Customer Reviews for

Hear No Evil (Jack Swyteck Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    James Grippando books highly Recommended

    I like the way James Grippando writes. His facts are together; his characters open doors while you hold your breath, the bad guys
    truly fearsome and his endings satisfying.
    I listen to audio books ergo narration is critical. Campbell Scott
    gets high marks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hear No Evil

    A good read, I particularly like his writing so it is no surprise. The plot has several twists to it and the characters are well developed. I liked that it had a cuban flare to it and also that it didn't end the way most books. I recommend this to anyone who likes lawyer books with mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    COMPELLING COURTROOM THRILLER WITH A TWIST

    Intricate and compelling both describe the thrillers penned by former Miami lawyer James Grippando. Quite familiar with the legal system and all its nuances he paints vivid courtroom scenes. However, with 'Hear No Evil' protagonist Jack Swyteck finds himself in a courtroom unlike any he has experienced. He's on unknown ground, not too solid ground at that. When an attractive woman comes to his office asking Swyteck to defend her against a murder charge, he's reluctant. There's something about her and the story she's telling that doesn't seem right - that is until she tells him that she's the adoptive mother of his son. Swyteck has never seen the boy, and she vows he never will unless he takes her case. Immediate challenge: she's accused of killing her husband, an officer who was stationed at Guantanamo Bay, and Swyteck knows precious little about military courtrooms. Further, his investigation leads to Havana where it seems there are quite a few who have much to keep secret. Twists, turns, thrills all in the Grippando tradition make superb listening when performed by actor/director Campbell Scott who delivers a reading both dauntless and dramatic. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Another Solid Swyteck Novel

    James Grippando continues to write fantastic legal thrillers. In his latest, HEAR NO EVIL, defense attorney Jack Swyteck reluctantly takes a case with a personal attachment. It's a captivating read from page one until the last sentence. The reader is never sure when Jack's client is telling the truth, or telling a lie which adds to the suspense. It's a court room thriller with many twists and turns that keeps the reader guessing. My favorite kind of book. This is the fourth novel in Grippando's Swyteck series, following THE PARDON, BEYOND SUSPICION, and LAST TO DIE. I wouldn't say that a knowledge of the three previous books is necessary to enjoy HEAR NO EVIL, but it would give the reader a better understanding of the characters. Especially BEYOND SUSPICION. THE PARDON to a lesser extent and very little of LAST TO DIE. A new character was introduced in this book, Sofia Suarez, which has potential to be a love interest for Jack. Theo Knight returns as Jack's unorthodox assistant in a smaller role which I thought was the right move. Theo is a little over the top. He's best taken in small doses. I enjoyed the many details of Jack's past that were revealed in this book. You get a lot of back story on his Mother, and other family members that I won't mention. I didn't care for the surprise at the end dealing with the kid in the story, I thought it was a bit of a cop out, but other than that I really enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    A Very Engrossing Read

    Mr. Grippando was a trial lawyer prior to become a writer. This makes his books realistic in plot and characters. His story line is extremely engrossing making it very hard to put the book down. His addition of a slight bit of humor only adds more to the story. The endings are hardly predictable as the story does contain twists and turns. I personally enjoy his books more than the recent ones published by John Grisham. They are far more relative to what I would encounter as an average citizen. I highly recommend his books and feel that you are missing a good read if you don't at least read this book as it will only lead to your reading his other novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    great legal thriller

    Hear No Evil James Grippando Harper Collins, August 2004, $23.95, 320 pp. ISBN 0060564571 Miami Defense attorney Jack Swyteck listens to Lindsey that as she tries to get him to become her attorney. She believes she will be charged with the death of her husband Oscar while they were living in Guantameno Bay, Cuba. Jack isn¿t convinced his client is leveling with him and he tells her he isn¿t sure he can represent her. She tells him her adopted son Brian is also his child, the one his girlfriend gave away for adoption.---- Deciding to take the case, Jack with Co-counsel Sofia fly to Cuba to interview potential witnesses. It seems strange to the lawyers that anyone involved with the homicide has been transferred except for Lieutenant Dumont Johnson who says Jack¿s client is a nutcase and is certainty capable of murder. The Cuban government produces a witness who says that after Lindsey left for work another man entered the house. That man is Johnson but Jack can¿t find him to serve with a subpoena so they have to go into court without a believable witness.---- As legal thrillers go, HEAR NO EVIL is one of the best because during the trial one piece of shocking evidence after another comes out. Readers will not know to the very end if Lindsey, her son, or her lover is the killer. James Grippando¿s protagonist is a man with a conscience, a good lawyer who does his best for his clients. The audience will have trouble empathizing with the defendant who changes her story from one moment to the next. This is an enthralling work that will keep readers turning the pages until they figure out the pieces to this complex puzzler.---- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    Political Ranting

    I couldnt get past Mr Grippando's polital ranting. I wasnt interested in his political views about Cuba.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1