Customer Reviews for

Heading Out to Wonderful

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely loved this book. This is the second of his that I'v

I absolutely loved this book. This is the second of his that I've read and I'm eagerly anticipating the next. He crafts a sentence with such an evocative vocabulary that he transports you to a place and time that you haven't and can't experience. But, it feels totally a...
I absolutely loved this book. This is the second of his that I've read and I'm eagerly anticipating the next. He crafts a sentence with such an evocative vocabulary that he transports you to a place and time that you haven't and can't experience. But, it feels totally alive. You understand how it feels, how the people think and even the emotions they are having even if they are totally foreign to you. The cadence of his writing feels the way you would expect the time and place to feel.

Goolrick is a superlative storyteller. It will take you a few pages to get used to the way he writes, but if you love good fiction, I highly recommend this book.

posted by BobbiNJ on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Goolrick is a wonderful writer and a slam dunk story teller.  I

Goolrick is a wonderful writer and a slam dunk story teller.  I loved Reluctant Wife and was not disappointed Heading Out....  It was full of heart and unusual characters.  There was an interesting spin on the role of "community" in reaching out to those who a...
Goolrick is a wonderful writer and a slam dunk story teller.  I loved Reluctant Wife and was not disappointed Heading Out....  It was full of heart and unusual characters.  There was an interesting spin on the role of "community" in reaching out to those who are struggling.  And particularly by those who are struggling themselves.  

posted by Chris-An on July 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book. This is the second of his that I'v

    I absolutely loved this book. This is the second of his that I've read and I'm eagerly anticipating the next. He crafts a sentence with such an evocative vocabulary that he transports you to a place and time that you haven't and can't experience. But, it feels totally alive. You understand how it feels, how the people think and even the emotions they are having even if they are totally foreign to you. The cadence of his writing feels the way you would expect the time and place to feel.

    Goolrick is a superlative storyteller. It will take you a few pages to get used to the way he writes, but if you love good fiction, I highly recommend this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Great 1940's history in with a good read

    OK, I admit I am an Historical Fiction reader and picked this up because my local indie bookstore recommend it for me and it is about the time period in which my parents lived on a farm in Missouri. I found it to be a slow start but if you can stick with it until at least page 45, you will pulled in to an interesting read. I love the references to life in the mountains, on the farms, and in the cities as the time moves from WWII's end to how life was changed after that war. (i.e. people not liking the "old" things from their parents and grandparents and wanting new things; also, the movements from farms to tract homes) I have not finished this book yet but am enjoying the ride.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Great book

    This book was fantastic with countless little surprises. Some better than others.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Beautifully written and full of "catch your breath" su

    Beautifully written and full of "catch your breath" surprises. Loved the book; just not necessarily how it ended for the characters. This will definitely be a reading group recommendation from me. I am dying to discuss it with ten other people all at the same time! First time I have read this author. Will pick up his earlier stuff and give it a try. Well done, Mr. Goolrick! I will think about this story for a long time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Good period novel

    I purchased rhis book because it is set in a town near Lynchburg VA, where my mother and her family were from, and where my sisters and I loved visiting during our childhood in the '40s & '50s. Many of rhe places mentioned are familiar, which added to my enjoyment of the book.

    The writing is intelligent and descriptive, only occasionally bogging down. It's hard for me, as a mother, to concieve of adults being so thoughtless in their behavior around the small boy; they must have known that he saw and heard their lovemaking. The parents also continued to allow the child to acccompany Charlie, even though they knew about the affair. All of them adored this child, yet caused him so much damage. So much misdirected love, inexplicable behavior, so much tragedy. It is definitely not a happy book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story, well written, keeps you interesting from the beginn

    Great story, well written, keeps you interesting from the beginning. You get drawn in to the characters lives and find yourself losing sleep to find out what happens next. Read the authors other two books and all three are favorites. Goodrich has a gift for writing raw emotional content. Great read. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    A page turner. I liked it as well as A Reliable Wife. It's qui

    A page turner. I liked it as well as A Reliable Wife. It's quirky, but realistic, a twisting plot that one reads with interest and dismay, as Goolrich keeps you on the edge of your seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    Goolrick is a wonderful writer and a slam dunk story teller.  I

    Goolrick is a wonderful writer and a slam dunk story teller.  I loved Reluctant Wife and was not disappointed Heading Out....  It was full of heart and unusual characters.  There was an interesting spin on the role of "community" in reaching out to those who are struggling.  And particularly by those who are struggling themselves.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    not his best

    the story is engaging but the ending is gruesome and depressing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    Beautifully written Excellent read.  The author creates the scen

    Beautifully written
    Excellent read.  The author creates the scene as clearly as a painting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Anom

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    This book was such a disappointment to me, I was so looking forw

    This book was such a disappointment to me, I was so looking forward to reading this novel.  I loved The Reliable Wife and Heading out to Wonderful was not near as good.  It is gloomy and at times extremely slow.  Any chance of redemption was thrown away in the last 20%. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Disapointed !

    This book had great characters but what happened at the end was terrible and did not fit the character at all. Good book with a way off terrible ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Thoughtfully Written

    I'd give it another half star if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    A friend warned me the synopsis of this book sounded like a Dani

    A friend warned me the synopsis of this book sounded like a Danielle Steele novel. I said, “How can it be like Danielle Steele? It’s about simple rural people post WWII.” My friend was right.

    The plot of this novel is unabashedly borrowed from bodice-ripping romance novels – the kind with Fabio on the cover, golden locks a’flowin’ and pecs glistening in the sun. Chapter after chapter of aching love and longing, aching love and longing, more and more aching love and longing. I’m fine with a slow and easy plot motivated almost entirely by sentiment as long as the characters are interesting, but the characters in Heading Out to Wonderful are rehashed stereotypes from countless other (better told) stories. Then, when the skimpy plot finally kicks into gear, it is flash and spectacle the likes of which readers have never imagined Charlie Beale capable of (especially in the company he was in). The last two chapters practically beg the reader to view him as some sort of beloved hero, all evidence to the contrary.
    The author spends much of the book trying to assure us that the story he’s telling will pack an awesome and satisfying punch but then delivers a climax any eighth grade boy would imagine.
    Adding insult to injury, we are never told where Charlie Beale comes from or how he came into possession of that case of money. These elements are used only to the author’s advantage: to lure the reader in with no accountability thereafter. The same is true of the omnipotent narrator; everything is known about everyone unless it’s something the author doesn’t want to bother explaining, at which point we are told, “nobody ever knew why…”
    The best part of this book is the title, the cover, and first few pages where the small Virginia town is lovingly and delicately described. I was eagerly drawn in. Shortly after that, it was a belabored romance novel with a laughable, Dynasty-style climax, and a desperate (sad) plea to view the story as something much more poignant than it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    My Nightmare.

    3 DAYS LATER:
    IF I HAD FIGURED OUT sooner what it meant, I wouldn't keep smacking my head on the bedpost, sending my fragile bracelet flying and my locket releasing all the perfume liquid inside it. "The young, the strong," my grandpa used to say. But evre ime I had that dream, I bumped something. I thought that maybe the dream would go away— but it stayed put, stayed put. I groane in despair. "Same dream?" Guessed my rather attractive mother. She placed her tea cup on the table. "Yes," I admitted. "The one with the funny—" my older brother Ethan started. "Shut up," I fumed. "This is serious."

    But it didn't seem very like Mark, Ethan, and Bonnie thought so. I hissed. "Hon, has it been scaring you?" I thought about that. "N-no," I admitted. "But the other dream I had last night did." Ethan threw his phone carelessly to the ground. "What?" He asked. "The monster got you," I explained. "All of you." "Chocolate bar," began my mom. "Monsters aren't real." I shrugged. "It was still a nightmare!" A shrill, breezy itch ran across my arm. "Do they, Adriana?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    The Reliable Wife was very good fiction, so I purchased this boo

    The Reliable Wife was very good fiction, so I purchased this book. I was very disappointed by the extreme violence in Heading Out to Wonderful.
    Goolrick's memoir is worth reading, and it may shed light on the reason why he included the unnecessary violence. I hope his next book is not as gruesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Haunting, Interesting, Heartbreaking Wow, I wasn't expecting thi

    Haunting, Interesting, Heartbreaking
    Wow, I wasn't expecting this book to do much for me. I was using it as a novel between my usual 500+ historical fiction fare. Much to my surprise, this book, although short in length, was exceptional. The writing is beautiful. Clearly, the author took every ounce of pain he has experienced in his life, and laid it out in this story. Parts were predictable, others were not. Personally, I would have preferred a longer version of this book that connects the characters more. I felt there was something missing. There was a distance between the reader and the characters. You never felt the intense feelings of Charlie and Sylvan. Instead, I felt more like a spectator far away. I would still highly recommend this book. It has all the elements of a good novel. I think this Goolrick is terrific, and look forward to more of his work in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Mistyrain

    A blue pegus unicorn walked in . Spitfire may i join maam . I have won th best flier young athlete contset

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3