BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Healing Is A Choice: 10 Decisions That Will Transform Your Life and 10 Lies That Can Prevent You From Making Them

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    A pretty good book

    I'm reviewing a copy of Healing is a Choice that is the book plus the workbook.

    Healing is a Choice presents 10 choices Arterburn believes all people who want healing (primarily focusing on emotional/spiritual healing) should face and decide. Each of the choices is a chapter, along with a 'big lie'. The 10 choices are the choices to connect to your life, to feel your life, to investigate your life in search of Truth, to heal your future, to help your life, to embrace your life, to forgive, to risk your life, to serve, and to persevere.

    Since I don't mean to have the world's longest review I'll just give you a few reflections: He brings an air of clinical detachment to his writing that just rubs me the wrong way. However, I do think his book can be helpful to those who are seeking healing. I do think he presumes too much, and I imagine him going around clucking his tongue under his breath when he sees people he doesn't think have "chosen healing". But, I also think those who apply themselves to the ten choices he's presented will likely find emotional/spiritual healing. He does address physical healing as well, but he is also not (thank God) a prosperity gospel preacher, and acknowledges sometimes our healing will come in heaven. But we should seek healing here, because God definitely does heal physically on earth sometimes.

    Overall, this is a pretty good book.

    I got this book for free from booksneeze in exchange for my unbiased review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    God's rules of life

    Absolutely great book. Healing is a choice like evetything else is our lives. It is Gods given right to us. The choice is forgive is awesome and can change your life. Reading the book is uplifting and should be read over and over again until you have been fulfilled and have forgiven.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    A Great Path to Healing

    Today, I am reviewing the book "HEALING IS A CHOICE: Ten Decisions That Will Transform Your Life & Ten Lies That Can Prevent You From Making Them" by Steve Arterburn. I first heard of him while attending the Women of Faith event in Atlanta. He was very transparent in speaking of his personal struggles and presented helpful information for me in my own struggle at the time. I was very excited to have the opportunity to read this new edition of his book.

    Everyone needs healing at some point in their lives. Be it physically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually we will need to experience healing. This book teaches us that healing is in God's hands and in order to experience that, we must make the choice of wanting to heal and then present it to God.

    This book is a blessing. It is so easy to hold on to hurt and prevent yourself from getting your healing. The book is presented by asking the reader IF they want to be healed. It then takes them through a series of ten choices they must make in order to get on the path to healing. The great thing about this book is that Arterburn realized that it's much easier to say you want to be healed than it is to work through the hurt, which is why the inclusion of the workbook was such a great idea. Though the healing will not be completed just by reading this book, it gets you on the path to healing in your life.

    Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through a book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    I received this book awhile ago and when I started reading it th

    I received this book awhile ago and when I started reading it the first thing that I loved about it was its practicality. I loved it because the author’s style is very easy to follow and he gives a lot of Bible examples. I loved his way of retelling them in his own manner.

    Like I said, it’s practical, and when I say this I am referring to the way this book is organized as well. It has 10 chapters, each chapter tackling a different choice and the big lie that stands at the root of that choice. At the end of each chapter, my book (the revised & updated one) had some workbook questions to help you identify the key points that you must work on in order to obtain the healing that he’s talking about here.

    It was a helpful book, and I am sure this is a book for everyone, because I believe we each have some healing to do into our own lives, no matter what the hurting has been about. So I would warmly recommend this book to those who want to have a healthy life and all the benefits that comes from that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    An amazing resource and tool to finding yourself

    First of all this edition of Arterburn’s book is a great buy as it includes not only the main text but also has a supplemental workbook. This bonus buy alone makes it an amazing resource.

    Arterburn’s basis of his book is that there are 10 decisions that we can make that will transform our lives which are based on ten different lies about who the devil makes us think we are. The book is a thick read and when you do all of the supplemental work book items that are included it will take one time to read. Having an under graduate degree in psychology and a masters from a seminary I’d highly recommend this book to anyone that is dealing with hurt and issues in their life. It will help the reader start their journey and process to finding healing for the hurts in their lives and to make the correct decisions to get them on their way. Half of the challenge of healing is refusing to listen to the lies that are in our heads about our-self and the situations that impact us.

    Definitely a resource I’ll be keeping for myself and others to use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Everyone needs this book

    How many of us carry around baggage that we are not even aware of? So often we are hurt, scarred, bruised and broken and most people don't know what to do about it. This is a good plan for starting to work through the process of healing. I have used many of these tips before, Stephen Arterburn puts them together in a solid and useful manual to help heal. Get a copy for you and another to loan out. It's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Well Worth Reading

    The power to heal is within each one of us; it is a matter of choosing to become well. The difficult part is deciding that we will let go of the hurt, the regrets and the pain. Where there is anger we need to let peace in. Where there is despair, we need to let hope visit and stay a while.

    Healing is a Choice is a book well worth reading. Stephen Arterburn, gives clear and concise steps for us to follow and to use to change our thinking and our life. Again, the challenging part is to decide to try them.

    Having recently faced up to some ¿giants¿ of my past; I found this book helpful in making me aware that I had not completely let go of some of those ghosts.

    I particularly like his segment on having ¿The courage to take risks¿. He presents a list of suggestions for us to use, in an attempt to change where we are. The ideas encourage and motivate a willingness to try something new. It is helpful, in and of itself, and it certainly aided me in creating a list of my own.

    A heart or a spirit that has been hurt in the past, is not always aware what is needed in order to heal. Having a list to follow, assists greatly in maintaining focus which then helps drive one forward to energetically reduce the number of things to do.

    If you are on a path of healing, this book can definitely assist in changing some thought patterns that may be hindering your growth and recovery.

    Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Healing Waiting to Happen! Check It Out!

    Have you ever felt so hurt that you just wanted to crawl up in a ball and disappear? I have. Have you felt like you didn't know which way to turn or who to turn to? I have .

    I feel that the book has some good points and is well written, even though if you come into it with "preconceived ideas, it may take a little adjustment in your way of looking at things, but go ahead and do it. You will be blessed. This book is a very helpful tool in learning how to be healed from emotional hurt or even physical illness. It definitely helps us to adjust our frame of mind.

    I like what Mr. Arterburn said. "The power to heal-physically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually-- is in God's hands, but the choice to be healed is yours". He also says that everyone at some level needs healing. I personally know this. I went up for prayer many, many times before it finally happened, but a lot of it was timing, after all He will heal us in His timing. Also, I had some things that were hindering my spirit, which was causing a kind of wall between God's power and me.

    God CAN and WILL heal us, but ultimately it is our choice. There are ten choices to help us heal and ten lies discussed in this book that can keep a person from making those choices. Mr. Arterburn goes through each one in detail. A couple of them for example are: as mentioned above, The decision or choice is to Connect your Life; the lie being "all I need is God and me". Another is Choice: The Choice to Feel your life; the lie: "Real Christians should have a real peace in all circumstances." A third and final one which I will let you in on is Choice: The choice to Investigate Your Life in Search of Truth; the lie: "It does not good to look back or look inside."
    There are ten of these to go through along with "workbook questions at the end of each chapter.

    At the very end of the book, it has a complete set of questions of the material of the whole book. If you are having trouble " healing from some personal tragedy, loss, or relationship problems this is an excellent book. It will guide you with practicality and scripture. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Healing Is a Choice

    Healing is a Choice by Stephen Arterburn is a lifechanging book based on biblical teaching to help the reader address and face the tragedies in life. The author's premise is that if painful memories and experiences are left untreated or buried in the mind, that they resurface later in the form of deprerssion chronic illness or mental illness. This is not simply a secular self help book, but rather a spiritual book based on biblical teaching. This book is a sombering wake- up call, as the author warns that the sick mind is usually not capable of healing itself on its own without outside help. After each chapter is a work book or study guide to allow the reader to take a guided tour through the healing process. This author has a good insight to the purposes of pain and depression and states that depression is a sign that should not be ignored or medicated away, but rather a sign that something needs to be addressed. This book alsoteaches personal responsability for one's actions and feelings- not excuses.

    In large part, I did agree with the book and its methods to help the reader overcome his or her pain. The author himself experienced a difficult and a public divorce that threatened his ministry career. He included an honest analysis of his own avoidance and dissconnection relationship issues. Nevertheless, his "faults"based on his self- accessment, seemed mild and at times self serving. Yet the author maintained a rigid adherence to certain ideas. I believe there was an undue focus on one's past. It almost seemed as if this could perpetuate a morbid fascination with digging up the past and ruminating on past events or past hurts. If somethong has been buried in the subconscious mind, that it is a survival technique and perhaps it ois best to leave it be then allow it to resurface. The mind and spirit have an amazing ability to heal and forgetting or burying the past (such as traumatic and painful events) are part of the healing process and coping mechanisms. Why go through such lengths to undue the work of the mind with an unnatural expedition into one's past? I also believe that Christian counseling (or any counseling for that matter) isn't always available and financially prohbitive for many people who struggle financially. In an ideal world everyone would get help for their issues, but this isn't an ideal world. Even if one has health insurance, the copays for counseling visits add up- especially ongoing visits. If therapy continues for an indefinate amount of time, the money expense is significant. On pages206-207 the author has a disclaimer warning the reader not to simply read the books and attemp self healing, but that outside help and counseling is essential- and that the reader may do more harm than good in attempting to help himself without the services of a professional counselor or clergy. As a blogger for Thomas Nelson publishesr I recieved this book for the purpose of writing this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    The Choice is Yours

    Healing is a Choice by Stephen Arterburn encourages you to make 10 decisions to change your life. It gives 10 lies that Satan will give you to kkep you from making the choice. It includes a workbook to enable you eo work through your healing. God wants you to be healed but the choice is yours.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Very good book

    As an adult I have been constantly battling the ghosts of my childhood. Having been subjected to the confusion and mental abuse of a mentally ill parent. I have tried virtually everything; counseling self help books, abandoning religion and then finding my faith again. After all of these years I have finally managed to overcome much of the turmoil, but occasionally I do find myself fighting self doubt and depression again. For this reason I choose to review this book, since I am always on the lookout for anything that might help with the next round of depression. I was pleasantly surprised to find that most of the suggestions in this book are very helpful. I especially appreciate the fact that this book does not offer immediate solutions; after all there really is no quick fix method for dealing with these types of issues. This book is not the touchy feely type of self help book. This book is hard-hitting and inspires individual action. The addition of the workbook questions is especially helpful for self analysis and change. This book inspires hard self evaluation and analysis which will then, in turn, lead to healing. This is not always a pleasant process, but it is a necessary process. This is a book which I will reread again and again, and I look forward to utilizing the advice contained therein. I would highly recommend this book for anyone that is in need.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1