Customer Reviews for

Head To Head

Average Rating 4
( 493 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

Plot Spoilers Reviews

Never read long reviews!!! Problem solved!

posted by 9334803 on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

riveting and chilling thriller

After working Robbery/Homicide in Los Angeles and undergoing a horrible tragedy homicide detective Claire Morgan moves to Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri where the biggest crimes are domestic disturbances someone stealing a lawn ornament, and x-rated phone calls. That all...
After working Robbery/Homicide in Los Angeles and undergoing a horrible tragedy homicide detective Claire Morgan moves to Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri where the biggest crimes are domestic disturbances someone stealing a lawn ornament, and x-rated phone calls. That all changes when a murder occurs at Cedar Bend Lodge which is owned and operated by the wealthy and charismatic Nicholas Black. The victim, a famous soap opera star, is found posed underwater sitting at a table covered with kitchen items as if she was waiting for a meal to be served. --- At first Claire thinks Nick is the most likely suspect especially when someone attacks her and puts her in the water to drown. She arrests Nick then and there she but he is released after cops prove with the security tapes he wasn¿t the person who attacked her. When she learns the relationship between the victim and Nick, she crosses him off her suspects list and he begins helping them profile the serial killer. The medical examiner discovers that it is the victim¿s body but someone else¿s face attached to the body. When another victim wearing the first victim¿s face is found in the place where they tape the soaps in L.A. is found Claire¿s past is exposed. Her boss is so livid he suspends her but she is later reinstated and finds herself in danger because she was the target all along. --- Linda Ladd has written a riveting and chilling thriller that is really two stories in one. The second story is about a child called Brat who is the victim of physical, sexual and emotional abuse who at the age of fourteen began a killing spree. He kills the victims and chops off their heads so they can keep his mother¿s head company. How this relates to the main storyline is an another great mystery written by an author who knows how to create two separate but parallel stories. HEAD TO HEAD IS memorizing and exciting reading and the sexual tension that exists between Claire and Nick adds an extra layer to this fantastic novel. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Ok then

    I'm going to be perfectly honest in my review, I couldn't get halfway through the book. It's much too graphic for me. I enjoyed the sitting and the plot in the first 80 pages I was intrigued and honestly enjoyed the book.....but then BAM!! Way to much for my too even try to imagine. Thanks though.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    6 posts in...

    And 5 reviews for Harriet's review. Anyone up for reviewing the actual book?

    10 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Too gory and sick.

    Too gory and sick.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Not Sure

    This is a good book. At first, I really didn't like the main char. She was just too sarcastic and hard. It felt forced. Late in the book the author reveals a traumatic event that makes the main char a little more believable. The other cops all share the same snarky attitude, so there was little diversity in personality. For most of the book I was confused about the main chars gender and I'd have to reread to find sections that indicated she was infact female. The predator gender confustion was on purpose and well done...but the main char was not. The book does keep you guessing though. I'm glad I didn't stop halfway now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    easy read for the summer

    This is the first in the Claire Morgan series--it seems very similar to the Eve Dallas series by JD Robb. So if you enjoy those books, you will enjoy this series as well. Overall, it held my attention and there were some unexpected twists. A good beach book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Bookworm

    All i can say is wow. This book is really a mind catcher. I took of a star because i found it predictable. I mean two stories one more then the other, are going to be interwinded. Then as that little story progresses and you read more and more of the book it becomes more obvious. Another star because it was an odd changing plot for claire. From her work to learning about her past is annoying. Still a good read, but there are better stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    For Serial Killer Mystery Buffs.

    Of its kind, well enough done to keep you reading if only out of curiousity. The narrative sometimes makes suspension of disbelief difficult and the ending is way over the top and not in a good way, especially since it seemed neither inevitable nor inexorable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Tense murder mystery. I read it on my Kindle instead of on my No

    Tense murder mystery. I read it on my Kindle instead of on my Nook because it was free there, too. This was very well-written and as twisted and horrible as many murder stories. The plot was suspenseful to the end. Whenever I thought I knew where the story was going, there was another surprise. I took a star off because of the gory scenes and brutality, even though I know they're expected in a murder mystery. I took another star off because I don't like foul language, and it's unnecessary, even though it's probably also expected in this type of story. It’s just not to my taste. The ending moved very quickly, and was as frightening as I expected. Not a completely satisfying story in itself, because of the cliffhanger at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Unpredictable, but still not great.

    I really liked the story line and found I was consistently surprised with Head to Head. However, while the story isn't predictable, certain aspects of the female detective story were. And that, along with a writing style that sounds conversational but sometimes over the top conversational, is what threw me off. It was a good enough book, but there are many ways that the story could have been told that would have made me enjoy it more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    great author

    This was a good story, it just got a little too gross and unrealistic. I liked the author, she makes the characters very real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Interesting fluff

    A deeply disturbed female detective pursues an even more disturbed serial killer. Interesting but implausible story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    WTF

    IT MAKES NO SCEANCE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    Very suspenseful.

    Very suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Not bad.

    Not bad (especially when it was offered as a free book Friday deal, how could I complain). It was a good mystery with some twists and turns and shocking moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    How sick can you get?

    Another serial killer novel where the sicko gets obsessed with someone and slaughters everyone they love to make some kind of point.

    A free Fridays selection so thats as harsh as I'll get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Not fantastic

    Only slightly better than the movie on the plane

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    Interesting

    At first I was confused about what was going on but when I figured it out is was great. This book was a little scary to me but then that is what I had ordered. I recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Sick Serial killer

    Good read,but the serial killer is really twisted. A bit too graphic for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    not bad

    Not bad. Not good either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Blah

    Too juvenile for me, couldn't get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4