Customer Reviews for

Healing for Damaged Emotions

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    superb biblical psychology

    Usually i am skeptical about books that take psychological theories and try to dress it up as christian teaching. However i found this book to be excellent with firm biblical foundations. The author takes the doctrine of grace and looks at how this should effect our view of ourselves. He looks in detail at how it is possible to say that we believe in grace and that God has paid for our sins while living under a legalistic perfectionist outlook where we are constantly trying to prove to God that we are worthy of his and other peoples love. He lists cases of people destroyed through trying to meet unrealistic standards who deep down believe that love is dependent on meeting certain goals and isnt unconditional and who struggle to accept and love themselves as they should when they fail.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Greatly insightful, a must read

    This book gave me a look into parts of my own personality that I didn't know existed. It speaks honestly about emotions, how they damaged by all kinds of things as we grow and never realize it until we're grown. I saw myself in the personalities described and could better understand the things that have happened in my life This is a great book for anyone that needs some understanding of why 'things' set them off or make them hurt that for most don't.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2002

    What a way to start a new year

    I thank a friend of mine for lending me her book in time of need. I will be buying my own copy. If you ever need to be encouraged and released from bondage from past or present hurts in your life, you may want to try reading this book. It moved me to make positive changes in my life. Depression and guilt can take so much out of one's life. I never knew how much baggage I was carrying until I read this book. It helped me understand guilt and depression and where it comes from and how to deal with what is and what isn't mine to carry. It was as if God himself was present in every word I read. I feel worthy of God's love again. The book helped me gain a better insight on life itself and how to live more abundantly without having to carry unneccessary guilt.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2004

    Too Good to Pass Up

    I have spent a life time holding resentments, feeling guilty, and holding myself hostage, never quite meeting God's or my own standards. This book helped me to understand a loving God, one of which I can go to just as I am. This has freed me of all the baggage and the high expectations that I 'thought' I had to meet in order to come to Christ, or to be worthy of his love. As a result of reading this book, I now have a wonderful relationship with The Lord, and also with myself and others. The book has truely changed my life. I am in the proceess of reading all of David Seamands' books. A must read for everyone! Run to get it NOW!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    Excellent!

    Excellent book for damaged Emotions!! A must read book. Great inside! Sometimes is not enough to just pray and ask God to heal you. Sometimes our pain is deeper than that. That's what this book is about. Short but powerful!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    Perfectionism Alert

    'This book really helped me see my perfectionism in a new light. It helped me see why I should get my self worth from God. It gave me some good ways to deal with depression. It is a very comforting, encouraging, and helpful book. '

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    My niece told me about this book . . . and knowing my upbringing

    My niece told me about this book . . . and knowing my upbringing and Mother (her grandmother) said I HAD to read this book. In most chapters, I felt naked . . . as if for the first time, someone was saying my deepest, darkest secrets outloud. I wish I had an email address for him . . . 'cause I have one question . .. but alas . . . I shall reread the book, in case I missed something. It was an eye opener . . . and made me realize, I need to forgive at least two people who already asked for forgiveness . . . but at least one of them, I didn't believe their asking was sincere, therefore, so was my forgiveness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Amazing.

    I really enjoyed reading almost every single thought and feeling i experience daily. Its nice to know why i do ...i think i will reread it ,to try and grasp the healing part and process this. That im having trouble grasping however its not an overnight process but it is a daily process. I pray i do heal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    God has used this book to wipe away the confusion and frustratio

    God has used this book to wipe away the confusion and frustration that I have endured over many, many years. This book has given me understanding and God has set me free. I can now forgive others and ESPECIALLY myself! I now know the difference between bad theology and true Christian maturity. If you hate yourself or are muddling through the muck and mire of depression, then let David Seamands show you your TRUE self and the TRUTH about the unconditional love that God has for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Excellent!

    Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1