Customer Reviews for

Healthy Cooking for Two (or just you): Low-Fat Recipes with Half the Fuss and Double the Taste

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    My main cookbook!

    This book is wonderful, healthy in all aspects, easy recipes, good variety, no wasted food, not too many ingredients. I would love to see another cook book by Frances Price, similar to this one. Recipes for 1, 2, and sometimes 4. Normally, cooking for one requires doing math calculations to reduce the recipes, but this does all of this for you! I have alot of cookbooks but this is like my Bible for my meals now! No negative comments to make with this one!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    mm mm good

    Yummy Recipes that are way EASY to prepare. Sometimes I drive to work with this cookbook in the car, decide on a recipe and run by the grocery on the way home. She really teaches you how to shop & cook for your small household, how to save $ and cut corners... for example using the salad bar for pastas and stir fry. It's an excellent way for busy single or co-existing professionals to eat a healthy variety of foods.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Just Love IT

    My husband has no idea what he is having for dinner anymore. With the receipt of this book, he has not had the same thing twice in 3 months. We are slowing working our way through the recipes and loving every minute of it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    Lives up to the title--and no more leftovers!

    I bought this book while spending a year living by myself with a tiny kitchen and limited equipment (as compared to the large kitchen built to my specifications at home). I needed help with small recipes that could be made without the need to purchase a lot of special ingredients that would go to waste before I could finish them. This book fit the bill. Unlike many of the cookbooks I own that claim success in 'fifteen minutes,' this one actually let me complete nutritious, tasty meals very rapidly. I don't eat a lot of meat at home and while this book isn't necessarily directed to vegetarians, I found many of the recipes to be easily adaptable to my needs, as well the needs of my meat eating husband on his visits. I particularly liked the options for small size desserts and the menu planning section and related tips.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Useful, Basic cookbook

    Doing the math to reduce recipes to fewer servings has found me to be very math challenged in the kitchen. This book does the math for you and has a lot of good, basic cooking instructions. Many of the recipes are created using basic pantry staples (no exotic and expensive spices or gourmet specialties). I gave it to my grandson who is living alone as a college sophomore and wants to cook for himself. He's a whiz at chemistyry but viewed cooking as foreign territory until he received this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Perfect for Single Cook

    This cookbook is an excellent addition to the single cook's library. The recipes are delicious and low-fat. Prep time is reasonable. The accompanying commentary by the author is both entertaining and informative. I especially like the suggestions for substitutions of ingredients to experiment with the various dishes.

    The biggest plus, however, is the presentation of recipes in both one serving and two serving amounts. No more doing the math to reduce from 4-6 servings to one with the often attendant imbalance of seasonings. And I know just how much I need to buy. I don't worry that I should make a bigger batch just to be sure it comes out right, resulting in all those leftovers that eventually get thrown out. If I have someone visiting, I just use the two-serving numbers. For some more elaborate dishes when you have more company, the author provides a four-serving ingredient list also. The amount of food included in a single serving is ample. For someone who is always watching her weight, I appreciate the calorie counts and nutrient breakdowns with each recipe. It certainly helps with portion control.

    There is a delightful selection of recipes in all categories. My personal favorites are the myriad versions of personal pizza and the only recipe for meatloaf that I have ever liked. The only thing that almost stopped me from buying the book is the lack of photos of the finished recipes. I like to see how something I'm cooking should look. I've discovered, however, that the dishes are so well-described that I don't miss the photos at all. For a single cook, this cookbook is perfect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    Excellent book for busy singles/students

    This is an excellent cookbook for busy single people or students. Almost all of the recipes use ingedients you'll have already in your fridge or pantry, so you won't have to run to the store. The recipes are very easy to make and most can be made in 30 minutes or less. Plus, the food is delicious. It's a wonderful cookbook for anyone who lives alone or with one other person, and wants to eat yummy home-made food that doesn't require a lot of fuss or time to make.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    I had hoped for more "basic" recipes; however, if a pe

    I had hoped for more "basic" recipes; however, if a person wishes to expend more time/energy to cooking, there look to be some good recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    Absolutely Fabulous!

    This cookbook has helped me stay on with my weight loss goals! The recipes are really easy and the food tastes excellent. I made about 4 recipes and to be honest, I was skeptical. This is truly an outstanding cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2004

    Best Cookbook for one

    I use this cookbook at least 5 times a week. The recipes are great, the layout is very user friendly, and most of the meals are simple and delicious. Perfect for an amateur cook with limited time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    Great for Singles, or Couples!

    I came across this book, trying to find an easy to use cookbook that didn't require 'weird' ingrediants for the recipes. Nor did I want a cookbook that required a lot of 'fussing'. Anyway, I wanted a cookbook that wouldn't leave me with a ton of leftovers. This cookbook has given me some healthy ideas that I can follow. So far, every recipe that I have tried (about 6) have rocked, in easy to make and follow cookbook. What is nice about the book, is that each recipe is tailored, to 1, 2 or 4 servings. I have shown the cookbook to others, and they plan on ordering it for themselves & their friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    Perfect for bachelors too!

    This book delivers everything it claims to. The recepies are easy and use easy-to-find ingredients. I have been looking for a cookbook with recepies that are healthy (but don't taste like it!), and simple to make. Well, this is IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2000

    I have made almost every dish in this book !

    This is my favorite cookbook! I have made made almost all the dishes in this book and have not been disappointed. The recipes are easy to follow and use easy to find ingredients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 1999

    Great taste...easy to fix

    I bought this book because I was tired of having tons of leftovers after a meal. It has turned out to be my favorite cookbook. The recipes are easy to prepare, use 'real' ingredients and taste fabulous. A must have cookbook for anyone trying to eat healthy/low fat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2