Customer Reviews for

Head To Head

Average Rating 4
( 503 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(232)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Plot Spoilers Reviews

Never read long reviews!!! Problem solved!

posted by 9334803 on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

riveting and chilling thriller

After working Robbery/Homicide in Los Angeles and undergoing a horrible tragedy homicide detective Claire Morgan moves to Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri where the biggest crimes are domestic disturbances someone stealing a lawn ornament, and x-rated phone calls. That all...
After working Robbery/Homicide in Los Angeles and undergoing a horrible tragedy homicide detective Claire Morgan moves to Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri where the biggest crimes are domestic disturbances someone stealing a lawn ornament, and x-rated phone calls. That all changes when a murder occurs at Cedar Bend Lodge which is owned and operated by the wealthy and charismatic Nicholas Black. The victim, a famous soap opera star, is found posed underwater sitting at a table covered with kitchen items as if she was waiting for a meal to be served. --- At first Claire thinks Nick is the most likely suspect especially when someone attacks her and puts her in the water to drown. She arrests Nick then and there she but he is released after cops prove with the security tapes he wasn¿t the person who attacked her. When she learns the relationship between the victim and Nick, she crosses him off her suspects list and he begins helping them profile the serial killer. The medical examiner discovers that it is the victim¿s body but someone else¿s face attached to the body. When another victim wearing the first victim¿s face is found in the place where they tape the soaps in L.A. is found Claire¿s past is exposed. Her boss is so livid he suspends her but she is later reinstated and finds herself in danger because she was the target all along. --- Linda Ladd has written a riveting and chilling thriller that is really two stories in one. The second story is about a child called Brat who is the victim of physical, sexual and emotional abuse who at the age of fourteen began a killing spree. He kills the victims and chops off their heads so they can keep his mother¿s head company. How this relates to the main storyline is an another great mystery written by an author who knows how to create two separate but parallel stories. HEAD TO HEAD IS memorizing and exciting reading and the sexual tension that exists between Claire and Nick adds an extra layer to this fantastic novel. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    This book was neither a detective thriller or humorous. It trie

    This book was neither a detective thriller or humorous. It tried to address both aspects and failed on both. Wouldn't read any more books by this author.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Nasty story!

    This book was written well, but the murders were so twisted and gruesome that I almost didn't finish the book. And the ending was SO farfetched! Linda Ladd can do better!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    very good

    Lots of suspense , enjoyed very much

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Not a good start for a series

    The setting was an area I'm very familiar with so I had high hopes. The farther into the book I got, the worse it became. I almost skipped to the end but chose not to, my mistake. The plot line started losing its grip about halfway through the book, details weren't carried through and finally it just degenerated into a horror/slasher parody of a murder mystery. Unless you like horror/slasher serial murder mysteries, don't bother reading this. I'm not going to look for any other books in the series since the original publish date of this was seven years ago. They might be out there but I'm not interested. I deleted it from my Nook library.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Scary killer!

    Got to be a bit too gruesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Damned with faint praise, I'm afraid

    I loved reading about the Lake of the Ozarks region, but the novel became laughably grizzly about 8/10 of the way through. The main character was likeable, but it was all pretty formulaic. The serial killer, in parts, required a great deal of suspension of disbelief.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Highly graphic thriller

    Although I liked aspects of this novel, I did not like the way the lead character "Claire" was portrayed. Even when I understood her issues, she was not likeable - too much anger. Plot was exciting, but not believable.

    I love crime novels, but this one left me feeling underwhelmed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Disturbing

    A disturbing mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Dumb

    This book is written poorly. Its predictable and full of unwiitty writing. Dont buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Ok

    Not really for me. I mean there is no mystery. I gave up after the third chapter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Cfcc vcf ctft

    Pp
    Lh

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Not bad

    Writing style was interesting for a free book and the plot was suspenseful, but the last few chapters were ridiculous. I felt robbed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Big let down

    This book bored the crap outta me. I kept reading because all the reviews were so glowing and promised wonderful things in the form of a twist ending. The ending was twisted all right. Reading this book was sorta like hitting yourself in the face with a shovel. It just felt so good to stop. I never agree with the reviews, maybe I'll stop reading them. So many people seem to give reviews based on how difficult the writing process is and that has nothing at all to do with the quality of a book. Although I did think the back story about Father was interesting there wasn't enough of it to carry the whole book.Big let down.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    A bit yucky

    For a thriller i found it a bit too cavalier when it came to the murder scenes and too grafic. Vague love scenes and very grafic murder scenes. Yuck!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Gross story

    Graphic violence and shallow characters except the really sick one. The writing is ok but i wish i had never read this. Gonna remember this author and stay far away.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2