BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Healing (Kentucky Brothers Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Must read!

    Another typical amazing Amish story by Wanda Brunstetter. Excellent questions at the end of the book for discussions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Zack

    Sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Hush

    Yep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Empty room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    A great and interessting book

    I have read a lot of books about the Amish but this is one of the best I have enjoyed.
    I try and read them according to the Series ao I would recommend that you read the 1st in the Series, then you get the full story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Wonderful book.

    This is a wonderful book. I would recommend to anyone that enjoys reading about the Almish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Loved It!!

    I love this author. Another great selection from an amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    highly recommended

    Wanda has given us another great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Great 2nd book in the series- go grab a copy and read it.

    I enjoyed this second book and only disapointment is that I have to wait so long for the 3rd book. The 1st and 2nd "Kentucky Brothers" books are very heartwarming and inspiring to read. I really enjoy reading a book that is positive and faith inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Great book, MUST READ

    The healing is the second book to the Kentucky Brothers. In this book Titus and Suzanne get married, Samuel loses his wife Elsie and becomes very depressed because he also lost the baby she was carrying. To trying get away from the reminders of his wife he moves in with Titus in Kentucky. This was very hard on his step mother. It takes a tragedy to get him to pull out of his depression and realize his kids are his life and he needs to care for them. In the end he falls in love with Esther, Suzanne's best friend. This book along with the first one was so good. Then again every book of Wanda's is great. I cannot wait to read the 3rd book of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Another Great Read!

    The Healing is the second book in the Kentucky Brothers series. Samuel Fisher is grieving over the death of his wife Elsie. Grief has such a grip on him that he doesn't realize how much he is neglecting his children who are hurting too. Samuel and his children move to Kentucky to start a new life. His brother Titus has invited him to move in with him until Samuel gets on his feet. This book also centers around other characters such as Esther Beiler, Bonnie Taylor, and Allen Walters. It is a book that I could not put down. It gathers you in from page one and builds from there. I felt I was right there in Pembroke, Kentucky with them. I could feel God's leading in this story. I could feel God's healing from grief. Most of all I could feel God's love for whatever our trials and tribulations take us through. I urge you to pick up a copy of The Healing. I promise, you won't be disappointed. I once again thank my God for talented Christian authors like Wanda Brunstetter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Samuel moves to Kentucky

    I have read the first book in the series and as this one starts Samuel Fisher had just buried his young wife and unborn baby. He had four more children to raise now by himself and he just could not see how he was going to make it without his sweet Elsie. He got into such a state of depression that he didn't even pay any attention to his own children.

    He decided to move to Kentucky where his brother Titus lived and see if he could start over. He did get work but still was very depressed. He found a young woman the friend of Titus's girlfriend that would care for his children when he worked. Esther's parents had moved back to Pennsylvania to help their son that had been diagnosed with MS.

    Another young woman "Bonnie" from Organ had come to Pembroke Kentucky for her grandmother's funeral and found out that everything that had belonged to her grandmother was left to her including the old home. She decided to move there and use the old house as a bed-and-breakfast. She didn't get alone with her father at home since her mother had passed away. She is not Amish but made a lot of friends among the Amish community.

    Will Samuel find peace at last or will he still stay true to his late wife. Bonnie had a secret of her own so when will she let anyone know about her past life.

    Another great book written by one of the best Amish authors. I was so thrilled when I received it in the mail last week, by the request of Wanda E Brunstetter and Barbour Publishing in order for me to read and post a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    The Healing by Wanda E Brunstetter is book 2 of the Kentucky Brothers series. It is a wonderful story of Love,grief,caring, and healing power pf prayer. It is well worth your time and effort to read. The Family tree included really helps with the characters. The story was enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Loved this book!!

    I have always loved reading Brunstetter's books, and was not disappointed with this one! I will admit, I seem to have a fascination with the Amish, even though they are bountiful in my area.

    I loved the relationships that developed between Esther and Samuel's kinner, she truly had their best interest at heart, no matter what the occasion. Esther and Samuel both have some trials in the beginning, but if they can just come together, things may work out.

    Samuel's family though, including his bruder Titus, all seem to have their own issues, and boy, some of them are big ones! While reading bits and pieces about Timothy and his frau Hannah, I can only imagine where there story will go! In my opinion, no spoiler here, his Mother-in-law may be their biggest problem!

    Would I recommend this book? Jah, I would. It is a wunderbar gut read! I give this book 5 stars!

    Translations(vary depending on region/dialect):
    Frau=Wife
    Kinner=Child/Children
    Bruder=Brother
    Jah=Yes
    Gut=Good
    Wunderbar=Wonderful

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Net Galley Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2