BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Head Over Heels (Lucky Harbor Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Head Over Heels With This Book!

First let me say I am ecstatic to have found a new favorite author. Head Over Heels by Jill Shalvis is a fun and steamy contemporary romance. There were so many things I loved about this book! The chemistry is HOT between Chloe, the "wild child" and Sawyer the reformed ...
First let me say I am ecstatic to have found a new favorite author. Head Over Heels by Jill Shalvis is a fun and steamy contemporary romance. There were so many things I loved about this book! The chemistry is HOT between Chloe, the "wild child" and Sawyer the reformed "bad boy." I love that we really get to know them as a reader and when they finally get together it's explosive! Shalvis' writing is witty and fun. The best way to describe her writing is she writes what others think, but fail to say. Shalvis does a wonderful job character building, as I read it I really felt like I was part of Lucky Harbor. I loved the quotations under each chapter number, the more I read about Chloe the more I thought, "yeah she would say that." My only complaint is I wish there would've been something about Lance in the epilogue. Although he was minor character in the story I really thought he was a great addition. I was rooting for his Happy Ending too, but maybe it was better to leave things the way they were. Overall, I really loved this story and the characters within it were fantastic! I can't wait for the next Lucky Harbor novel. I will be impatiently anticipating her next novel Lucky in Love. June sounds so far away! I highly recommend this novel to anyone who loves a great contemporary romance! The best part about this book is it's part of a series of Lucky Harbor Novels.

posted by BoekieBookReview on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved Chloe & Sawyer

My Review:

Ever since we met Chloe with her debilitating asthma and her contentious relationship with the town sheriff, Sawyer, I have been excited about their story. I just knew that it was going to be wonderful and I was so right! This was a WONDERFUL book! This bo...
My Review:

Ever since we met Chloe with her debilitating asthma and her contentious relationship with the town sheriff, Sawyer, I have been excited about their story. I just knew that it was going to be wonderful and I was so right! This was a WONDERFUL book! This book epitomizes everything that I love about contemporary romance.


The heroine, Chloe, is feisty, although she has had obstacles growing up that would weaken a lesser character. The hero, Sawyer, is pure alpha, but still maintains his wonderful emotion and compassion. There is a great back-story for both these characters, both in their childhood, but also in the history of their relationship which has definitely been rocky from the start. Chloe doesn't think twice about skirting the edge of the law if she thinks it will right a wrong. That is definitely NOT something that Sawyer likes about her especially since he seems to be catching her at one illegal activity or other all in the name of the greater good. The issue though is that he can't seem to help but admire her gumption and stubbornness even in the face of what could be a life threatening illness for her.


Through it all, there are several back and sub-stories which were equally intriguing...Sawyer working with the DEA and his conflict over the issues with his childhood accomplice, Todd. Sawyer is also dealing with his elderly and ill father. Their's has never been an easy relationship, but it was wonderful to see that change a bit in this book. Chloe is still trying to find her place with her two sisters and their B&B business, so she is working at building a new day spa. Chloe's best friend is Lance and he is dying from cystic fibrosis. His story is so heart-wrenching especially watching it from Chloe's point of view. There are really some wonderful story lines in this awesome book!


I have honestly loved every book in this series and this was the perfect final book about these awesome three sisters. I have heard, and am so excited about the fact, that there are going to be three more Lucky Harbor books next year. Yippee!!! I love me some Jill Shalvis reading and with the glimpses that we saw of Cute Guy in this one, they definitely promise to be some more MUST-READ books!

posted by SmittenWithReading on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Head Over Heels With This Book!

    First let me say I am ecstatic to have found a new favorite author. Head Over Heels by Jill Shalvis is a fun and steamy contemporary romance. There were so many things I loved about this book! The chemistry is HOT between Chloe, the "wild child" and Sawyer the reformed "bad boy." I love that we really get to know them as a reader and when they finally get together it's explosive! Shalvis' writing is witty and fun. The best way to describe her writing is she writes what others think, but fail to say. Shalvis does a wonderful job character building, as I read it I really felt like I was part of Lucky Harbor. I loved the quotations under each chapter number, the more I read about Chloe the more I thought, "yeah she would say that." My only complaint is I wish there would've been something about Lance in the epilogue. Although he was minor character in the story I really thought he was a great addition. I was rooting for his Happy Ending too, but maybe it was better to leave things the way they were. Overall, I really loved this story and the characters within it were fantastic! I can't wait for the next Lucky Harbor novel. I will be impatiently anticipating her next novel Lucky in Love. June sounds so far away! I highly recommend this novel to anyone who loves a great contemporary romance! The best part about this book is it's part of a series of Lucky Harbor Novels.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was fun, sexy, and enticing!

    Sisters.Chloe is the youngest and the most irresponsible. Of course, she also has the biggest heart and the biggest problem staying still.
    Trying to stay out of trouble and keep their joint venture B&B out of the wrong pages of the newspaper is starting to wear on her nerves – well, That and trying to avoid the straight-arrow, by-the-book sheriff who is obviously a dead end for her.
    If only she could stop herself.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    exc series

    Head Over Heels by Jill Shalvis
    Love the quotes in the recipe box that their mom had started in previous book and the girls have kept up in each of their books.
    Chloe, the wild one, is always up to something. She's involved with Lance who has CF and lives on the edge. The local sheriff always seems to be right there when she gets home. He's not yet arrested her as he doesn't want to bring bad attention to the B&B her
    sisters are running. Her sisters are almost married to his best friend and his brother.
    A neighbor wants to fight pit bull vs pit bull and have wagers. She and Lance say it's not right to make dogs harm themselves to death so they crossed the wire fence to let dogs out.
    She got cut up really bad and ended up having to go to the ER to get fixed up.
    Find it very interesting to learn of the different natural products you can mix to help with spa treatment areas: frizzy hair, dry skin, etc Terror strikes when she gets anonymous heavy breather phone calls.
    She tries to win over her sisters by talking about how she'd turn one room of the inn into a spa, this way she'd NOT have to leave to do her treatments at hotels.
    I like Chloe's iphone app the magic 8 ball where you ask it a yes or no question. They all
    have fun with it.
    She's been spending a lot of time with Sawyer, helping paint his house, bringing him lunch, etc.
    Drug deals, runaway bride, kidnapping, revenge and mud springs all lead us to the finale.
    What a really nice treat at the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    An exceptional book- hard to put down. Enjoyed it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Shalvis Keeper... Loved it

    Head Over Heels by Jill Shalvis is another hot and sexy read in the Lucky Harbor series.

    Chloe Traeger has never been one to put down roots. She has always been on the go and even reuniting with her sisters hasn’t put a stop to her living life on the edge. But spending so much time in Lucky Harbor getting the B&B up and running has her rethinking that the life on the road isn’t all its cracked up to be anymore. Add to that mix is her being drawn to the by the books sheriff in town, Sawyer Thompson.

    Sheriff Sawyer Thompson has kept his eyes on wild child Chloe Traeger since she blew into town months ago. Sawyer has had to grow up quickly with a these then stellar parent and Chloe makes him rethink his straight arrow way of life. Keeping Chloe out of trouble has become a fulltime job for Sawyer but its one that he doesn’t might spending his time watching over her.

    Chloe and Sawyer are true opposites that send sparks flying when ever they are together. They both are fine on their own but its something extra special when they quit fighting their feelings and give their relationship the green light. This series has been an absolute treat, it great to revisit past characters each new book. Looking forward to more books in this delightful series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    You don't want to miss this one

    Jill Shalvis has done it again!!!

    In Simply Irresistible, the first book in this series, we were introduced to Chloe. She was the youngest of the three sisters and extremely free spirited. She enjoys life to it's fullest and rubs the town's Sheriff the wrong way. This continues in The Sweetest Thing, book 2, but we notice that she is starting to settle down some. In HEAD OVER HEELS, we finally get to hear her story.

    Chloe is still very free spirited but we learn that she is a bit lost. She has severe asthma and isn't able to do most things but that doesn't stop her from enjoying life. Until the town's ruggedly sexy and extremely stern Sheriff steps in to tame her wild ways.

    I absolutely loved this story. Chloe is sweet and kind yet wild and free. Sawyer is quiet, confident, and extremely kind. And did I mention hot? Wooohooo he is one sexy man. They both have a past that they are trying to overcome and they find comfort in each other. The smexin is hot and sexy and extremely sweet. There is a scene, once Sawyer learns to deal with her asthma, that had my tearing up because he was so thoughtful and caring. The chemistry between the characters burns up the pages and the banter between the two will have you chuckling the whole way through. This story was very well rounded and had all the characteristics of a must read story. I recommend you start at the beginning of the series to get the full effect of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good book

    I just finished Head over Heels and I really enjoyed it! The characters were likeable and their chemistry was great. can't wait to read the next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2014

    Ok I just read this whole series well up till the last one out a

    Ok I just read this whole series well up till the last one out and can't wait till the next one comes out! This Town sounds like a great place to be! I want to go visit lol Started with this one Loved it went back and made sure I had them all . Waiting for the next . I would recommend this series ! Love Laughs and yes some heat :D Thank you for this fun series !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    A hired assassin

    Laughs coldly,"Do you think My lady is stupid enough to leave me unprotected? Shes a Sorceruss and she makes certain potions.". Attacks the pups and stabs scout and throws throwing stars at leo and hope. Slices blakes neck and chokes grace. "That was fun and easier than I thought it woukd be", I chuckle darkly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Piper

    Ha bye i turn invisible d wk through the barrior

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Hmmmm

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    I loved this book the most out of the series. Love Sawyer and Ch

    I loved this book the most out of the series. Love Sawyer and Chloe's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Awesome Read

    This book is great. I loved Choe and Sawyer. This series is really great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    A Must read for any Romance fan!

    take another trip to Lucky Harbor nad visit with Chloe and Sawyer as they fall in Love, and catch up with the rest of the townspeople as well. this book will keep you on the edge of your seat. Another great read by the wonderful Jill Shalvis!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome again to Lucky Harbor where Men are Men, Woman are woman

    Welcome again to Lucky Harbor where Men are Men, Woman are woman and the children are above average;
    and then there is Chloe. A woman who is so free-spirited nobody can settle down with, and that's the way
    she wants it - or is it?

    As Chloe is watching her sisters transform into something new and getting ready to be married,
    Chloe starts to feel a little empty in some places. So she tries to do daredevil things no one thought of doing.
    Mostly to fill up that void but also to beat her asthma. Of course she can get any man to be with her,
    but for the same reasons she's not sure anymore. Well, with one exception - the Sheriff.

    Sheriff Sawyer isn't any kind of man Chloe has run up against with, nor is he someone who you can
    just smile and he'll be wrapped around your finger, no sir! This man can't be tied, can't be stilled until the
    right woman comes along. And it sure ain't that wild untamable as the sea Chloe.

    Or so they thought.


    This one I actually wish I could have 7 stars. I really liked this one. Mostly because it's about a young
    woman who wants to do everything, and see everything but is starting to feel a little lonely but doesn't know
    how to show it. Also (a little spoiler alert here) the way Sawyer treats her with her asthma and helps her
    along when she comes to a "situation" it just touches my heart. When reading this, I kept asking my friend
    who has read Jill Shalvis so many times she knows them by heart if he has a brother...then I started thinking
    wait a minute, he's a fiction character!!! Darn it! 

    A must read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This book is my favorite of the first three books in the Lucky Harbor Series. Chloe and Sawyer had great chemistry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Hi Fawnpaw!

    What are you doing here? My names Charm and I am wondering if you have any suggestion for moving through forest charm? I will move if you wiish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    OH YES!

    LOVED IT! What a great read! Read in about 2 days (sorry, was busy at work and couldn't stop to read) but I read at home, in bed, in the Starbucks line and in the pedicure chair!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    I like the book very much and would recommend it for anyone to read. I have read the whole series. The book keeps you interested to read more and to keep reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    This was my 1st Jill Shalvis book but it definitely won't be my

    This was my 1st Jill Shalvis book but it definitely won't be my last! I loved this book. Shalvis has great, well-developed, flawed but likeable characters. I feel like I have a new friend in Chloe and I want to get to know her -- and everyone else in Lucky Harbor -- a little better. Can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8