Customer Reviews for

Healing with Whole Foods: Asian Traditions and Modern Nutrition

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    The bible of nutrition and healing

    By far the most comprehensive book I have ever purchased and read cover to cover! It is not just for healing but for overall health and daily maintenance. Everyone should have this knowledge on how our bodies use foods and what it needs to stay healthy. A must have for everyone who wants to feel happy, healthy and alive!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    THOROUGHLY RESEARCHED, COMPREHENSIVE, ENCYCLOPEDIC REFERENCE. IF YOU EAT, YOU MUST HAVE THIS IN YOUR KITCHEN LIBRARY!!

    The references and citations alone are worth the price of this excellent source of nutritional information.

    It is a large, heavy volume with over 700 pages of detailed, well-researched, educational, eye-opening information. If you eat, if you care about what you eat, if you care about your youthfulness, if you care about how your body looks, feels, functions, if you care how sexy you feel, if you want clear, smooth skin, you should refer to this. If you care about how your body ages, if you care how to help your brain remain optimally functional, you should read this.

    I have recommended it to my allopathic general family practitioner physcian, to my periodontist, to my acupuncturist (who already has the older edition), to my friends recovering from cancer, to my friends who want to prevent cancer, to anyone who cares about food and what effect food has on them, to my friends who want to lose weight (just about all of them), to fitness and yoga enthusiasts, to my friends going through menopause. And anyone else I run into who brings up the topic of eating.

    I already had the older edition and I purchsed this newer edition because I want to keep up with the newest information.

    Food is the best medicine. If you owned the most expensive Ferrari, would you put cruddy, cheap fuel in it? Would you drive it with crappy tires? No! So why would you put junk in your body and expect to win a good, happy, fulfilling life? How much money would you pay to keep your body alive and functioning well?

    You only have one body during this lifetime. This book has information that is worth reading to keep and maintain your multi-trillion dollar, irreplaceable body. Buy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For my health

    I loved this book and have gotten to use it several times while looking for that alternative solution to an everyday problem. I found the remedies easy to use and especially easy to find at the local market.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    Should be taught in schools

    This book is very educational about how the foods that we eat work in our bodies. It should be taught in schools. It is a great reference book. The author writes very clearly and you can feel his passion for understanding how the foods we eat affect how our bodies work, or don't work efficiently. I have given 6 copies of this book to all my friends, to help them better understand the role of Food and Health.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Healing With Whole Foods

    This book is the most comprehensive book I have ever seen pertaining to health and foods. I refer to it daily. This book has really made me think about the foods that I eat and what they can do for me so that I live the best quality of life. I have actually purchased this book twice. The first time I bought it my daughter came to visit and just had to have it so off it went. I soon found that I couldn't go another day without referring to it's pages and purchased another one. It is worth every penny that I paid for it. Anyone who is concerned about health, natural healing and disease prevention would like this book. You would have to purchase many books for the information that is contained in this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Great book!

    Worth every penny I've spent on it! I read it every day and keep improving my family's diet (and health).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    This book has become my nutrition/healing bible.

    I have had this book for over three years now and have not once been let down by the advice in it. My daughter had pink eye one day and this book recommended a grated apple poultice. Twenty minutes later she was on her way to school, no signs of pink eye. This book rocks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    It Works

    I have found similar books to be disappointing. This is a very large book with a lot of information that allows you to tailor treatments for you and your family. I have owned the book for about a year and have yet to find an ailment that wasn't covered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    eye opening reality

    its about time we start looking at our bodies as a working piece of machinery. The Asian traditions are slowly leaking into the western hemisphere and this book helps explain how the eastern hemisphere has been living for years. The healthy, natural way to heal is so much better for us. This book shows you how and explains how the body reacts to certain foods. It's time we fight off the pharmacutical industry and heal ourselves naturally and rid our bodies of all of the chemicals they get us addicted to. Recommended for the beginner who is going holistic and for the advanced who wants to learn another culture of healing and diet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A very fine nutrition reference book

    This book has everything, including a helpful index and an alphabetical listing in back. It has many recipes as well as suggestions for ways to prepare food. Just look up a condition or ailment and find many references to healing for that particular issue. Years of research went into the writing of this wonderful source of information. I bought it for myself and then for two others as gifts. It's worth every cent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Healing with Whole Foods

    This book has so much information and is a very good reference book. Eastern philosophy and techniques are described to combat more Western illnesses and deficiencies. Nutrient absorbtion, immunity, immune deficiencies, symptoms of illness and remedies through food are covered in a very pragmatic and practical way. Very easy to understand and apply. A wonderful book all around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2002

    Marriage of East and West

    I am in Chinese Medicine at the moment, however this book has been in my library for sometime. It has been of incredible value as the author integrates East and West in laymen's terms. Moreover, it has been the most helpful resource in my studies to date.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2001

    Great information on living a happy,healthy life.

    Since discovering this book.I have began to understand my emotional body and how food relates to it.I suggest this book anyone who wants to heal thier body,mind and soul

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2000

    Excellent Body-Mind-Spirit Nutrition

    As a practitioner of Medical QiGong (a type of Oriental Energy/Body work), I turn to this book for the majority of my clients. It is extremely interesting in the way that it presents information from an Eastern point of view, and then applies it to our Western minds. The dietary recommendations are very common everyday items that are easy to incorporate into your current way of eating. I highly recommend it to be included as a consideration in every healing process. The chapter on Cancer and Regeneration diets, great for chronic illness of many types, is one of the best I've ever seen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2