Customer Reviews for

The Healing (Kentucky Brothers Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Must read!

    Another typical amazing Amish story by Wanda Brunstetter. Excellent questions at the end of the book for discussions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Zack

    Sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Hush

    Yep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Empty room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    A great and interessting book

    I have read a lot of books about the Amish but this is one of the best I have enjoyed.
    I try and read them according to the Series ao I would recommend that you read the 1st in the Series, then you get the full story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Much better written than the first one!

    Whereas the amish family traditions were surprisingly lacking in this series, it was more gripping than the first book! I am disappointed in the author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    I normally like Wanda B. but, frankly, I'm so disappointed in th

    I normally like Wanda B. but, frankly, I'm so disappointed in this book. There are Amish inaccuracies and the conversation is so unreal that I cringe reading it. It really seems like this was tossed together with a predictable, cookie-cutter storyline that is completely unoriginal. Has one of the mistresses of Amish fiction become such a machine that the joy of writing has left the process? I sure hope not. I don't know if I'll finish it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Wonderful book.

    This is a wonderful book. I would recommend to anyone that enjoys reading about the Almish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Loved It!!

    I love this author. Another great selection from an amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read for Amish fiction fans

    For long time fans of Amish fiction, its easy to see why Wanda Brunstetter is a New York Times best selling author and considered a "founder" of this genre. With close to 50 books and over 5 million copies sold, Wanda has definitely captured the hearts of her readers.

    The Healing is the second book in the Kentucky Brothers series and continues the story of Samuel Fisher who has recently lost his wife. Left alone to raise his children, Samuel is emotionally numb, overcome with grief and basically going through the motions. He distances himself from his children and his family around him and seems to be intent on pushing away those that love him and want to help him. Samuel is so caught up with his own loss, that he doesn't recognize his children are grieving too.

    Samuel's brother, Titus Fisher, takes in Samuel and his children with the hopes of giving them all a fresh start. However, Titus's good intentions quickly begin to go awry and the complications of taking in family start to strain Titus's relationship with his fiance'.

    This book has many characters from the previous book, so I do suggest reading the series in order if you want to have a good understanding of the family history and dynamics.

    Overall, this is a book about the struggles families face when they experience the tragedy of losing a loved one and how everyone processes grief differently.

    The third book in this series (The Struggle) is due out fall of 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    highly recommended

    Wanda has given us another great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Great 2nd book in the series- go grab a copy and read it.

    I enjoyed this second book and only disapointment is that I have to wait so long for the 3rd book. The 1st and 2nd "Kentucky Brothers" books are very heartwarming and inspiring to read. I really enjoy reading a book that is positive and faith inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Great book, MUST READ

    The healing is the second book to the Kentucky Brothers. In this book Titus and Suzanne get married, Samuel loses his wife Elsie and becomes very depressed because he also lost the baby she was carrying. To trying get away from the reminders of his wife he moves in with Titus in Kentucky. This was very hard on his step mother. It takes a tragedy to get him to pull out of his depression and realize his kids are his life and he needs to care for them. In the end he falls in love with Esther, Suzanne's best friend. This book along with the first one was so good. Then again every book of Wanda's is great. I cannot wait to read the 3rd book of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Not received

    I can't review a book if I haven't received it.
    Cancel this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Another Great Read!

    The Healing is the second book in the Kentucky Brothers series. Samuel Fisher is grieving over the death of his wife Elsie. Grief has such a grip on him that he doesn't realize how much he is neglecting his children who are hurting too. Samuel and his children move to Kentucky to start a new life. His brother Titus has invited him to move in with him until Samuel gets on his feet. This book also centers around other characters such as Esther Beiler, Bonnie Taylor, and Allen Walters. It is a book that I could not put down. It gathers you in from page one and builds from there. I felt I was right there in Pembroke, Kentucky with them. I could feel God's leading in this story. I could feel God's healing from grief. Most of all I could feel God's love for whatever our trials and tribulations take us through. I urge you to pick up a copy of The Healing. I promise, you won't be disappointed. I once again thank my God for talented Christian authors like Wanda Brunstetter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Samuel moves to Kentucky

    I have read the first book in the series and as this one starts Samuel Fisher had just buried his young wife and unborn baby. He had four more children to raise now by himself and he just could not see how he was going to make it without his sweet Elsie. He got into such a state of depression that he didn't even pay any attention to his own children.

    He decided to move to Kentucky where his brother Titus lived and see if he could start over. He did get work but still was very depressed. He found a young woman the friend of Titus's girlfriend that would care for his children when he worked. Esther's parents had moved back to Pennsylvania to help their son that had been diagnosed with MS.

    Another young woman "Bonnie" from Organ had come to Pembroke Kentucky for her grandmother's funeral and found out that everything that had belonged to her grandmother was left to her including the old home. She decided to move there and use the old house as a bed-and-breakfast. She didn't get alone with her father at home since her mother had passed away. She is not Amish but made a lot of friends among the Amish community.

    Will Samuel find peace at last or will he still stay true to his late wife. Bonnie had a secret of her own so when will she let anyone know about her past life.

    Another great book written by one of the best Amish authors. I was so thrilled when I received it in the mail last week, by the request of Wanda E Brunstetter and Barbour Publishing in order for me to read and post a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    The Healing by Wanda E Brunstetter is book 2 of the Kentucky Brothers series. It is a wonderful story of Love,grief,caring, and healing power pf prayer. It is well worth your time and effort to read. The Family tree included really helps with the characters. The story was enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Boring...

    This is the second book in the Kentucky Brothers series. Samuel sinks into despair after losing his wife and unborn child. He feels he must get away from PA. and the home they had shared so he uproots his family and moves to Kentucky to be near his brother, Titus.

    Shortly after settling into his brothers home he meets Esther, a young Amish woman. Hiring her to care for his children while he works he begins to have feelings for her but a promise he made to his wife stops him from courting her and he decides to move back to PA to escape Esther. However, something happens before he can move.

    This book, like the first one, is predictable. There are no surprises, the characters are simple, the writing style is dull and tiresome. Quite a boring book.

    I received an e-copy of this book from the publisher free in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Loved this book!!

    I have always loved reading Brunstetter's books, and was not disappointed with this one! I will admit, I seem to have a fascination with the Amish, even though they are bountiful in my area.

    I loved the relationships that developed between Esther and Samuel's kinner, she truly had their best interest at heart, no matter what the occasion. Esther and Samuel both have some trials in the beginning, but if they can just come together, things may work out.

    Samuel's family though, including his bruder Titus, all seem to have their own issues, and boy, some of them are big ones! While reading bits and pieces about Timothy and his frau Hannah, I can only imagine where there story will go! In my opinion, no spoiler here, his Mother-in-law may be their biggest problem!

    Would I recommend this book? Jah, I would. It is a wunderbar gut read! I give this book 5 stars!

    Translations(vary depending on region/dialect):
    Frau=Wife
    Kinner=Child/Children
    Bruder=Brother
    Jah=Yes
    Gut=Good
    Wunderbar=Wonderful

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Net Galley Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fine Amish read

    Well here's the thing, there are times when I have favorites at a certain restaurant- you know like every time I head down to that one place down by the water I have to get the Chocolate Peanut Butter milkshake (that is to die for) because it's delicious and it's my favorite, so I know exactly what I am going to get. It can be a good thing to know exactly what you are going to get ahead of time if that's exactly what you want or it can be a little bit repetitive depending on your take of what you are consuming. I'll let you decide for yourself. "The Healing" by Wanda Brunstetter opens with Samuel Fischer, a young Amish father burying his beloved wife Elsie after she suffered an accident falling down her stairs. She also took with her their unborn child. So you can imagine the grief that Samuel and his four young children are dealing with. In that grief Samuel up and moves his kids to Pembroke Kentucky with the hopes that it will be easier on Samuel to manage his grief as he won't be thinking of Elsie every minute of every day. He is a truly saddened man and finding it very difficult to take care of his children while simultaneously trying to start his life over. With his brother Titus living in Kentucky, he makes the break and moves himself and 4 young children into his home in Pembroke so he can have some help with his "kinners". This story is all about Samuel's "healing" as the title alludes to. He is able to find work from a young woman who has just moved to Kentucky herself as she is refurbishing an old home that belonged to her recently deceased Grandmother into a B&B. Samuel is helping with the painting and renovations. His 4 young children are being watched during the day by Esther Beiler, a young unmarried Amish woman that is just as sweet as can be and the children quickly fall for her kind ways as well as excellent cooking skills. Esther quickly falls for Samuel, but with Samuel still enveloped in his massive grief, it takes a while for him to come around. He is able to throw himself into his work, but is sadly lacking with all of his relationships around him, children, etc. On the whole I would say that I enjoyed this story. Honestly, it felt very similar to the first novel in this series-, The Journey, so it was starting to feel a little "formula writing" to me. Boy moves to Kentucky- doesn't notice girl at first at all as he is still getting over previous girl, starts to come around, crisis happens and he pulls back and then comes around and happy ending. So if you don't mind that both stories are rather similar then you will enjoy this book just as much as the first one. For me it was just a bit repetitive, that's all. That being said, it was a sweet Amish love story, good scriptural truths and charming Amish characters. If you are a fan of Wanda Brunstetter's Amish fiction series, I think you will enjoy this book. 3 stars. A digital copy of The Healing was provided for me from the Publisher through the Netgalley program. This was in exchange for a an honest review. All opinions expressed were my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2