope they never end!

    I have watched the character from a baby to age 20 and everything that has happened in his life. His parents have aged marvelously. Elizabeth Peters is truly a gifted writer as she takes us through all these wonderful adventures with this family, both in England and in Egypt. It makes me want to travel to Egypt someday to see these sights.
    I love the way she mixes the romance and the adventure.
    Just can't stop reading!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Elizabeth Peters Fan

    I have read this book countless times, and it is still just as good as the first time. Elizabeth Peters is phenomenal, her writing style is smart, witty, and clever. He Shall Thunder in the Sky is an exciting read. I totally recommend the Amelia Peabody series for anyone. Peters has a way of including romance in her books without being explicit which is refreshing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    So Excited!

    I must admit that in THE FALCON IN THE PORTAL, after Nefret and Ramses have that wonderful romantic interlude, then she runs off with the chappy (Unfortunately I can't remember how one spells his name) I was terribly disappointed, I think that I even threw the book down and cursed Ms. Peters for destroying Ramses and Nefret. But However when i read HE SHALL THUNDER IN THE SKY, and in the end one just knows that they'll get married, I was So excited!! i jumped up and down. I couldn't wait to hear more about them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Great stories

    Elizabeth Peter's Amelia Peabody books are wonderful. Each one better than the last. They make me want to go to Egypt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Spottedkit

    Nice job, Petalstorm. :D (i am going to start my med training tomorrow, yay!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    To Cardinal

    Written like a Warriors book. Wonderful beggining, it was enough to catch my attention. Can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Thundering Skies- Chapter One

    Silverkit sat impatiently, her brother, Talonkit, sitting beside her. Talonkit leaned over to her and whispered, "Do you think she's ok?" Silverkit looked t him her eyes filled with worry. Im sure she is. She's our sister, and she can't die. Because she is gonna become the strongest warrior in the forest." She meowed. Then there was a sound from the medicane cat den. Talonkit angled his ears to it and a big black and brown tom padded out. The tom looked at the kits. "Im sorry my darlings but......Spottedkit is dead." Silverkit gasped in horror. Talonkit ran up to the tom. "She can't be! She is strong!" The tom nuzzled Talonkit. "Its ok my son. You've still got Silverkit." Silverkit padded up to them sadly. They could hear wails from the den, obviously from their mother, Goldentail. Silverkit whimpered at the thought of Spottedkit dead. The tom went back to the medicane den to calm Goldentail down. Thornstar, a large golden brown tom, padded up to the sad kits. "What is happening?" The leader asked. Talonkit answered. "Spottedkit is...dead." He broke out into sobs. Thornstar frowned. "I am so sorry for you two kits loss." He dipped his head to the kits. Silverkit left the two toms and went to spread the sad news. First she went to tell the elders. Redpelt and Mooncloud, her mothers parents, rushed up to the kit. "What is wrong?" Asked Redpelt. "Spottedkit is dead." Silverkit meowed. "Oh my." Mooncloud said. She nodded and then went to the queens and oter kits. Roseflight was there, who was expecting kits any day now, and so was Frostcloud. Her kits, Bluekit and Hawkkit, bounded up to Silverkit. "Want to play mossball?" Hawkkit asked. Silverkit walked past them and went up to the two queens. Sh opened her mouth to tell them but Frostcloud stopped her. "Its ok Silverkit. Me and Roseflight already know. And almost half the warriors do, too." She pointedith her tail to a group of warriors and a queen, Petalstorm, talking in quiet voices. Silverkit nodded and then headed to her brother. She guessed that the apprentices knew already, as of two of them being her older siblings. Talonkit was laying on the floor sobbing his eyes out. He must had seen the body. He left him there and went to the med den to see it. Skyfall, Goldentail, Acornfall the medicane cat, and Mosspaw the med cat apprentice were all there. Just then, there was comotion in the main part of camp. She stuck her head out of the med den and saw four warriors, Rainheart, Whitefoot, Blizzardpelt, and Midnightwhisker run in. They ran to Thornstar. He asked, "What is going on?" Rainheart answered. "We spotted a PineClan battle patrol at the border!" Thornstar nodded and ran up the flame tree. "All cats old enough to catch their own prey gather beneath the Flame Tree for a clan meeting!" Everyone gathered below and looked up at him. "Everyone prepare for a battle! PineClan has been spotted at the border with a battle patrol!" He yelled. Roseflight, Frostcloud, and all the kits went to the nursery. Petalstorm stood outside the nursery with Blizzardpelt, Sandpelt, and Cardinalfeather. Skyfall and Goldentail dashed out of the medicane den and both went to the elders den to protect Redpelt, Mooncloud, and Owlwing. Arrowpaw, Dawnpaw, and Cloverpaw prepared for battle with their mentors while Patchpaw scurried up to Watch Rock to look over the forest....<p>
    Please leave a comment! Next chapter in result two! Hope you liked it!<p>
    ~Cardinal (^•)>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Another great read

    This storyline was a bit different from Ms. Peters' usual stories. It dealt more with the Emerson family's involvement during World War One in that part of the world. It would be unfair to give away most of the story here -- one must savor the expense and drama firsthand. To those persons, I wish happy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Still going strong

    I read a lot of series books and by the time the twelfth one comes along, more often than not the author has run out of steam; "jumped the shark" as they say. Not so with Elizabeth Peters. Her characters continue to mature and grow and are people with whom I enjoy spending time. They have their faults and I admit that I became so mad at Nefret in this one, that I had to remind myself that this is fiction to get to sleep! There is never a dirth of dire circumstances that Amelia and her family find themselves involved in, but my credulity is never stretched beyond endurance. I highly recommend this series to anyone who enjoys an author who respects her readers and seasons adventure with humor and warmth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorites in this series

    Ramses' relationship with Nefret works itself out in this installment. And this is one of the better plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    I absoulty Loved It!!

    This is my favorite Amelia Peabody Mystery! It had Everything. I was laughing my head off at Emerson and Ramses. And then the end, it was all I could have hoped for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    A+ for Elizabeth Peters on this book

    i really enjoyed he shall thunder in the sky, though it was the first book of the amelia peabody series that i ever laid my eyes upon, the plot kept me so into it that i never wanted to put it down!!! i also fell in love with Ramses and how he struggled to keep his feelings for Nefret hidden from everyone who didn't know what had happened between them in falcon at the portal i am currently trying to find and read all the books in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Bring on More Ramses And Nefret

    I have all the books on Peabody BUT I Loved Ramses as a child and am really crazy for more of him and Nefret. Love Sethos too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    Amelia and the clan are BACK!!!

    For everyone who has been on pins and needles since 'Falcon at the Portal,' look out! The entire Emerson clan is back in the newest edition of their outrageous adventures. Prepare for the usual suspense, adventure, and of course romance. Fans of the old and new generation will be most pleased. Personally, I have been a huge fan and have read all twelve titles. 'He Shall Thunder In The Sky' is a wonderful book and lays certain controversies to rest. This is definitely Ms. Peters at her greatest. For all you Master Criminal fans, which myself am included prepare to see another side of the mysterious man we call Sethos. In short 'He Shall Thunder In The Sky' is a book that is not to be missed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Together At Last

    I loved this book. Ihad been so disappointed at the plot direction taken in 'Falcon' where Nefret dumps Ramses and marries another. It was too Mills and Boonish. I'm glad the relationship was resolved in 'Thunder'. It was back to the good old mystery and I found it very exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Great but Not Peters's Best

    These characters have become a part of my life. Amelia's humor and ladylike outrageousness have been the hallmark of the entire series. However, as the Emersons' children have grown up in the last two books, Amelia's centrality has been diminished. The plotting has become less inevitably woven, as we are carried from one crisis to another. Extraneous characters are intoduced, and the books' core characters, superbly drawn over several volumes, are less convincingly motivated than I have come to expect. The truth is, I feel that Barbara Michaels, Ms. Peters's romance-writing self, has intruded upon her far more sophisticated and engaging mystery-writing self. Unlike other readers, I want Ms. Peters to slow down and take her time with the next installment of the Emerson family's adventures. The series is precious to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    Finally!! Waiting for the next !!

    Waiting for the next Amelia Peabody book is like waiting for a letter from an old friend, never disappointing , always appreciated. The Emerson's are so fully developed and fleshed that if I were to see them on the street, I would know them instantly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    Amazing

    I just finished my freshman year of high school when I began to read this amazing book. It was the first Peabody mystery I have read so I was a bit hesitant to read it. The reading was difficult if your not a strong reader, and give up easily, but I love egyptology and mysteries so I found my perfect match. With characters that you can almost call over for lunch, and a storyline that you imagine as a movie, He Shall Thunder In the Sky is the perfect book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    Wonderful!

    I am never disappointed when I pick up the next account of the Emerson's adventures. This latest installment in the Amelia Peabody series leaves the reader breathless and wanting more. Many thanks to Elizabeth Peters for the hours of enjoyment. Please hurry with the next one . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2000

    Thanks Kirsten 'AWESOME BOOK'

    This is a very good book. I would recomend this book to any person out there. I would like to thank my friend Kirsten O. for telling me about this book without her telling me of Elizabeth Peters, I would not have read such a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3