Customer Reviews for

Healthy College Cookbook: Quick. Cheap. Easy

Average Rating 3
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    PERFECT for college students!

    I gifted this book to a set of twins (I gave them each one book) leaving for two different colleges in two different states. This book is PERFECT for college students and first time cooks because at the beginning of the book there is a list of what someone would need in the kitchen to start cooking! and then, there's a perfect listing of recipes that I wish I had in college- I could have saved a lot of money (and calories) by using this cookbook instead of going to the dining hall or cafeteria!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2002

    A Nice Crash Course in Cooking

    While I didn't use this book ALL the time, I found it very helpful for cooking in my first apartment. The Into and Mom's Tips are really great. The only thing lacking is that many of the recipes are meant for four servings. This was a problem since I never cooked for more than one person. Otherwise, this book was a lifesaver!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    Very Handy Book!

    As a college student, there are so many times you find yourself thinking 'not the dining hall again!' This book is the perfect way to introduce the college student to other options that dont come in the frozen section. A great gift for any college student!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    I have the first edition of this cookbook in paperback and I lov

    I have the first edition of this cookbook in paperback and I love it so much that when I saw this one on sale, I had to buy it too! I haven't looked through it all yet, but I did notice that part of what I like about the paperback, the "Mom Says" and "Kitchen Quick Tip" sections, just don't show up in this Nook book version, even though those titles are there inside the boxes the rest of the text is supposed to be in. Hopefully that can be corrected at some point, but regardless, it's a great cookbook for anyone who wants to eat healthy (and tasty!) on a budget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    Okay for true beginners...

    So, I bought this book a few days ago and have tried three recipes so far. The first was a total flop. There must be an error, but be forewarned, do NOT make the Blueberry Coffee Cake as it comes out as inedible mush--WAY too much water. The other two recipes (mac and cheese and grilled cheese with tomato) were decent for quick lunches or dinners. They were average in taste, but considering the short amount of time it took to make them, I'm okay with that. All in all, it's a nice idea book to get creative with everyday ingredients, but with errors and only average taste, I give it three stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Love this cookbook! Started using when I was an undergrad 3 year

    Love this cookbook! Started using when I was an undergrad 3 years ago and still use it---for myself, for dishes to take to parties, and even for work (I'm a registered dietitian). I have modified a few recipes to make them slightly healthier, but overall I love the simplicity of it and the nutrition facts for each recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    Good even if you're not a college student!!

    I am a mom of two,work outside the home full time, and have been married a while. I still get good use out of this book. I didn't need the how to cooking tips at the beginning, but I was looking to break out of the "pasta AND" rut. While I love trying new recipes, they can be daunting after I get home from work, help with homework, run to activities, etc. These are all good recipes made with simple ingredients that are easily found at any regular grocery store. In fact, I already had a lot of the ingredients on hand. I have to double the recipes for the two serving ones, but with such a short ingredient list it's easy. This is definitely worth the ten bucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    fantasic for newer cooks

    this book is really great for new cooks like college age or in my case living in my first place without my parents. The recipies are simple and still very tasty but to top it off very healthy and even have the nutrtion facts at the bottom of every recipe. to top it off the food is cheap and made for 4 people so I normaly feed myself my boyfriend and leave the rest for lunch tomarrow at work. If you have very few cooking skills I segest this highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    great book

    I read this book and I loved it. I potatoe gets mad and leaves broccoli to live happily ever after with the pepper, and I hate to ruin the ending but... they boil the lobster. Yep, its a tear jerker.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2