Customer Reviews for

Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day: 100 New Recipes Featuring Whole Grains, Fruits, Vegetables, and Gluten-Free Ingredients

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

THE Ultimate Book for Gluten-Free Bread!

I have been gluten-free for almost two years, and in those two years, I have terribly missed good, tasty, crusty bread. Until this book, I had tried recipe after recipe for gluten-free bread, and none of them satisfied me. They were either crumbly or gummy, or had an od...
I have been gluten-free for almost two years, and in those two years, I have terribly missed good, tasty, crusty bread. Until this book, I had tried recipe after recipe for gluten-free bread, and none of them satisfied me. They were either crumbly or gummy, or had an odd after taste. I even tried many store brands of bread, and didn't like any of them, so finally I gave up on bread.

THEN, I heard about this book. I bought it. I mixed up half a batch of the gluten-free crusty boule recipe. I followed all the instructions exactly, and low and behold, I had real bread! It tasted like the real thing. The interior crumb had those lovely gluteny strands that pull apart. I've been baking out of the book for two weeks now, and I've used the basic gluten-free boule dough for naan, french bread, rolls, free form loaves, sub rolls and even a chocolate chip breakfast bun! I even used a mini baguette bun to make a mini french bread pizza!

If you are gluten-free, buy this book! You won't regret it. And it is as easy as they claim!

posted by KMimsey on July 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

HEALTHY BREAD IN FIVE MINUTES

I was amazed with the method of baking bread and pleased from the recipes in the first book,"Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day". I have given my granddaughters copies of both books (as they do a lot of baking) and they were thrilled.

posted by BrandyMN on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    THE Ultimate Book for Gluten-Free Bread!

    I have been gluten-free for almost two years, and in those two years, I have terribly missed good, tasty, crusty bread. Until this book, I had tried recipe after recipe for gluten-free bread, and none of them satisfied me. They were either crumbly or gummy, or had an odd after taste. I even tried many store brands of bread, and didn't like any of them, so finally I gave up on bread.

    THEN, I heard about this book. I bought it. I mixed up half a batch of the gluten-free crusty boule recipe. I followed all the instructions exactly, and low and behold, I had real bread! It tasted like the real thing. The interior crumb had those lovely gluteny strands that pull apart. I've been baking out of the book for two weeks now, and I've used the basic gluten-free boule dough for naan, french bread, rolls, free form loaves, sub rolls and even a chocolate chip breakfast bun! I even used a mini baguette bun to make a mini french bread pizza!

    If you are gluten-free, buy this book! You won't regret it. And it is as easy as they claim!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    This has quickly become the most often used cookbook in my kitchen!

    I have recently been experimenting with baking my own bread and this is the best cookbook I've found. The recipes are both easy to follow and forgiving of mistakes. I absolutely love the method of making large batches of dough that can be kept for 2 weeks or more in the refrigerator. Then all you have to do is take some out, shape it, and give it a couple of hours to rise. It makes fresh bread for dinner, on a weeknight, easy and convenient.
    There are many, many variations that allow for the variety I crave. So far I have made the basic whole wheat recipe which made a couple of regular loaves, some spicy crackers, and a loaf with cheese and olives. The flavor is complex and the loaves are hearty - definitely artisan style bread. For Thanksgiving I made the Pumpkin Pie Brioche first as rolls and then in a loaf. It produced beautiful rust colored bread with a lovely, slightly sweet flavor. A big hit for the holidays! Most recently I made the Whole Wheat Banana Bread, perfect for toast in the morning. There are so many variations I am eager to try - Pesto Pinenut Bread, Chocolate Expresso Bread, Cherry Tomato Baguettes, and the basic recipe as pizza crust. This has quickly become the most often used cookbook in my kitchen!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    My New Favorite Cookbook!

    I've baked many loaves of bread over the years for my family, but this book makes it SO much simpler! With a huge variety of recipes and simple easy-to-follow instructions this cookbook is my "go to" book for fabulous artisan breads. Whenever I bake bread using this technique I have to make sure my guests know I baked it myself because it looks so professional they'd otherwise think I just picked it up at the local bakery. (Except it's so much fresher and better tasting!) This bread-making technique makes it nearly fool-proof to have warm, delicious, beautiful loaves of bread on your table every day. I highly recommend this book for the cook who wants to impress friends and family.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous Fresh Baked Bread!

    I was perusing the cookbook section when this selection grabbed my attention. Our family loves fresh baked bread, and I am always looking for healthy recipes. This cookbook was an instant hit! My family especially loved the pesto bread and the roasted garlic bread. They were big hits. The recipes are easy and concise. I love having the ability to customize the size of my batch. My only gripe is that the authors don't include nutritional information. In a cookbook with "healthy" in the title, I feel this is a flagrant omission.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's all true!

    I've been a bread-baking failure for years. I actually only attempt it once a year or so because I get so frustrated by the abysmal bread that comes out of my oven. Not anymore! I have made the enriched whole wheat sandwich bread recipe three times in about 2 weeks. Unbelievable--in taste and the fact that I didn't fail again. It takes a bit more than five minutes, but I think I will get faster the more I practice. It's amazing to have fresh bread any day of the week, out of my very own oven. No preservatives, no artificial color, no funny ingredients I can't pronounce. It's very empowering. The only thing I want to mention is to carefully consider the salt amounts for the recipes. This is their healthy book and they reduced the salt. My first batch was a bit bland, so I've upped the amount each time and I think I have it where I want it. They mention the reduced salt measurements in the beginning of the book, but I forgot by the time I made the first batch. I bought this for my sister-in-law for Christmas and I think she'll love it, too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    HEALTHY BREAD IN FIVE MINUTES

    I was amazed with the method of baking bread and pleased from the recipes in the first book,"Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day". I have given my granddaughters copies of both books (as they do a lot of baking) and they were thrilled.

    3 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    At this time, I would not recommend this book.

    I hate to give any book a negative review, so let me just say, I'm a good cook and I 've made a lot of bread in my many years of baking the regular way and always with good results. And I know how to follow directions. But I have made four batches of the HB in 5 Master Recipe and they were all flops. Don't get me wrong, I'm not giving up, but I am making changes to their recipe because I like the method.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    gave as a gift

    gave as a gift

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    NOT 5 minutes - abt 2 hours

    I will agree that only 5 minutes of active time is needed, but if you are like me and work outside of home, you will not have bread for supper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    If you like good wholesome bread, you should try this method. We've tried several of the recipes and love them all. I have a bread machine but also like the artisan bread...and never liked having that paddle hole the bread machine makes. I've made the loaf pan version and the version on the stone and all turned out great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Great book for easy baking

    I like baking with little work, and the breads are great. The high hydration no knead style suits me fine. I prepare a batch of dough, put it in the fridge, and when I get home I take a chunk out, put it in a parchment paper lined ceramic baker and let it rise while the oven with the baking stone gets real hot, then a few slashes and dusting of flour and into the oven for 20 minutes, pop it out of the baking dish and put it on the stone for another 15 minutes then take it out to cool off. Couldn't be easier and just delicious. It's also fun to improvise from their recipes. Money well spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Both of the "Bread in 5 Minutes" books are wonderful!

    Both of the "Bread in 5 Minutes" books are wonderful!! Now we have fresh bread nearly every day with very, very little time or effort. It's fun and delicious!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Easy, Healthy Bread

    After having success in using the authors' first book, Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, I looked forward to more of the same with this new cookbook. This time I tried the whole grain master recipe and made the bread using loaf pans since I don't have a baking stone or pizza peel which is recommended for free-form loaves. My family liked the whole wheat version and we've decided that there's no reason we can't enjoy homemade bread every week since it is so easy to mix up the dough and not have to knead it.

    This cookbook focuses on using healthy whole grains and also has a section of gluten-free recipes. I like the variety of breads offered such as cinnamon-raisin whole wheat bagels, black and white braided pumpernickle and rye loaf, and peppery pumpkin and olive oil loaf as well as a variety of flatbreads, breadsticks and holiday breads. Of course, the basic whole wheat bread is delicious too.

    I'm becoming hooked on this no-knead, cold-rise method of bread baking and hope the authors keep coming up with new recipes. This cookbook wasn't intimidating at all and I would recommend it to beginners as well as more experienced bakers.

    I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited, nor was a positive review required.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3