Customer Reviews for

Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Great book at must read!!!

    This book contains three amish novellas: Healing Hearts, A Change of Heart, and A choice to Forgive.

    A choice to Forgive tells the story of Lydia who has loved two men in her life Daniel who disapperd into the Englisch world and Elam his brother whom she was married to for 15 years. Elam has died and Daniel returns she must make a decision can she find in it her heart to forgive him?
    A Change of Heart - Tell the story of Leah a writter in a world that does not encourage such pastimes. Leah also lacks the skills needed to be a good Amish Fraa (Wife). Arron is captured by Leah even though she does not possess the important skills needed to be a good Amish Fraa. Will Leah be able to make it in the Amish community and still be able to write the stories that fill her heart?
    Healing Hearts- Levina and Naaman are empty nesters alone in their home for the first time in 30 years. Naaman leaves to visit cousins in Ohio and is gone for a year. He's back can Levina and Naaman rekindle the relationship they once shared?

    I love these stories. Each one had be connected and involved from the start. I really liked that two of them were about older women you don't find that much in inspirational romance. Wiseman has a way of writing that really draws you into the stories. You feel these women's pains, frustrations, joys, peace, turmoil, and excitement. I must say Leah in A change of heart was my favorite of these characters. I longed to see her both succeed as a good Amish Fraa as well as see her writing be accepted and cherished. I felt her heart ache as she longed to be able to do the chores and cooking properly, but always seem to fall just short. I rejoiced when Aarom came into the picture and was able to over look her imperfections in the domestic department.
    I enjoyed that the book used some amish words and provided a glossary with the words and their English meaning. I enjoyed trying to guess the meaning of the words before looking them up in the glossary.
    I give this book 5 out of 5 stars it is a must read!

    Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book from the company for review purposes, all opinions in this post are mine and were not influenced by the company.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Nikki

    o.x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tales to reach your heart

    These three, wonderful, Amish stories will surly find a place in your heart. "A Choice to Forgive" is about loss, love and starting over. A mighty change from within transpires when past memories become reality. "A Change of Heart" is about learning to accept who we are and enjoying the gifts with which we have been blessed. Recognizing new feelings of the heart can change the world around us. "Healing Hearts" entangles forgiveness, understanding, and love mixed up with misunderstandings, misjudgments, and the deep desire to rediscover that which was lost. Great reading for Christian Romance lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Must read

    Healing Hearts
    By: Beth Wiseman

    Healing Hearts is a collection of three Amish novellas. These three very different stories, which will leave you wanting to travel into the pages of the book so that you can walk along with the characters, carry a deep meaning that crosses cultures. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found myself staying up too late, saying just one more page.

    The first story, A Choice to Forgive, tells the tale of a widow who must forgive her first love who left her so many years ago. Saying one forgives and putting that forgiveness into action can be two very different things.

    The second story, A Change of Heart, tell of a young girl struggling between who she is and who she is expected to be. Learning to use ones God given talent in a way to reach others is a life lesson each of us my learn.

    The third story, Healing Hearts, tell of a couple with an empty nest that must relearn how to be a couple again. Often times, people don't see the intricate thread of God's plan. Learning to see how the hard, hurtful times are used for God's glory enriches our lives.

    Thanks to Thomas Nelson, Inc. for the digital copy of this book to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Amish Romance

    Combine faith, love, and alot of forgiveness and you have a wonderful mixture for "Healing Hearts." This book contains three Amish stories that all deal with having enough faith and forgiveness to move on and let love and happiness into their lives. The first, "A Choice to Forgive, " has Lydia moving on after the death of her husband of fifteen years and coming to terms with the deception that he went to his grave with concerning her first love, his brother. The second, "A Change of Heart," weaves a tale that shows that not only good home-making skills are necessary to bring and keep a young couple happy anmd closer to their faith. The stories Leah creates by her mind and pen put her family and the one she loves on the right path. And lastly, "Healing Hearts," tells the story of a man and his wife coming to terms with a voluntary separation that showed them how much they really mean to one another. Following their hearts brings love and forgiveness into their lives and happiness for their future. This was a very enjoyable book for me. I love Amish romance and this one is just overflowing with it. The underlying tone of forgiveness runs through these stories and I believe it is a very important lesson that is to be learned in these trying times of today. Beth Wiseman does a really wonderful job at creating her characters in these stories and I really enjoy how easy they are to get to know. It was just an all-around good book!! I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a sweet collection of Amish romance. This book was provided to me by the publishers through Booksneeze for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Completely Recommend this one!

    This book is actually 3 novellas so I'll talk about each novella separately.

    "A Choice to Forgive" - Lydia is a widow and mother of two in an Amish community. Suddenly, a man from her past, Daniel, shows up on her doorstep. He was her first love and vanished one Christmas Eve. As the mystery unfolds as to why he left in the first place, Lydia must also find the power in her heart to forgive the man she once loved.

    "A Change of Heart" - Leah is the second of four girls but she is not the typical Amish girl. She is a writer and that's all she wants to do. She can't cook, sew or garden and has no desire for a husband. Aaron knows this and doesn't seem to care that he may have to live off chicken salad for the rest of his life but their personalities are so different. Aaron is told that he is "boring" and Leah is too free-spirited for him. Are they mean to be or is the relationship going to blow up in their faces?

    "Healing Hearts" - Levine and Namaan successfully raised their five children and found themselves alone in their home. The realization that they hardly knew each other anymore hits Namaan too hard and he runs away for eleven mos. Upon his return, he finds that some of his children have decided they have no father anymore and his wife has trouble finding the trust she needs for their relationship to work. As the rumors and secrets start unfolding of what Namaan did while he was gone the community starts talking and Levine finds herself doubting her husband even more.

    Let me just say that I have NEVER read any type of Amish fiction before in my life but these books were amazing. I think "A Change of Heart" was my favorite. It had me in tears several times but all three stories were great. There really isn't much more that I can say about them. They were just awesome. Wiseman did an incredible job of writing them so the reader continually wanted more. I had to learn some Deitsch but there was a glossary in the front to help me figure it out and I only had to look back at it once or twice.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Amazing!

    Healing Hearts ~ Beth Wiseman
    Three Amish novellas about forgiveness, following your dreams, and second chances.  

    Healing Hearts
    When Levina Lapp's husband, Namaan, left a year ago to visit cousins, she had no idea he'd be gone so long. When all of their children had grown and married, Namaan needed time away, or so he said. Can Levina find it in her heart to forgive the man she's always loved, and to ultimately trust him again -- or did the time away separate them forever?

    A Change of Heart
    Leah's dream is to bs a writer, and to draw people to God through her stories. But as an Amish young woman, her place is in the home and kitchen preparing to become a good wife. But Aaron Lantz doesn't see how under qualified she'd be for a wife, only her spirited way of living, sparkle in her eyes, and love for others. Will Leah have to set aside her writings to be a wife and mother -- or will Aaron make her an offered that could fulfill her dreams?

    A Choice to Forgive
    When Lydia's fiancé, Daniel, left 15 years ago, leaving only a not explaining that he wanted to live in the English world, Lydia's heart was broken. It began to heal when she married Daniel's brother, Elam. With Elam recent death, Lydia is certain she can never love again. But when Daniel return to mend the hurt he caused so long ago, could Lydia ever forgive him, and rekindle the love they once shared?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1