Customer Reviews for

Healer: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Healer

    An excellent read - Celtic novel featuring a female healer. A little mystery, a little witchery, a little romance, a little sibling rivalry, and a little history. What more could you want? Very entertaining and a little educational. Try it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Arthurian love story

    This a story set in the 6th century Arthurian Brittan. Brenna a healer must live a hidden life because of the wars between her clan and the O'Byrnes who killed her parents. She has been schooled by the priests and by the healers of Avalon. She and her wolf see an assassination attempt, rescue the fallen prince and try to heal him. Unknown to her he is an O'Byrne. The story is full of tense moments, love, and wars, assassinations, reconciliation, peace and spiritual battles. The author knows her Christian and Druid history, establishing the background for the notion that Joseph of Arimathea and his family eventually settled in the British Isles and converted the Druids to Christianity. She makes the mental and spiritual battles that were fought by those who were brought up to believe both pagan and Christian lore come alive and cause physical battles and treachery. Intrigue and love and hate are a constant theme throughout the book providing an interesting page-turner.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    strong Christian Arthurian mythos

    In the sixth century in Alba, Brenna's mother the powerful healing witch Queen Joanna of Gowrys abruptly awakens from a frightening vision of the destruction of her subclan caused by Chieftain Tarlach O'Byrne. The powerful Tarlach still rages at Joanna for her audacity to marry someone else when they were an obvious pairing due to ancestry. He has never forgiven her for defying their destiny by her marrying her beloved Llas. Tarlach leads the O'Byrne clan on a deadly vengeance, but before she dies Joanna curses him with the prediction that her offspring will divide his brood leading to peace for everyone.

    Taking her death words gravely serious Tarlach hunts for Brenna who was taken to the woods by her cousin Ealga her nurse and raised there. When her surrogate mom Ealga dies, Brenna has no other human to talk to and her only companion is Faol the wolf. As they have done for two decades, the O'Byrne clan searches for Joanna's daughter. Tarlach's heir Ronan leads the hunt, but he is hurt and dying. Brenna, a healer on a par with her late mom, saves his life, but by doing so exposes herself to her enemy.

    The first Brides of Alba Christian Arthurian fantasy is a strong opening act that follows up nicely with a fresh arc from the Fires of Gleannmara trilogy. The story line is fast-paced for the most part especially when Ealga flees with her infant cousin to raise her safely in the woods and continues when the two clan heirs meet. The tale slows down a bit after Ronal heals, but regains speed into the final turn. Fans will relish the return to Linda Windsor's strong Christian Arthurian mythos with the saga of the healer.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Recommended

    Excellent book. When I first began reading I was not too sure about it, but it grabbed me and I couldn't put it down. Excellent storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Difficult to put down...

    This was written for me, I love this period in history, the stories have me at the first page and won't let go long after the last page is read. Linda Windsor, as it was the first book I read of hers, did not let me down. I truly recommend this and look forward to more like it from NOOK's offerings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Great book

    Very enjoyable read for one who is interested in life as people knew it in our distant past. The characters were likable and believable for that time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Recommended

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. The author describes her process for writing this book and her devout religious beliefs but never smothers you with them. The story is what is so captivating. You want to know what happens and eagerly cheer for the power of Love to overcome and melt the hearts of the heroes. I very much enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Good Read

    Enjoyed this book very much. Good story, but, to be honest, I do have a very soft spot for anything Celtic. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Marvelous historical celtic novel

    Within a few pages of reading it is easy to see why Ms Windsor is a multiple award winning author. She paints realistic pictures of 6th century celtic life while drawing the reader into the lives of characters, real and imagined, entertaining and educating the reader simultaneously. While she does this, she also honors and praises her Creator. This book is an unusual jewel. I highly recommend it. LadyB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    Fascinating look at ancient Scotland in 1st in Brides of Alba series

    Healer by Linda Windsor is the first book in the Brides of Alba series. Brenna of Gowrys has become a symbol for two clans in ancient Scotland. The O'Byrnes consider her their fearsome enemy who will bring about the destruction of their family and believe that she is a shape-changing witch. The Gowrys believe her their only hope after the destruction of their clan leader by Tarlach O'Byrne after Brenna's mother, Joanna, spurned him for his best friend Llas Gowrys. His revenge killed both of her parents and sentenced the clan to living in the hills and raiding area farms for food. When Tarlach's eldest son, Ronan, is struck down by a mysterious would-be-assassin, Brenna's pet wolf, Faol, rescues him, and Brenna brings him to her cave refuge where she hides from the world to heal his wounds. Neither knows the other's identity until both have fallen too deeply in love to allow the past to tear them apart. When Ronan tries to bring her into his family, it brings about a tragic death, and more tragedy is on the way. Brenna is a delightful character who has been sheltered from the world, that when she is finally allowed to interact with others, she showers them with unconditional love, even those who should be her enemy. Windsor has created a fascinating look at Christianity in 6th century Scotland in the days of Arthur and Merlin when the old gods were worshiped alongside Christ, and a woman could be thought to change into a wolf. It's a beautiful and mysterious world filled with larger than life characters and epic stories. I'm so glad that Windsor is making this a series, because the characters are too good to say good-bye to after just one book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1