Customer Reviews for

Healing Back Pain: The Mind-Body Connection

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

changed my life

What can I say that everyone here already has? Protruding L5, couldn't sit at work, sit in the car without pain. Then the lists of couldn'ts just kept growing. This book was recommended by my doctor, read it in a couple hours and decided to change my way of thinking....
What can I say that everyone here already has? Protruding L5, couldn't sit at work, sit in the car without pain. Then the lists of couldn'ts just kept growing. This book was recommended by my doctor, read it in a couple hours and decided to change my way of thinking. It works! I sit all day at work, I drive, I ski, I go to spinning, I can do anything! If it starts to creep back in, I become aware of my stress levels, talk to myself, breathe, mediatate, and it's gone. Please have an open mind and get this book!

posted by kgs72 on March 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Find me a conrolled trial that proves it works.

This book is about back pain having psychological causes. The treatment? Just recognizing this and telling your body to stop it. I think that this is a good theory but we really need some proof to back this up, I mean you wouldn't want to undergo a cancer treatment o...
This book is about back pain having psychological causes. The treatment? Just recognizing this and telling your body to stop it. I think that this is a good theory but we really need some proof to back this up, I mean you wouldn't want to undergo a cancer treatment or take a medication unitl its been proven to work, would you? So why should you settle for anything less with back pain treatments- unless you just want to make this author even richer! If you ask any doctor how treatments are proven to be effective, they will say it is through controlled trials. In this case, it would be a study where one group used Dr. Sarnos's treatment and another group used no treatment. If the treatment group has less back pain than the control group that got no treatment, then the treamtent is said to work and have benefits. I challenge any reader to find me a controlled study, anywhere, that this treatment works. Having searched huge medical databases such as Medline, let me save you some time- there aren't any. Therefore, there isn't a shred of medical proof that this treatment really works although it was a smooth move to get him on 20/20. You expect no less proof for the drugs or surgery you might have, so use this same logic with your back pain treatments. Of course you will see testimonials that this book cured people's back pain. Any treatment will always have its share of believers whether it be sleeping under pyramids or wearing magnetic shoe inserts. Just check out any other back pain book and you will find its positive reviews every time, no matter how strange the treatment- a true testament to the power of belief. I recommend you save your time and hard earned money and check out books with treatments that have been proven in controlled trials such as "The Multifidus Back Pain Solution" or "The Relaxation Response."

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    changed my life

    What can I say that everyone here already has? Protruding L5, couldn't sit at work, sit in the car without pain. Then the lists of couldn'ts just kept growing. This book was recommended by my doctor, read it in a couple hours and decided to change my way of thinking. It works! I sit all day at work, I drive, I ski, I go to spinning, I can do anything! If it starts to creep back in, I become aware of my stress levels, talk to myself, breathe, mediatate, and it's gone. Please have an open mind and get this book!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth a look.

    I think this book will be most helpful for people who have been suffering with back pain for a long period of time (months to years). Most back pain lasts only a short time, and if it persists, you probably either have a really serious medical problem (that is usually obvious) or there are psychological factors involved. <BR/><BR/>If you've been through the conventional medical system with your back pain for a long time with no satisfaction, have had many physical treatments (such as heat, massage, manipulation, etc.) with no relief, AND have had serious back pain issues ruled out, then I say it would be well worth your while to at least check out this book. While there are true physical causes of back pain that are not psychological, this book will make you think about any stress related issues that could be a part of your pain. Other self-help books I liked include Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff. Good luck!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    This book changed my life...

    I had chronic lower back pain for about five years. During that time, I sought treatment from chiropractors and MD's. Additionally, my mother and brother are both disabled because of back pain. After reading this book, the pain started to subside and now I can say I'm pain free! I highly recommend this book to anyone that suffers chronic back pain.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    READ THIS BEFORE TAKING MORE MEDICINE FOR PAIN!

    This book offers very well presented information into the "real" reasons for back pain as expressed by John Sarno.
    It provides solid information into the instinctive responses our body goes through during physical and/or emotional stimulus (either positive or negative)and the process into pain.
    Highly recommended.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Life changing book-Read this before considering any spinal surgery!

    It ia an amazing, life-changing read. Once you can open up your mind and realize that physical pain can manifest itself from unresolved psychological issues, it is quite liberating. It's not as though you need to realize some great psychological scar from childhood...it can be as simple as realizing that an issue or conflict with a co-worker or family member can be triggering physical pain becuase you subconsciously let it. You also don't need to resolve all your problems--but rather simply be open and aware that many common physical ailments can be the result of this subconscious act. It's something you may need to practice and re-read the book if pain should come back but it is quite amaazing to realize that you can control many of the pain issues you experience. Be open to the thought and you'll be very happy with the results!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Oldie but goodie can change your life 9and your back pain)

    This wondrous book, originally written in the 1980's, shows how all back pain is psychosomatic - in other words, back pain is what our bodies do to distract us from other, more painful things, such as stress, worry, conflict, and so forth. In simple language, the good doctor tells us how to reconnect the mind and the body, and understand that our backs (and knees, and feet, and stomach) are fine - we are just reacting to mental overload.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    very highly recommended

    A fantastic book! One must have a very strong, positive mind for this concept to be effective. I purchased this title, Sarno 20 years ago & it helped immensely. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who suffers from back pain, as well as the other symptoms that are sited in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    before i was halfway finished with this book i was feeling much

    before i was halfway finished with this book i was feeling much better....what the author has to say makes a lot of sense.....this book was recommended by an acquaintance and, while interested, i didn't pay much attention....a few weeks later this same person mentioned that someone else he knew had also tried it with excellent results, so i decided to give it a try since nothing else worked...........wow! it certainly worked for me!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Amazing book, brings you to a new level of living! LOVED IT

    Amazing book, brings you to a new level of living! LOVED IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Gave me my life back!

    Dr. Sarno's life saving book taught me what was going on in my unconscious mind. I was laid up for 2 years before reading this book and within 2 weeks after reading it, I was finally getting better. With in a few months, I was back to doing everything without pain. Thank you Dr. Sarno.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    My doctor told me about the book. It has been very effective in relieving my neck/back pain.

    I have purchased extra books for my friends and family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    Out of pain in 2 weeks - permanent cure

    Doubled over in pain I went hobbling into the local Barnes & Noble and found this book. A quick read and I knew this was my story. I jumped out of bed and got back into my gardening activities immediately and back to a fully active life. Within 2 weeks the pain was gone. It returned intermittently for a while but I have now been pain-free for more than 10 years. I have helped many others through this book. Dr Sarno saved my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    this book saved me

    This is my first online book review ever. I'm only taking the time because this book saved my health. I was a total non-believer regarding the whole concept of psychosomatic injuries before this book basically cured me. 6 months of pain, sufferering and depression ended in one week for me. After reading and buying in to this book, I put my fears behind me and was back charging down the basketball court 5 days later. Hard to believe I know, but it also worked perfectly for a great friend of mine. We were both in our mid 20s at the time. If you match the personality type described in one of the early chapters this could book could make all the difference. Give it a shot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Healing Back Pain: The Mind-Body Connection

    If you suffer from back pain or any kind of pain, I command you to buy this book! I am not one to beleive in these types of things in general, but this book saved my life. I am a mother of two little girls, and have overcome my pain due to a 'herniated disc.' I read this book two years ago, was pain free within a week, and have been perfectly fine ever since. Please read this! If you have read it and are unsure, please contact me with any questions. I am sure I can help...Good luck on your short path to feeling great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    Healing Back Pain: The Mind-Body Connection

    I was a young mother of two babies when I found this book. I now come back to write this review two years later because I want to tell everyone that my horrible pain from a herniated disc is still gone. I am not usually one to beleive in these kinds of things, but Dr. Sarno has changed my life.I never even worry that something may hurt my back. If you have back pain or know someone who does, you MUST get this book. Remember, I used to be a skeptic too. IT REALLY WORKS! Good luck..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    An interesting read.

    While other back pain books promote stretching, strengthening, good posture, and such, this book takes a quite different direction- do not do any of those things, just realize that your pain is a tactic your body is using to distract you from some psychological stressor and you'll get better. I recommend this book more to people with back pain of a long duration that have tried everything rather than those with acute back pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    Wow!

    Reviewer: A reader from Seattle, Washington This book saved my life! For five and half years I suffered from back and leg pain. I tried everything under the Sun and the Moon! Nothing worked, until a friend told me about Healing Back Pain. It worked like magic. It's been six months and I am doing great. Don't wait another day. Get it today. If you have read it and need additional help get Rapid Recovery from Back and Neck Pain and Back Sense. These two books also can give you valuable information. Don't wait for the doctors to cure you. Take charge of your health.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    Dr Sarno Changed My Life!

    Several years ago I would have laughed at the ideas Dr. Sarno talks about in his book. Now I have nothing but praise for Dr. Sarno. I saw seven doctors in two years after wrist injuries that never healed and nearly debilitated me with daily pain. Looking in the bookstore in desperation, I found Dr. Sarno's book. I couldn't believe how well his theory fit my case and within a few weeks my life became painfree. I still have various neck and back pains that pop up, but now that I am aware of TMS it will never control my life again. I am a registered nurse and believe in the scientific method, but there is nothing harmful in Dr. Sarno's ideas. He stresses that medical care should be sought out to rule out major problems before trying his method. There is huge untapped potential in the mind body connection. It's a shame that more doctors can't seem to accept this fact. Kudo's to Dr. Sarno for going against conventional thinking and helping thousands of people claim their lives back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    Very good!

    Healing Back Pain is truly a work of genius. It is a groundbreaking work that has to be recognized for how it has helped me as well as thousands of others get well. For those of us struggling to get out of the maze of back pain diagnoses and treatments, this is the time to keep an open mind and try Sarno's approach. It worked for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    Page 22.

    In this book, the author writes that most back pain is the result of psychological stressors. In other words, the back pain is just a distraction to get your mind off of something that is really bothering you. He argues that most physical findings have very little to do with back pain, things such as herniated discs, spinal stenosis, pinched nerves, and so on. The book got me thinking about how stress can affect back pain, that is for sure, however I have read a book that is a direct contradiction to this book. In "The Multifidus Back Pain Solution" (available here at Barnes and Noble too) the author makes an extremely convincing argument based on a plethora of studies, that there is indeed a physical finding present in back pain patients that is not found in pain free backs-- abnormal multifidus muscles. In light of these findings, the basis upon which mind-body back pain books rest appears to be on very thin ground. Stress's influence should not be ignored, but let's not let the pendulum swing too far in any direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2